We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wouldn't stay here again.”
Review of Hotel Smeraldo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Smeraldo
Ranked #143 of 1,272 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 1, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights in September 2012 and were overall not happy with our stay. Pro's: The room was clean, and the breakfast was pretty decent (average for what we encountered for most of Europe). Con's: the room was INCREDIBLY small, smaller than any place else we stayed in Germany, Switzerland, and Italy. The shower was literally 2 x 2 feet with barely enough room to turn around. The shower was so small the curtain actually stuck to you the entire time (GROSS!) and failed to really keep water into the walk in portion of the shower. This was also by far the most uncomfortable, hard bed of any place we stayed. I couldn't wait for our stay there to be over so I could sleep in a more comfortable bed. Finally, there was a gentleman who worked the front desk/concierge in the late afternoon/evening who was incredibly rude. He made a big fuss if you asked any questions or were looking for information, recommendations, etc... when that is his job! We booked because the price was right for us, but in hind sight I would have rather paid more and stayed somewhere else!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mallory L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,109)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

470 - 476 of 1,109 reviews

Reviewed October 27, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay here, it is in a great location very close to Largo di Torre Argentina - so if you are looking for the hotel look for this and there is a sign near to the tram stop to direct you to the hotel.
Our room was large with a good sized bathroom, we over-looked a patio area, the windows had shutters but it was hot so we left them open throughout the night.
Breakfast was very nice, lots of choice and a large room, the ladies there were very helpful and busy all the time.
Reception staff were friendly on check in.
The free internet didn't work in our room but there was a free computer in the lobby which was good enough for us.
The roof terrace was nice, quite small so not a lot of room for sitting if you want to take lunch up there.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ellie188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We had three rooms and found the locations to be great and the staff to be very helpful. Great restaurants close by and easy to walk to all the major sites. Rooms were clean, but somewhat small, even by Italian standards.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RDHtravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed from Sunday 21st to Wednesday 24th October 2012 and could not fault anything with this wonderful hotel. It is located in ideal position for all of the attractions with easy access to local transport services. Some attractions are only a 10 minute walk away. The staff were friendly and helpful and could not help anymore with any questions we had about anything. The hotel was clean and tidy and the buffet breakfast was all you could ask for with no restrictions on what you could have. We will be returning to Rome again and we will be returning to the Hotel Smeraldo. Well done to everyone involved in helping our stay with you absolutely fantastic, thank you very much

Room Tip: We saw forth floor rooms with balconies, but not sure what they sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

This was my second visit to the Smeraldo Hotel and it was just as pleasant as first time round. Without doubt this hotel offers great value for money, particularly if you book and pay in advance online as you get a better rate. Okay, there is no refund on such good deals but if you're pretty certain you'll be travelling I don't see any reason not to book in this way. The location is fantastic and the hotel is spotlessly clean. Some rooms are small but, hey, you're in the heart of an ancient city so don't expect lavish rooms skyscraper style! All the main attractions, Piazza Navona, Vatican, Pantheon, Trevi Fountain, Colosseum and more are within walking distance and as the weather in Rome is usually dry and sunny for the best part of the year it's a great way to see the city (preferable to sitting in endless traffic jams on the hop-on hop-off tour buses!). Staff on the Reception desk are perfectly efficient and speak English - they'll organise taxis from/to the airport and will help with directions, places to visit etc. We had a slight problem with a light bulb failing in our room on day 2 and it was sorted immediately. I would not even bother to look for another hotel if returning to Rome.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MesmerisedNot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelsmeraldoroma, Direttore at Hotel Smeraldo, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2012

Dear Guest,
thank you for your review, we are all very happy that you enjoyed your stay and had a pleasant time in our Hotel.
We hope to see you soon during your next trip!
Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We have stayed in Hotel Smeraldo 4 or 5 times now. There are many pluses. It's very close to local transportation (e.g. Largo di Torre Argentina), is walking distance to main sites, is affordable and has a lift (note that there are 7 or 8 steps to get to the lift in the main building and there are more steps to get to breakfast room in basement). There is also a complimentary computer in the lobby. A typical European/Italian breakfast is adequate. Our room has always been ready upon arrival even prior to standard check-in time.

The minus is the shower. There is lack of hot water at times, especially at peak times in the morning. This has been noticeable over several stays so was not just a one occurrence issue. The shower stall is small and you can't really move in it without hitting the doors or water facet. Could not turn on shower to adjust water temperature before stepping in without getting water on the floor. There was also some mildew around the tile grout and caulk joints.

For the value and location it's a good choice but hope they address shower issues before we return again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeFdaPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

This is neat hotel in a great location. The neighborhood is charming and colorful, with cafes and restaurants right out the front door. Our room was perfectly adequate--small but not oppressive in the least, air conditioned, with a comfortable bed. Reception staff is not oozing warmth, but all questions are answered competently (English is spoken, no problem). All in all, we really enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roganddrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Pensione Barrett
Hotel Pensione Barrett
#43 of 1,272 in Rome
824 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Abruzzi
Hotel Abruzzi
#45 of 1,272 in Rome
1,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Navona
Hotel Navona
#118 of 1,272 in Rome
1,148 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Residenza Argentina
Residenza Argentina
#32 of 1,272 in Rome
776 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Ponte Sisto
Hotel Ponte Sisto
#129 of 1,272 in Rome
1,583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Smeraldo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Smeraldo

Address: Via Dei Chiavari 20, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#315 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $89 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Smeraldo 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Smeraldo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smeraldo Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing