We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You can find better elsewhere”
Review of Hotel Smeraldo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Smeraldo
Ranked #172 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“You can find better elsewhere”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

We booked this place last minute due to unpredicted delays with visa process in Brazilian embassy, so for that extra night we had only one demand - as close as possible to the embassy. Hotel Smeraldo was perfect in this point of view, as its location is great, nothing to say about that.

However, it turns out even a one-night stay can become an unpleasant experience.

Let's start with WiFi - as soon as we came, they gave us a paper with username and password, which we didn't watch carefully at first. Already in the room we took a better look and the password was for 1 device only, though it was a double room and we stated that there will be double and not single occupancy. Ok, we didn't feel like going downstairs, so I let my husband use it first, thinking that then he can log out and I'll do my business online. No, even this was to much to expect - for one device meant not one device at a time, but one and the same device only. Maybe it sounds a bit exaggerated, but I am used that internet is an everyday necessity rather than a luxury or an extra service, especially considering that we paid 140 euro per night :-)

After this unpleasant discovery I went to the shower. The shower head was badly fixed and the water was coming in two weird regimes - either in several strong streams or in one pulsing mood. The shower head wasn't turning at all, and I was even afraid to try and move it, as it was about to collapse :-) The shower doors aren't sliding but folding, and didn't fold well either.

The worst thing though came later on after we returned from errands in the city. The first thing I noticed entering the room was the STINK OF CANALIZATION!!! Smelt as if the drains got clogged and smth started rotting inside. The smell stayed there the whole night, so we had to leave the bathroom window open, though it was still very chilly outside.

The breakfast was very humble for the price paid - the pastry wasn't fresh, choice left much to be desired.

The staff were very friendly and helpful, but the overall experience is below average, as you expect to get more for what you pay. The great location does not justify such a mismatch between price and quality, as there are other places of the same price range with a better offer.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DevochkaDa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,012 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    300
    483
    148
    53
    28
See reviews for
159
483
35
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

Great location to sites, hotel staff was very competent though I agree impersonal as others have stated. Breakfast was above average. Easy to find though you need to get off the bus at the Piazza Argentina stop, which wasn't advertised and would've made our first trip much easier. The only complaint was the ridiculous sliding shower door which was very difficult to maneuver.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Nettie2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights for my husband's bday surprise. Good location beside Campo De Flori.
We changed room as our first one faced the street and was very noisy from the restaurant/mopeds etc - so thankfully after 1 night we were moved to a quiet one facing the other side of hotel - bliss!!

Room was average size, yes small ahower but we didnt find it an issue. Breakfast was good - although coffee very strong, bitter and warm.

Staff didnt seem very friendly - but would answer any questions if asked so no issue there.

Overall good hotel for good price and I would recommend it, roof top was lovely if weather had of been nicer. Only thing missing was tea/coffee facilities - my husdband had cold/flu and wanted a lemsip but he couldnt get boiled water from reception -they sent us to restaurant across the street but they wouldnt give water either so had to do without!

Room Tip: If you are light sleeper - ask for quiet room - I had emailed in advance but they put us on noisy st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joyabr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshall, MIchigan
Level Contributor
230 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Stayed here March 2013 with my son and his roommate. Our triple room was more like two. You entered a room with two beds, then a small hall with bathroom off of it and another small room with one bed, closet and small side table. It was certainly enough space for us. The staff were helpful but not particularly friendly, with a few exceptions. This location is very close to the Vatican, about a 5 minute walk to Pantheon, 10 minutes to Spanish Steps, and bit of a jaunt to the Colesseum. I would stay there again and found it to be a good value for what we got. It was also quiet, something I hear is difficult to find in Rome.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChristiB50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, MD
Level Contributor
61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Chose hotel for combination of location, amenities, price. Rare to find all of this and quiet, too! Nice added touches include accessible roof terrace(s), varied buffet selection for breakfast, and helpful, friendly but not overly intrusive staff. Staff sorted out a couple of housekeeping snafus, including a jammed safe and broken light fixture. Staff also offered logistical help, and ordered taxi for departure. Had tie-ins to tours for those who wanted or needed but merely offered, did not pressure. (we are highly independent travelers.) Easy to get to ancient sites, esp. Pantheon, Vatican, modern museums, ghetto, and tourist favorites for food like Campo di Fiori, numerous gelaterie and Piazzo Navona. Room small but reasonable for central location. Bathroom also small but up to date and functional with high quality fixtures. Would definitely return!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pbs142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weyburn, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Excellent location, close to everything. We walked everywhere even as far as the Spanish steps, Colosseum, Vatican from here, took 20 - 30 minutes. friendly staff. Rooms are very clean but not large. That is what staying in a local small hotel in Europe is about. Felt like we were mixing with the local people. Breakfast was great. We would definitely stay here again!!

Room Tip: We stayed in the annex and liked the privacy it offered. Our room was on the 1st floor and looked o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kmhWeyburn_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
73 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Can't say enough wonderful things about this fabulous hotel right in the heart of Rome...short walk to Campo di Fiore (with wonderful restaurants, produce and spice market every morning, gelato, and pastry shops). Easy walk to Piazzo Navona and the Pantheon. Bus and Tram are just 2 blocks away to take you further afield. Staff at the front desk went above and beyond to provide maps, bus info, restaurant suggestions, etc. Breakfast room was bright and cheery with the usual fruit, croissants, yogurt, cereal, etc. Self-service laundry just 3 blocks away (ask at the front desk). Only 2 rooms have bathtubs. Our room had a small shower stall, but the rest of the bathroom was roomy. We stayed in the annex just a half block from the main hotel. Very quiet, but close to a great shopping street with boutiques, shoe stores, and restaurants. Room decor is basic, and our room was small, but it worked fine for our 4 night stay in February. Room was less than US $100 including breakfast. Excellent value!!!

Room Tip: Only two rooms have bathtubs. If that's important to you, reserve ahead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anita E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Teatro Pace
Hotel Teatro Pace
#231 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Residenza Argentina
Residenza Argentina
#24 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Ponte Sisto
Hotel Ponte Sisto
#125 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,447 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Navona
Hotel Navona
#135 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,039 reviews
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#95 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Smeraldo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Smeraldo

Property: Hotel Smeraldo
Address: Via Dei Chiavari 20, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#316 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Smeraldo 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Smeraldo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smeraldo Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing