We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“in the heart of the city”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Albergo Santa Chiara
Ranked #111 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 15, 2013

lovely placed, really in the heart of the city, rooms are confortable, some large some small, just one block from pantheon and close to most of the sights of the city.
a little walk to the tevere river.
i use this hotel for my job

Room Tip: in the new block
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bengiua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (770)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Albergo Santa Chiara
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

266 - 272 of 770 reviews

Reviewed January 17, 2013

We were able to get away from the kids for a week and spent the first few days in Rome. The hotel's location is VERY convenient.....1 block from the Pantheon and easy walks to Trevi Fountain, Piazza Navona, the Jewish Ghetto, etc. Our room was spacious and clean as were the common areas. While there was a fair amount of street noise when the windows were open, there was little hotel noise. We had a very nice visit, but we do have some constructive criticism:
1) While efficient and responsive to requests, the hotel staff seemed a bit stiff and officious. A few smiles and a little more engagement would go a long way.
2) Internet access via wifi is ubiquitous in Europe and accordingly, the hotel provides it free of charge. However, we were constantly losing the connection and having to log back on. This was just a minor irritation, but one that we imagine should be simple and inexpensive to fix.
3) Breakfast is included and provides many options, but it is exactly the same every day. It would be easy to provide slight variations with minimal cost or effort.
Aside from these relatively minor issues we would recommend the hotel to friends and we would stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Sh5fam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

A little late writing this review as we stayed here in August '12. We were so pleased with the hotel though, I had to write a review. The hotel has a fantastic location, just around the corner from the Pantheon. We were able to walk to all the major sights in Rome, except for the Vatican. We were traveling with our 3 kids (10,8 and 2) and stayed in the suite which was really spacious. I loved that the kids had their own area to sleep in (the living room area converted to have 3 twin beds with space to walk around still) & we had our own bedroom with a king bed. There was also a fantastic (huge) terrace, where my husband & I were able to sit at night & have a glass of wine & catch up on work while the kids were sleeping inside. It was ridicuoulsy hot in Rome when we were there, but the air conditioning worked just fine. The bathroom was good size & the shower really spacious. The breakfast that was included with our rate was decent- cereals, bread, cheese.... typical European breakfast buffet. The only negative thing I have to say was the front desk staff wasn't so friendly. We had been to Venice a few years back & everyone was so overly friendly to my children & we just expected Rome to be the same way. I found the staff at this hotel to be a little cold. All in all though, I would highly recommend this hotel & look forward to returning there someday!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank nytrvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

This location is perfect for any trip to Rome. You are in the heart of so many things but can escape the craziness of the crowds in the nearby Patheon.The Santa Chiara is a one minute walk to the Santa Maria Minerva Church and the Piazza Minerva and some of the hotel rooms over look this.There is so much to do and you can walk to most major sites in 15 minutes.We found that the front desk staff very friendly and helpful and always willing to go out of their way. The rooms were not large but very comfortable, modern, and clean. The breakfast was good and well taken care of by the staff. It had a large variety of meats cheeses,breads,cereals.Our 5 night experience here was great!The star here is really the incredible location and I look forward of staying here again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nanette O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Great location, one block south of the Pantheon and walking distance to all the main sights. Room was a bit small, but typical of European city rooms, still quite nice. Wifi was actually strong enough that I could stream my home TV signal over the Internet successfully, which was nice when I was stuck in bed sick for an evening. Staff was quite helpful with directions, information about bus stops, etc. They also happily printed out reservations for the Vatican museums.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2012

We looked forward to our third stay at the Santa Chiara, a week at the end of our four-week trip. We were able to have our favorite room, breakfast was very good, and the location can't be beat. We will definitely stay there on our next visit.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chandolin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here on a business trip to Rome- wonderful experience. My single room had a balcony almost as big as the rest of the room (tiny, but not unusual for european cities). Bathroom was remodeled and very nice. Breakfast was a very expansive good quality continental buffet. Staff were nice enough as long as you don't try to bring an unregistered guest to your room for any length of time (insurance regulations, apparently). Location was really great, literally right behind pantheon, walking distance to many major sights (vatican, colosseum, etc.). Can't speak to price as we had a special rate due to a conference. If I am lucky enough to go back to Rome on my own, would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank oneoverbeta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Abruzzi
Hotel Abruzzi
#49 of 1,267 in Rome
993 reviews
Colonna
Albergo Cesari
Albergo Cesari
#108 of 1,267 in Rome
1,575 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Navona
Hotel Navona
#132 of 1,267 in Rome
1,096 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Albergo del Sole Al Pantheon
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Albergo del Senato
Albergo del Senato
#9 of 1,267 in Rome
3,600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Albergo Santa Chiara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Albergo Santa Chiara

Address: Via di Santa Chiara 21, 00186 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
#111 Business Hotel in Rome
#137 Family Hotel in Rome
#184 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $170 - $368 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Albergo Santa Chiara 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Who we are The history of the Albergo Santa Chiara begins in 1939. At the first it was a "wine-shop" then changed into a small inn, enlarged in the following years, the 10 rooms of the first days have become now 96, distributed in 3 adjoining buildings. In one of them is located the Saint Catherine from Siena's Chapel. The old lobby, on the contrary, has become a theatre. You can't miss a short chat at one of the table of our open-air bar, quiet and private, that overlooks the Minerva Square. The most affectionate guests love the wide and classic styled rooms, younger prefers the modern and high-tech ones. The hotel service is impeccable, the rooms are very clean and the beds are extremely comfortable. You will find this is a friendly, relaxed hotel that will make you feel right at home. The hotel has been in the same family ownership for nearly a century. The ground floor hall has seen the proclamation of the Popular Party by Don Sturzo, the rooms have counted the steps of Noble prizes such as Amartya Sen, Franco Modigliani and clergy men later be became Popes, politicians then elected Republican President, philosophers, artists, writers from Fogazzaro to Sartre to Banana Yoshimoto. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Albergo Santa Chiara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Santa Chiara Rome
Albergo Santa Chiara Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing