We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Location Beside Spanish Steps”
Review of Hotel San Carlo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel San Carlo
Ranked #162 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
ireland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Brilliant Location Beside Spanish Steps”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

This is a great location for staying in Rome, less than 5 minutes walk to the Spanish Steps, right beside the main shopping street. The metro is about 5-8 minutes walk away which was very handy when we visited the Vatican. We had a very large room which had stairs which lead up to a loft are where it had two singe beds we also had a terrace. The air conditioning was excellent.The staff in the hotel were friendly and helpful giving us names of restaurant to eat in. Be aware the lift is very small will only fit two people will not carry luggage but there is a lovely porter who will do that. The breakfast was very poor by European standards there could have been boiled eggs, there was very little meats an breads and it got very busy very quickly and was a little cramped. The computer downstairs was a great addition and free wi fi in the bedrooms was a plus. The price was reasonable for a top European city with a great location

Room Tip: request a large room with a terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

789 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    390
    301
    70
    19
    9
See reviews for
164
236
72
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Quakertown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
78 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

This hotel is in a great spot...close to the Spanish Steps and just a 10 minute walk from the Trevi Fountain. Rooms were immaculate, bathroom a decent size and the staff very accommodating. Good restaurants nearby, breakfast was nice, more European than American, but when in Rome!!! I would recommend this hotel in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Charlene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa
Level Contributor
171 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

It's a quirky little hotel. The rooms are tiny for the most part. The owner sometimes is yelling at errant staff members, though he is very gracious to the guests. But he is more than made up for by the jack-of-all trades with the big, big smile who helps at breakfast, carries your bags for you, and is seemingly there 12 hours a day, 7 days a week. (Is his name Dante?).

I had a single bed for 120 a night. My daughter had a double for 165, with a somewhat larger room. The beds were comfortable, the tiny bathrooms were clean, and for the most part, they were incredibly quiet, though the hotel is in a busy neighborhood. The breakfast was very good with many choices. The clientele was from Italy and all over Europe as well as America. If you really want eggs you can order them for 8 Euros, but most customers expected what they got, a very good choice of food in the Continental tradition. The view from the rooftop breakfast deck was charming.

But the real reason to stay is the location, plus a price which is actually quite modest for the area.Very short walk to Spagna and the Metro. Easy to walk through the station to get to Via Veneto with the help of moving sidewalks.Charming streets near the hotel full of cafes and restaurants. A short walk to almost everywhere you want to see, and not very far from the Vatican even on foot.

I fell in love with the bar next door, Di Qua. Great wine, good drinks, a few good things to eat, and if you sit inside, you can see a slice of Roman life, and also catch up on the news, if you can read Italian at all.

If I were there with a family, I would especially like the hotel. What is the point of exposing your children only to big and expensive American-style hotels? It is true the neighborhood is chock full of expensive boutiques and well known stores, Pucci,Gucci, etc. But it maintains an honest charm.

Room Tip: On a weekend, avoid any room that faces the Via Della Carroze, as the bar across the street can be v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank srca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

We loved our stay at this hotel. The location was fantastic - very central. The rooms were fairly basic but had everything that we needed. We definitely recommend getting a room with a terrace - a real benefit to escape the hectic pace of Rome. The breakfast was fine, nothing special but sufficient. I would definitely stay in this hotel again.

Room Tip: A terrace is a plus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Had a pleasant 4 nights stay in this hotel. We were upgraded to a room with a terrace, room was clean, toliet newly renovated. Breakfast was located on the rooftop terrace, it is open air so can be slightly chilly in the mornings, bring a jacket along. The breakfast spread was adequate though some eggs would be nice.

Hotel staff were friendly and helpful. Booked this hotel because of the location, it was very near the Spanish Steps and the Spagna metro was just a 2 min walk from the hotel. We took the metro to the Vatican and Colosseum and walked to the Trevi Fountain, Pantheon, Piazza Navona, Piazza del Popolo and Piazza Venezia. Many restaurants nearby and shopping along Via Condotti, Via del Corso and Via del Babuino.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sugardrops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Easton, MA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Great hotel in in even better location. The hotel is perfect walking distance to everything! You are living amongst the Romans in this prime location hotel. Staff was amazing! They were extremely attentive and patient to 3 older women we were traveling with. Breakfast each morning on the roof terrace was very pleasant and a great bonus! The room on the small side but expected ton Rome. The marble floors were impeccable. Refrigerator, air conditioning, breakfast each morning and an elevator were all extras. It was everything I had expected and more.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed October 12, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for over one week on my first trip to Rome completed in late September. I went alone to the hotel and was treated very well by Victoria and Rosanna at the front desk who were both extremely nice and helpful throughout my stay in Rome. Victoria was kind enough to arrange a shared taxi at the end of my trip and she helped me out throughout my stay. The hotel is located in an EXCELLENT location near the Spanish steps and is a 10-15 minute walk to most sites in the city. Air conditioner worked well. I would glady recommend this hotel to a family member or friend. I believe if you stay here in Rome, you will be happy with your choice!

Room Tip: none to share
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rob l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Colonna
Hotel Madrid
Hotel Madrid
#111 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel Scalinata di Spagna
Hotel Scalinata di Spagna
#63 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#95 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
Mario de' Fiori 37
Mario de' Fiori 37
#23 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
Campo Marzio
Inn Spagna Charming House
Inn Spagna Charming House
#287 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel Manfredi Suite in Rome
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Carlo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Carlo

Property: Hotel San Carlo
Address: Via delle Carrozze 92-93, 00187 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#101 Family Hotel in Rome
#125 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#208 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel San Carlo 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel San Carlo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Carlo Hotel
San Carlo Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing