We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great value”
Review of Hotel Smeraldo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Smeraldo
Ranked #163 of 1,261 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Columbus, NC
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great location, great value”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We stayed at the Smeraldo in May, for 3 nights. This is the second time we stay here, and we still loved it. The staff is very nice, the breakfast is very good, the room and bathroom very clean. We had a room with a balcony for the second time, and had a great view of the rooftops and the street. This hotel also has a terrace on the top floor, so it is nice to bring a bottle of wine, some food and enjoy the moment. This hotel is within 1 block from Campo dei Fiori, and a little more to Piazza Navona. All the sites are within walking distance. We will only stay at this hotel when in Rome.

Room Tip: Ask for the room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DinaColumbus_NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,057 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    320
    502
    153
    53
    29
See reviews for
169
510
37
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Langley
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Our family of 6 with extended family of 3 more enjoyed our first visit to Rome at Smeraldo. The hotel was around the corner from Campo Fiore which we enjoyed every day - restaurants, market, shopping and more. The location was also central for us to enjoy extended strolls by walking to all of our attractions including Colosseum, Vatican, spanish steps and more. The hotel was well maintained and the staff helpful with our questions and requests. Hope to be back again one day to Rome and Hotel Smeraldo.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarleneLangley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missoula
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

As mentioned before, this hotel is in a GREAT location. We walked to all the major sites, good restaurants, shopping, etc and did not have to use public transportation once. The room we had was small but clean. Breakfast was disappointing. Stale pastries and canned fruits. The bakery across the street is a much better option. Service is polite and sufficient but not overly friendly. We felt the location of this hotel made up for any of its minor shortcomings!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Location, location, location. Rome hardly has a mass transport system so you'll find yourself walking from place to place. This hotel is right there-- a couple of minutes from Campo dei Fiori, a few minutes more for Piazza Navona, and then the Pantheon is also nearby. Foro Romano is about 25 minutes away (depending on how fast you walk), and the Vatican the same. Trastevere is close as well.

The hotel is located on a small street. Our hotel room faces that street, and I thought it'd be noisy at night but the windows shut tightly and there's probably not a whole lot of drunk revellers in these parts.

Rooms are small, but of good value. This hotel has got to have the smallest shower area in the entire world. Don't drop the soap-- I had to become a contortionist to pick anything up from the shower floor.

Front desk staff is perfunctory. They have answers and they will assist when asked, but they just work there, so don't expect to have pleasant chats with them. Breakfast is standard Italian hotel breakfast fare.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A D S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nutley, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Location was excellent! Just two blocks from restaurant-filled Campo dei Fiori, around the corner from a pharmacy, secure ATM location, local bus and trains.
Hotel lobby was nice with small sitting area and computer/internet for guests. Breakfast was included and was available in the lower level. Breakfast room was clean, bright and included good selection of danish, cereal, yogurt, fresh fruit, american coffee.
Staff was friendly, proficient in English, and the front desk was staffed 24 hours.
Room was small (at least by American standards), the king-size bed was comfortable but left little room for navigating to the bathroom and could not fully open closet because door hit against the bed. The room temperature was very good (not too hot or cold). The bathroom was not spotless but acceptable. While the sink and floor were updated, the shower door was made of cheap plastic and had a minor mold issue.
Although this hotel was nice and very convenient, I did not think it was worth the price paid.

Room Tip: Elevator is tiny (only fits two people at a time), if stairs is a problem, consider requesting a roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelPlannerAnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Have people who review these hotels as excellent never been to a nice hotel?
I have a closet bigger than the room I got here.
Location is actually Phenomenal.
I wouldn't say avoid this hotel... but if you have money for something nicer... get something nicer.
I don't understand how the Europeans get away with their nickel and dime B.S. and crummy hotels when one pays $200/ night. I can stay in a Westin in LA (not that I would, because I live here) for about the same price and be 1000x more satisfied.
We got stuck in the dipendenza... which is identical to the main hotel, the doors are about 6 steps apart.
Breakfast was not so organized, crowded and mostly low end market pastries. Luckily there is great food all around.
The fire alarm went off several times and closed all the doors.
Italians just don't seem to understand the term service... they provide the hotel room, you pay, that's it you get nothing else, not even a friendly attitude.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrjsuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We stayed here for six nights and although it is a great location we felt that for the price we paid it was not good value. The room we got on arrival was very small we could not pass each other at the same time and it was very noisy. However the staff gave us a bigger room the next day without any problem.

The breakfast was terrible, tasteless bread rolls tinned peaches and pears, no eggs just the same cheese slices and ham. Come on it's Italy and all the fresh fruit you have available. The coffee was not drinkable so I would advise skip it. The management need to make an effort if they want to charge these prices. Be careful with the coffee shop/bar across the road check the money you hand in as you may not get the correct change. There is a lovely restaurant up the street St. Anna I think it is called and it was lovely.

The staff were helpful and pleasant we felt however it was not good value in comparison to other cities.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank joma27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Navona
Hotel Navona
#124 of 1,261 in Rome
1,073 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Pensione Barrett
Hotel Pensione Barrett
#22 of 1,261 in Rome
780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Ponte Sisto
Hotel Ponte Sisto
#125 of 1,261 in Rome
1,515 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Residenza Argentina
Residenza Argentina
#24 of 1,261 in Rome
720 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Albergo Santa Chiara
Hotel Albergo Santa Chiara
#111 of 1,261 in Rome
765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Smeraldo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Smeraldo

Property: Hotel Smeraldo
Address: Via Dei Chiavari 20, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#316 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Smeraldo 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Smeraldo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smeraldo Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing