We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Hotel”
Review of Hotel San Carlo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel San Carlo
Ranked #164 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Great Hotel”
Reviewed July 28, 2014

This hotel is an intimate hotel in a great location (a few blocks from the Spanish Steps and Metro station) with comfortable, modern rooms and truly outstanding service. The rooftop restaurant is wonderful for breakfast, and the outdoor cafes that line the streets near the hotel provide ample opportunities to dine and people watch. We will definitely stay here during our next visit to Rome.

Room Tip: Some rooms have tiny bathrooms; examine the room before checking in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

797 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    394
    304
    71
    19
    9
See reviews for
165
239
74
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2014

The San Carlo is one if the best hotels I've experienced outside of the US. The staff are warm, friendly, & genuine. They ate always available to offer their assistance with a smile.
The rooms, & hotel, overall, is spotless! You can eat off of the floors!
We stayed on the 4th floor across from the breakfast cafe. My breakfasts in Rome were unforgettable ... fresh fruit, ham, cheese, & their unforgettable polenta cake & cappuccino!!!!
The hotel is ideally located near shopping, historical sites, & the infamous Spanish Steps.
*This is The hotel to stay at while in Rome. I plan to return on the near future as I automatically consider this as my "home away from home" in magical, beautiful, & breath-taking Roma!!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GigiP123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Julian's, Malta
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2014

We stayed at this wonderful hotel - excellent location just a corner away from Piazza Spagna and the popular shopping district of Via del Corso. We were a family of five - we took two rooms and we were very comfortable. Rooms are all finished to very high standards, with a/c, very clean and free wifi. Continental breakfast was also excellent - fresh croissants, bread, hams, cheeses, yogurts, tea, coffee, juices and more! They also had gluten free food as one of us is coeliac. The staff were very professional and friendly - in particular Rosanna and Victoria. They go out of their way to make you feel at home away from your home! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CJDELICATA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Mississippi
Level Contributor
72 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2014

We were 2 single ladies staying 2 nights for a quick tour of Rome. We wanted a hotel that was safe & near the Spanish Steps, clean, air conditioning, good price, free breakfast & free wifi. We found all of this at Hotel San Carlo. The room with 2 twins was small but perfect for the 2 of us. The bathroom was much better than I expected. The shower was similar to mine at home & they had a hair dryer. That's important to 2 ladies. :) The breakfast was good, especially the granola & coffee. The elevator and/or lift would only fit 2 people without luggage but it was a fun European experience. No worries @ luggage, the bell boy took care of that for us. The carpet on the corridors was a little worn but the rooms had tile. I felt it was much cleaner with the tile in the rooms instead of old carpet. I had searched trip advisor for months looking for the perfect hotel for our needs. As usual, trip advisor was spot on. I would definitely stay here again if there are just 2-3 in my traveling party.

Room Tip: We were on the 4th floor near the breakfast area. I didn't see any other rooms for comparison bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2014

We spent four nights at this hotel and it was wonderful. The location is great ( very busy area although hotel on quiet street) and we found the room lovely, clean, quiet and the staff extremely warm and courteous. The breakfast on the rooftop each morning was terrific. The bathroom is a bit tight but beautiful. We were traveling with our teen-ager and our room had a main bedroom and a small alcove bedroom which was perfect for a family of three. I can highly recommend this hotel for families, couples or singles. Just a totally charming experience.

Room Tip: If you have a teen or one child, get the superior triple. It was perfect for us. Small alcove bedr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renton, Washington
Level Contributor
546 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 271 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2014

This place has some of the best staff I have ever encountered in any hotel (and I've stayed in The Peninsula in Tokyo, various Ritz-Carltons, and a smattering for Four Seasons). Dante is a gem and I hope the owners understand what they have in them. The rest of the staff is first-rate too. The double rooms were sizable. The rooftop breakfast area feels very garden-esque and has a great array of foods. Birds chirp and flight about amongst the floors; it is quite an oasis. The beds are super comfortable. The only "negative" in the rooms is the size of the showers--they are circular on one side and small enough that you need to watch your elbows as you shampoo your hair. But the shower does have shelves for women's feet as they shave their legs so that is nice. The hotel is within walking distance to most landmarks and shopping, great restaurants, and the subway (which I never used because it is more convenient to walk). I'd stay here again the next time I'm in Rome.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JLFERG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2014

WE spent 3 days at the Hotel San Carlo in May. The rooms were spacious, the staff helpful,
the breakfast expansive and situated on a pretty covered outdoor balcony. The location is excellent with very little street noise, metro (which we didn't use) close by, and easy walking distance to many sights.This is a tourist area and the restaurant prices reflect that identity. But
the area is also good for an evening stroll and there are options for those are are content to
eat standing up. If we are ever in Rome again we'd definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Palmira B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Colonna
Hotel Madrid
Hotel Madrid
#110 of 1,257 in Rome
829 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel Scalinata di Spagna
Hotel Scalinata di Spagna
#65 of 1,257 in Rome
355 reviews
Campo Marzio
Inn Spagna Charming House
Inn Spagna Charming House
#284 of 1,257 in Rome
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#95 of 1,257 in Rome
1,179 reviews
Campo Marzio
Mario de' Fiori 37
Mario de' Fiori 37
#24 of 1,257 in Rome
494 reviews
Campo Marzio
The Inn At The Spanish Steps
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Carlo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Carlo

Property: Hotel San Carlo
Address: Via delle Carrozze 92-93, 00187 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#101 Family Hotel in Rome
#125 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#208 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel San Carlo 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel San Carlo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Carlo Hotel
San Carlo Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing