We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent central city base for family”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Albergo Santa Chiara
Ranked #113 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed in one of the Albergo's family suites with our two sons.

We actually stayed in April 2011 but have only just got round to posting and the system won't let me select a month that long ago.

The hotel's location is excellent - right in the centre of many of the sites most visitors will want to see yet up a quiet turning. It's easy to walk to lots of the places we wanted to visit, and also very close to many good bus and tram routes. Taxis are relatively cheap in Rome, so for a family of four they are worth using too.

Our suite was on the top floor of one part of the hotel - it is several old buildings which have been connected and refurbished. We asked specifically to be in one of these top floor suites which are in various bits of the building and all have outside terraces. Ours was very large with table and chairs and enabled us to have a relaxing hour in the afternoon sun after tiring ourselves out around the sites and before going out to dinner each day.

Staff are very helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ServalontheRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (790)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

305 - 311 of 790 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2012

Location good. Rooms quiet and relatively well furnished and maintained. Breakfast average for mid-range hotel. Public areas are cold and unwelcoming. No effort is put into them by the hotel and illustrate their lack of interest in their guests. Staff do not care to help make your trip to Rome enjoyable - asking them to book a restaurant made me feel like I was inconveniencing them. Complaints about the lack of hot water were met with indifference (and since it continued for the length of my stay clearly they did not about it).
If you want an average hotel in a good location at typical Rome prices then fine. But don't expect guest service or care.

Room Tip: Worth seeking out a room with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 2GentleTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

The room was on the street side and so noisy it was intolerable, like sleeping on the street with bars, partying, cars etc. Plus the AC did not work, the shower did not drain properly and someone on the staff tried to pilfer an iphone. We had to move to a different hotel. The only reason I'm not rating this Terrible is the location and one very nice woman who worked there.

Room Tip: Choose a room in the back unless you don't care about noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RW2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Our visit was May 25 to 28 of 2012. The location is excellent, easy walking to Coliseum area, Trevi Fountain, and Spanish steps.All the Albergo Santa Chiara staff were pleasant and friendly, eager to serve, and gave detailed information. Crowds were moderate in the city and weather pleasant. Prior to our visit, Federica and Luigi (among others) were prompt in their email replies . Rooms were clean and comfortable. Even though the location is a block off the Pantheon Rotunda on a side street, the street noise on the lower floors was louder than expected. The breakfast was good and dining area were comfortable, with a helpful and pleasant staff. You can find cheaper hotels, but this hotel served our party of 5 ages 13 to 53 in perfect fashion. I recommend this hotel primarily due to its location and staff.
one more point which i like to mension is the room. please call hotel and ask which kind of room you are getting. our first night was terrible because we got APT1, which was very smaller for my family of 5. there ceiling were very low and bathroom was tooo small, we even cant take shower while standing, we have to sit in the tub. which was the worst experiance. but in the morning i talked to manager Mr Michele coroegisill and explain him the situation. he appoligize and gave us the biggest APT3 in the hotel. he also gave us one extra room with bathroom free to us ( wow what a great service). we really enjoyed our comfertable stay there. we had 2 big bedroom with two bathroom with very big patio.
i would consider this hotel again for our future trip . over all all the staff were very nice, i loved there cappachino .
thanks so much to all

Room Tip: do not take APT 1, if you have a big family. if you have small kids then its fine .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank farzana11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012

We stayed at the Albergo Santa Chiara in Rome and the two best things about it was: (1) location and (2) Federica. The hotel is close to everything we were interested in seeing. We pretty much walked everywhere. However, if the hotel did not have Federica, our stay would have been miserable. Everyone else at the front reception desk didn't speak English very well and were not outwardly friendly. Federica was patient (we would ask questions daily), informative and was very accommodating. In fact, our first day there, she actually walked with us to show us where the post office was to change money. She was absolutely the best person in the hotel. We communicated with her prior to our stay in Rome and she made suggestions and arranged our tours, which turned out to be great. Even though the rate was quite expensive and our room small, you really are paying for the location. In our case, it was worth it with Federica there. The breakfast was mediocre.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LisaD41181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

This is a particularly valuable hotel, with different kinds of rooms ranging from the very tiny one to the largest. All are comfortable and quiet, even on street side (streets in Rome historic center have limited trafic). Rates aren't that high, considering the excellent location, between Panteon and Piazza Navona, and the good breakfast included. Staff members provide warm welcome and assistance.
When you get out in the morning, you are at walking distance of almost all the main touristic sites, including Colosseo, Piazza di Spagna and Vatican. Otherwise, good links with buses.
No restaurant.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beaver39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2012

The hotel is in a great location, in a very quiet street but close to all the touristic places a half block away to the Pantheon and waking distance to the trevi fountain, Spanish Steps, 15 minutes walking to the coliseum, awesome location difficult to beat. However this is not a luxurious hotel it is average, the rooms have the basic things, normal size room & bathroom, clean, just perfect to sleep & take a shower, the breakfast was ok & the staff was very helpful & friendly.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Adriana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Abruzzi
Hotel Abruzzi
#46 of 1,271 in Rome
1,023 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Albergo del Senato
Albergo del Senato
#10 of 1,271 in Rome
3,657 reviews
Colonna
Hotel Nazionale
Hotel Nazionale
#44 of 1,271 in Rome
1,584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Colonna
9 Hotel Cesari
9 Hotel Cesari
#109 of 1,271 in Rome
1,592 reviews
Colonna
Hotel Pantheon
Hotel Pantheon
#104 of 1,271 in Rome
678 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Albergo del Sole Al Pantheon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Albergo Santa Chiara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Albergo Santa Chiara

Address: Via di Santa Chiara 21, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
#111 Business Hotel in Rome
#137 Family Hotel in Rome
#184 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $143 - $347 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Albergo Santa Chiara 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Who we are The history of the Albergo Santa Chiara begins in 1939. At the first it was a "wine-shop" then changed into a small inn, enlarged in the following years, the 10 rooms of the first days have become now 96, distributed in 3 adjoining buildings. In one of them is located the Saint Catherine from Siena's Chapel. The old lobby, on the contrary, has become a theatre. You can't miss a short chat at one of the table of our open-air bar, quiet and private, that overlooks the Minerva Square. The most affectionate guests love the wide and classic styled rooms, younger prefers the modern and high-tech ones. The hotel service is impeccable, the rooms are very clean and the beds are extremely comfortable. You will find this is a friendly, relaxed hotel that will make you feel right at home. The hotel has been in the same family ownership for nearly a century. The ground floor hall has seen the proclamation of the Popular Party by Don Sturzo, the rooms have counted the steps of Noble prizes such as Amartya Sen, Franco Modigliani and clergy men later be became Popes, politicians then elected Republican President, philosophers, artists, writers from Fogazzaro to Sartre to Banana Yoshimoto. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Albergo Santa Chiara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Santa Chiara Rome
Albergo Santa Chiara Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing