We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'll stick with this!”
Review of Hotel Trastevere

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Trastevere
Ranked #470 of 1,270 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Most of my dozen or so visits to Rome I've stayed in the Termini area for budget reasons. Never again! It's simply delightful to wake up in the heart of Trastevere and feel in the middle of a safe and friendly community, full of light and good restaurants and conveniently placed for all the major sites. Even reaching it from Fiumicino is easier and cheaper than going to Termini (a train every 15 mins. costing 8 euros instead of 14; then tram 8 to Piazza Mastai: cross the road and take the left fork. Don't hesitate to ask directions. )

There's a big, beautiful wall fountain at the end of Via Manara. A few feet to the left of it you'll find steps that take you up the Janiculum Hill. Or take the road just opposite the hotel and you arrive in the Piazza of S.Maria in Trastevere. Every road in every direction seems to have restaurants recommended by the guide books. You need never repeat yourself.

Distances are much less than you think, looking at the map. Even walking to S.Maria del Populo we didn't need transport (you're passing so many interesting things en route.) It's a 20 min. walk max to Piazza Navona and the Pantheon. We enjoyed lunch at Miscellanea at the right hand side of the Pantheon, just down from a wonderful gelateria called Cremeria di Monteforte (no queues; a bench outside or sit by the Pantheon.)

The hotel staff are friendly and efficient. The decor is sweet in the public areas (floral stencilling) but dull in the rooms (very brown and heavy) The beds are comfortable, the tv works, the shower room is luxurious and breakfast the freshest I've ever enjoyed in an Italian b&b: cappucino, espresso and chocolate as in a bar; crisp, warm croissants and pain au chocolat.

Our only problem was on the last day when the service was overwhelmed by a mass of young Americans on a college trip, who started breakfast 20 mins earlier than programmed and ate everything. Arriving promptly at 7.30 (when brkfast was supposed to start, continuing to 10.30) there was no table for us, no choc. croissants, and no Nuttella. So on my next visit I'll check that they don't have a huge party in.

Otherwise: I'll stick with this for my next visit to Rome!

Room Tip: overlook Piazza Cosimata - there's always something interesting going on. If you find it noisy j...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scottishstroller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (268)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

109 - 115 of 268 reviews

Reviewed May 24, 2013

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank patjwheaton
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We have traveled to Rome, 7 times. Hotel Trastevere is among our favorites. We booked directly, after having horrible experiences with Expedia. They were helpful with booking, suggested ways to get to the hotel and places to eat near the hotel. The breakfast was good, the coffee great and the server very attentive. The shower was slow to drain, we told the hotel clerk, it was fixed when we got back from a day of touring. The air conditioning worked very well, the room was quite and clean.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maclin_63112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

An adorable little hotel in walking distance from Rome's great antiquities. Rooms are clean and comfortable, and the breakfast is ample and good. Staff very friendly and helpful. Hotel located on a quiet street.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2,182,535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

The property was clean and rooms well appointed, bathrooms updated and clean. Staff was very helpful, friendly and attentive, and always willing to assist with excursion questions. Car was arranged by hotel to pick us up from airport and return us after our vacation, drivers were pleasant and on time. The location was perfect - in the quiet artsy Trastevere area, plenty of restaurants and shopping nearby, easily accessible to tram and buses to sites around Rome. Would definitely stay here again and highly recommend the property.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cynthia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

My mother and I stayed here for 4 nights of our trip then returned for an additional 2 nights. The hotel is in the perfect location in Trastevere with lots of restaurants and shops in the heart of the city. The staff was extremely nice and accommodating. There is a small breakfast every morning which helps start off the day and save on costs. The room/bed wasn't extravagant but it was just the right amount of space with a nice clean bathroom.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MacKenzie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
2  Thank FatherJackHertford
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trastevere
Hotel Locanda Carmel
Hotel Locanda Carmel
#528 of 1,270 in Rome
181 reviews
Trastevere
Relais Le Clarisse in Trastevere
Trastevere
Hotel San Francesco
Hotel San Francesco
#274 of 1,270 in Rome
704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trastevere
Sonnino Suite B&B
Sonnino Suite B&B
#522 of 1,270 in Rome
175 reviews
Trastevere
Hotel Residenza San Calisto
Trastevere
Villa della Fonte
Villa della Fonte
#538 of 1,270 in Rome
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Trastevere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Trastevere

Address: Via Luciano Manara 24-25, 00153 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trastevere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #470 of 1,270 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: $94 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Trastevere 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Trastevere is located in the heart of Trastevere and it's within walking distance to all major landmarks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Trastevere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trastevere Hotel Rome
Hotel Trastevere Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing