We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and clean but not a lot else”
Review of Hotel Smeraldo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Smeraldo
Ranked #167 of 1,261 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Location and clean but not a lot else”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

We arrived at the hotel in the pouring rain. The directions we were given by the hotel were not too good so we spent some time looking for the hotel with all our luggage and were dripping wet by the time we found it. For other travellers getting there by bus, cross the road at the bookshop (at the bus stop) toward the ruins. If you are facing the ruins, the hotel is down the alley after the theatre on the right of the ruins.

The hotel was clean and neat. The bedroom and changing room were an average size, not too cramped. However the bathroom was very small. The shower has a shower curtain (pet hate) and because the shower is so small, the curtain sticks to you when you have a shower.

We discovered over the 5 days we spent at the hotel that if you want hot water, you need to have a shower at 6am. It seems like most people have a shower later, and the hot water gets depleted. In the hotels defence we did not complain so they did not have a chance to rectify.

There is free wifi but you need a new password from the front desk every day.

The location is very central, and safe. There is a fantastic bakery to the left of the hotel that sells thin crust pizza by weight. The hotel is also within walking distance from major attractions and very close to main bus stops. Which makes transport easy.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Enn_Cpt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,054 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    319
    501
    152
    53
    29
See reviews for
167
510
37
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hunndalen
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2013

The hotel has a great location, walking distance to everywhere. The rooms are small (as most hotels in Rome are), but clean. The breakfast was ok, but you're better treated at a local bar. The desk staff was helpful and nice people. Good e-mail service (detailed and fast answers) while ordering both the room and transportation from/to the airport. Here's a tip for the "non mainstream traveller" - their facebook-page offers plenty of tips for travellers (not "top ten sights in Rome" - stuff), but smaller and more hidden secrets! Like new cheap and good restaurants, bakeries, cafe's, churches, walking trips, smaller museums etc. Definitely worth flowing them to pick up these great tips. For us, who had been to Rome several times before, these tips was very welcoming :-)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Morten M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 11, 2013

We chose this hotel based on its location, it was a short walk from the majority of the monuments we visited.
The rooms were basic with comfortable beds. The shower was small and the taps made a noise when used however this was a minor inconvenience.

The breakfast was a typical continental style and very nice fuelling us for the day ahead.
The receptionists were polite and answered all of our questions.

If in Rome again I would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finleyville, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2013

When our driver turned into a narrow alley, we wondered what we were getting into! It turned out great!! The rooms were a bit small and bare, the shower was 24" square as was the elevator(one person, one suitcase). It didn't make any difference since other than sleeping, we spent very little time in the room. Going out the front door to the left was a local bakery. Directly across the alley was a coffee shop. Going to the right to the next intersection, then left was a major grocery store with an excellent wine selection. We were also close to a local farmer's market (Campo de Fiore). Major atractions such as the Spanish Steps, Pantheon, etc. were within walking distance. The English speaking staff was very helpful. Continental style breakfast was served each morning. We would certainly stay here again when in Rome.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carl W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berkeley, CA
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2013

Located a 3 minute walk from Campo de Fiori, and maybe 10 minutes from Piazza Navone, this is my favorite area of Rome to stay in, to walk and wander in. Our room was clean and reasonably comfortable, the staff helpful. The rooms were relatively small and rather spartan, minimal decorations and nothing like a piece of paper, stationary, pen, etc in sight. continental style breakfast was included, was pretty typical for this kind of venue. 5 stars for location, 3 stars for the rooms, 4 stars for service.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013

The staff at this hotel were fantastic! Massimo was soured helpful, but all the staff at the front desk were very nice, friendly and helpful. They also speak English. They call you a cab whenever you need to go anywhere. The location is great - central to a lot of the sights and surrounded by many restaurants and shops. Also was a safe location. The room was pretty small, but that is the case all over Italy.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingChicagoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mpls
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013

We picked this hotel for it's location and price. We found the staff at the desk to be very helpful. They printed our reservation for the Vatican museum after we had booked it online. We used public transportation and they were helpful with bus stops, maps and schedules. We used the rooftop terrace several times. It was very comfortable in late September. Our room was small but clean and comfortable. It overlooked the street (restaurant below) but that wasn't a problem as we usually had the windows closed. We walked to the Pantheon, Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain, Coliseum, but took a bus to St Peter's Square. Breakfast was good. Lots to see in Rome and Smeraldo Hotel was a convenient great place to stay.

Room Tip: Not familiar with what other rooms were like. Ours was small but fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sailjmrm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Navona
Hotel Navona
#124 of 1,261 in Rome
1,070 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Pensione Barrett
Hotel Pensione Barrett
#22 of 1,261 in Rome
779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Ponte Sisto
Hotel Ponte Sisto
#128 of 1,261 in Rome
1,514 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Residenza Argentina
Residenza Argentina
#24 of 1,261 in Rome
718 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Albergo Santa Chiara
Hotel Albergo Santa Chiara
#111 of 1,261 in Rome
764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Smeraldo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Smeraldo

Property: Hotel Smeraldo
Address: Via Dei Chiavari 20, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#316 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Smeraldo 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Smeraldo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smeraldo Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing