We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Albergo Santa Chiara
Ranked #113 of 1,270 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 9, 2014

This was my second stay at the Santa Chiara, excellent hotel, nice staff, comfortable and
clean room - breakfast outstanding. Tip: ask for one of the renovated rooms.
The location is very central - walking 3 minutes to Largo Argentina, from there leave all buses
in every direction of Rome.
Walking 1 minute and one stands in front of the Pantheon.
I will certainly go back to this hotel.
Heidi Miami

Room Tip: ask for a renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Heidemaria2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (790)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

231 - 237 of 790 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2014

We have stayed at this hotel many years ago but this time when we came to Rome for New Years we opted for their great location. Although the staff is lovely and could not have been more helpful, our room which was about $300 US, was very shabby. We expected to pay more for New Years but the room was below par. The walls need paint, the baseboards are lifting fro the walls, the room door was scratched, there was no mirror in the bedroom, only the bath which was drab and not as clean as expected. Also no water classes supplied, no pad for notes.
We also noticed the ceiling in the hall way was coming down.
Breakfast was skimpy and this AM, there was. No fresh fruit. Also the lobby bar should have been opened New Years holiday...this would have lent a festive Air and nice place to end the night . Next year when we return to Roma , we will look for a new place.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jacqueline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

This is a very nice hotel only a block from the Pantheon and close to most other places of interest in Italy. The staff was very nice and always helpful. I would definitely recommend staying at this hotel

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JonathanNir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013

I was on a business trip but had half a day to kill, and this was a perfect location. Within walking distance from the Pantheon, and a short taxi ride from the Coliseum. Tons of quant shops and restaurants nearby. The breakfast was good,staff was helpful in getting cabs and giving advice on trains and public transportation. The room itself was very small, but it was clean and I didn't need a big room. There were people yelling outside making it a little hard to sleep, but that could have been an isolated incident- wasn't like a bunch of people yelling, just two loud people shouting at each other for hours. I don't think they served lunch or dinner, but who cares with all the fantastic eateries within walking distance. Wish I could remember the name of the place I ate because I had the best pasta fagiola ever.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013

Rome has many wonderful hotels. It is all about location for a pleasant visit, and a good value price for the room.. The.Santa Chiara is located just behind the Pantheon at the Plaza Minerva. The Plaza Minerva is a small plaza 100 yards from the Pantheon. The hotel has a variety of different style rooms which are graded by the price level. I stayed in the least expensive room and found it to be very clean and of good size in comparison to normal Rome standards. The staff was very kind and attentive. The breakfast is fair, but the coffee is TERRIBLE...as noted by all 12 members of my group. Fredericka please change the coffee brand!!! Other than the coffee the drain in the shower was clogged and caused a puddle, but no flood Room 107. I forgot to tell Fredericka because she was so charming. I recommend this hotel for travelers who want the convenience of 100's of restaurants in a very safe area,. Yes I would return to this hotel...you will be pleased too.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PittsburghPhil70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013 via mobile

Fredericka at the desk was wonderful organizing each day for us, getting tickets at Borghese gallery, directing us,answering questions with smiles. Room facing courtyard is quiet. Want to go back! Walking distance to everything.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelcouple97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

We stayed here for our second time in October but we won't be back. Some of the desk staff this time seemed somewhat surly and, until our last morning, this was true also of the dining room staff, and, although we had asked for a quiet room, our room was noisy every night with the sound of partying down in the street below. We requested that the air conditioning be turned on and that helped somewhat. Also, our room was located in the annex which involved the use of two elevators and lots of walking. Our experience during our first stay a few years ago was not like this at all. In our opinion, something has happened to the Albergo Santa Chiara and it isn't good.

Room Tip: Avoid the annex unless you like mazes and stairs and make sure you request a quiet courtyard room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank phcpr379
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Abruzzi
Hotel Abruzzi
#47 of 1,270 in Rome
1,036 reviews
Colonna
Hotel Nazionale
Hotel Nazionale
#44 of 1,270 in Rome
1,611 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Albergo del Senato
Albergo del Senato
#10 of 1,270 in Rome
3,676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Colonna
Hotel Pantheon
Hotel Pantheon
#98 of 1,270 in Rome
685 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Smeraldo
Hotel Smeraldo
#146 of 1,270 in Rome
1,104 reviews
Colonna
9 Hotel Cesari
9 Hotel Cesari
#109 of 1,270 in Rome
1,600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Albergo Santa Chiara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Albergo Santa Chiara

Address: Via di Santa Chiara 21, 00186 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
#111 Business Hotel in Rome
#184 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $117 - $337 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Albergo Santa Chiara 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Who we are The history of the Albergo Santa Chiara begins in 1939. At the first it was a "wine-shop" then changed into a small inn, enlarged in the following years, the 10 rooms of the first days have become now 96, distributed in 3 adjoining buildings. In one of them is located the Saint Catherine from Siena's Chapel. The old lobby, on the contrary, has become a theatre. You can't miss a short chat at one of the table of our open-air bar, quiet and private, that overlooks the Minerva Square. The most affectionate guests love the wide and classic styled rooms, younger prefers the modern and high-tech ones. The hotel service is impeccable, the rooms are very clean and the beds are extremely comfortable. You will find this is a friendly, relaxed hotel that will make you feel right at home. The hotel has been in the same family ownership for nearly a century. The ground floor hall has seen the proclamation of the Popular Party by Don Sturzo, the rooms have counted the steps of Noble prizes such as Amartya Sen, Franco Modigliani and clergy men later be became Popes, politicians then elected Republican President, philosophers, artists, writers from Fogazzaro to Sartre to Banana Yoshimoto. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Albergo Santa Chiara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Santa Chiara Rome
Albergo Santa Chiara Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing