We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Value, Great Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Smeraldo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Smeraldo
Ranked #174 of 1,290 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Value, Great Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2011

The hotel was no frills, but great location and a great price. The staff was friendly and they have a secure room for storing your bags if you are too early to check in/out. The room was big enough for three, a little tight, but not unusual for European hotels.

This hotel is right by the Campo di Fiori which is such a fun area. Everything in Rome is walkable and a number of great restaurants on the square are only a few minutes away.

The hotel provides breakfast and internet, which are nice perks. I would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexis726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

993 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    476
    147
    52
    28
See reviews for
159
469
34
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, Wyoming
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2011

The hotel is basic but clean. The location is great, however! Within easy walking distance to Campo di Fiori and Piazza Navona. The hotel is a little hard to find (even for taxi's), so make sure you have the address with you! It is within walking distance to the bus stop (Largo Argentina) where you get on a bus to just about anywhere! The staff were very nice. There is a computer in the lobby for you to use, or you can pay for WiFi. There is a little cafe just across from the hotel which is great for coffee...my Mom became a "regular" there in the 3 days we were in Rome. There are two different roof top patios to use...nice in the evening. The breakfast had a good selection of cereals, meats, cheeses, yogurt, fruit and breads. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 307Wyoming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Västerås
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2011

Smeraldo is situated close to all need to be seen thing in Rome. I was here for the second time and the hotel is good, clean and well managed. The breakfast is perhaps little simple but you have to remebe that this is a three stqar hotel. I cn recomend this hotel and as it also is close to Campo di fiori and Trastever you will be ale to fins both good bars and nice restaurant.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sallesweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2011

We stayed here earlier this month. The location is excellent -- but avoid this hotel like the plague! The staff raise the bar for rudeness, taking special care to make you sorry you chose to stay there. They get their attitude from the top of management. I had a chat with the manageress, pointing out that the smoke alarm in our room had no power and there was no fan, cooling or heat in our room for several nights running. She smugly assured me we were perfectly safe and commented that they were unable to get anyone out to repair the air conditioning. Get the picture? Rick Steves is WAY OFF on this recommendation!

Room Tip: Good location unfortunately translates to all-night noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelsmeraldoroma, Direttore at Hotel Smeraldo, responded to this review, November 22, 2011
Dear Guest,
I am sorry to hear that you had a bad experience with our Hotel, but as I remember all the situation I have to clarify some aspects to all the readers.

Your first question with us was about the price and any possible way to get a discount.
I want you to know that once you book trough booking.com we cannot add the Rick Steves special price too: special offers and discounts are available only for direct bookings.

In addition, concerning the A/C I must specifiy that while you were our guest the A/C was switched off because of the low temperature from outside (5 to 8 degrees) and once the system is on winter mode we cannot change it (without changing all the Hotel!).

For the fire allarm in the rooms - as I sad to you here - we have all the certifications given by the Italian firemen as without them the Hotel would not be able to run.

Last but not least I am displeased that you've found the staff rude because this goes against all other reviews and our continuous commitment to satisfy every guests' wishes.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
115 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2011

We seleted this hotel for its location & price, both very good in a very expensive city.
The rooms are small, no smaller than many we have had in Europe, in a heavily taxed city.. We did have one of the less expensive rooms which just has room for one suitcase on the desk and one suitcase on the luggage rack, your carryon willl have to fit in the closet. We faced onto the street on the first floor, so had a nice view of the outdoor cafe and bakery across the street- potential noise for you light sleepers IF you leave the window OPEN- but there is A/C so you dont have to. We use sleep masks and earlpugs anyway, no problem.Your fellow tourists talking in the hall make a lot more noise than the people in the cafe, in my experience. The hotel has an elevator and a free lobby computer. The internet in your room costs a few euros, but one could pay for 2 days and get one day free IF you asked and paid in advance for that special - ask for that. Slow internet, so what.
Yes, the shower is tiny- had had the exact same size in Paris tho- think the size encourages you to turn off the water while you soap up and thus save energy to heat the water and the water itself. The bathroom is an average size with limited counter space. This is an authentic big city hotel in a remodeled building- the kind of place I like, family run and not a Hilton or Holiday Inn.
However, the hotel is spotlessly clean, the breakfast is a good Italian continental- several sliced cheeses and sliced turley or ham, along with the juice, fruit, cake,toast, sweet croissants, and good coffee.
We would be pleased to stay here again. The Campo Fiori was lively and fun at night and a block or two back to the hotel.
The front desk gave us 3 good dinner recommendations, funnily enough 2 of them were in the RIck Steves guidebook and very straighforward. Walter at the front desk was especially helpful with reservations at a Fish Restaurant nearby. Everyone was very professional and courteous and dignified, as befits hotel professionals, including the breakfast room ladies and the cleaners. Completely enjoyed our stay at the Smeraldo.

Room Tip: There is a second building around the corner in which you might be placed: no big deal, you simply h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ms mg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2011

When my husband and I traveled to Rome for our third city in Italy, we knew we wanted to stay in the Campo di Fiori area or near Piazza Navona. This hotel is situated on a very small, cute street that is less than 5 minutes walking distance from both of those areas. We also walked to every hot spot in the entire city from our hotel. The longest walk was about minutes one way, and that was to the Colloseum. The location of this hotel was fantastic. The hotel itself, however, was not so fantastic. The room was unbearably small, and the only window we had faced a brick wall. It was pitch black in the room unless we had the lights on. Now we literally were only in the room to shower and sleep, so it wasn't such a huge deal. The bathroom was fine. The breakfast was average, but included in the package. The employees at the front desk were somewhat curt and unwelcoming. And finally, the place smelled like smoke in the hallways. Either they still allowed smoking in the hotel, or people smoked right outside of the air unit outside of the building. As non-smoker, this was a killer turn off.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a larger room if you can afford it, and are set on staying here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank serohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2011

Good location in respect to all the tourist sites in Rome, but I will not be coming back because of the rudeness of the staff. They were unwilling to help when asked for recommendations on dinner, and were very unfriendly and rude to me and many others in my big group. Good breakfast though, and rooms were clean.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelsmeraldoroma, Direttore at Hotel Smeraldo, responded to this review, November 15, 2011
Dear Guest,
thank you for your review, I am sorry to read that you had an unpleasant experience with our staff because this goes against all other reviews.
I only have to specify that when big groups as yours came in our Hotel is easy that 50/60 people - all togheter - need information in a short time.
I am sure you can understand that - in order to satisfy all your requests - we have to be very quick and I hope this wont be interpreted as rudeness.

All the best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Teatro Pace
Hotel Teatro Pace
#218 of 1,290 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Residenza Argentina
Residenza Argentina
#26 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Ponte Sisto
Hotel Ponte Sisto
#121 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,432 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Navona
Hotel Navona
#135 of 1,290 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,025 reviews
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#94 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Smeraldo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Smeraldo

Property: Hotel Smeraldo
Address: Via dei Chiavari 20, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#316 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Smeraldo 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Smeraldo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smeraldo Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing