We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful end to a wonderful vacation!”
Review of Hotel San Carlo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel San Carlo
Ranked #188 of 1,272 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Stayed here just one night at the end of our Italian vacation. Beautiful hotel with technological upgrades. Air conditioning was FABULOUS after 12 days without it. We had to leave before breakfast, so didn't get to try it, but the service was excellent. Got a great recommendation for a great restaurant (Otello alla Concordia) just around the corner.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kjones10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (829)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

253 - 259 of 829 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2012

Stayed at the San Carlo for 2 nights July, 2012. Was a bit surprised when the taxi dropped us at the end of the street and we had to walk to the front door but at night there are tables out on the street so it was too tight to fit a car also. There were 2 of us but for some reason we got a huge room for 4 with a loft and a large patio for the same price. Perfect room for a family. Well appointed, clean and the staff were all friendly and helpful. The Spanish Steps are just down the street and we found this location ideal, being within walking distance of several other sites. They also booked a Vatican tour for us. All good, I highy recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dragon_bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Unbelievable hospitality, location, cleanliness, food +++. Travelling with 2 couples and 2 teenage girls, we began our 16 day vacation with a 3 night stay at this lovely hotel upon the recommendation of our neighbours. The San Carlo stood out as an absolute gem on our holiday for all the reasons previously noted. We were greeted warmly at this family owned and operated hotel and were pleasantly surprised with our rooms. The complimentary breakfast was a lovely way to begin our day with plenty of yummy options and delicious coffee, made to order! Ideally located within a couple blocks of the Spanish Steps we thoroughly enjoyed walking to the Vatican, The Borgese Gallery, The Pantheon, The Trevi Fountain, fantastic shopping and much more. We ate several times at the restaurant to the right of the front door and loved it every time. The hotel staff were so helpful recommending the Roma pass and they put us in touch with Giani - a wonderful animated, English speaking driver who met us at the airport and then on day 4 whisked us away to Florence. We would highly reccommend this hotel without reservation & can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: We stayed close to the breakfast room and loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CHAPMANS4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

The hotel is in the center of Rome, near Piazza di Spagna, Via del corso, Fontana di Trevi. I stayed a couple of days. Its very confortable.....excellent service and the roof garden is very very pretty! Filippo

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Filippo145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Great hotel in a lovely area within walking distance of most sights & 2 mins from the metro to access other sights. Clean nice room, great staff, nice breakfast. What more do you want?

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marayd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

We stayed for four nights and found the staff to be excellent and the free breakfast quite good. The room was clean and adequately sized..The location was very good as we were able to walk to "ancient Rome" and the Vatican. The restaurant directly across the street was good and there is higher quality one just around the corner. We had an excellent experience and recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abracadabra_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

We stayed here for 3 night at the end of May. The location can not be beat- 2 blocks from the Spanish steps; around the corner from great shopping. You can walk everywhere from the hotel. The hotel is located on a quaint street. There are restaurants literally across the street, around the corner. We are a family of 4. My hisband and my 2 kids ( 19 & 22),, We were lucky to find this hotel with the room we had. The room had a queen size bed, large bathroom and a loft with 2 single beds. It was perfect - much more economical than 2 rooms. We also had a large rooftop terrace located next to the terrace breakfast area. Our terrace was surrounded by flowers and plants so it was very private. The room was very clean, the breakfast was adequate and the staff was very helpful. We would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1critic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Colonna
Hotel Madrid
Hotel Madrid
#106 of 1,272 in Rome
886 reviews
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#101 of 1,272 in Rome
1,266 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel Piazza di Spagna
Hotel Piazza di Spagna
#408 of 1,272 in Rome
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
Hotel Scalinata di Spagna
Hotel Scalinata di Spagna
#58 of 1,272 in Rome
472 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Portoghesi
Hotel Portoghesi
#117 of 1,272 in Rome
527 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel Manfredi Suite in Rome
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Carlo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Carlo

Address: Via delle Carrozze 92-93, 00187 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#72 Family Hotel in Rome
#125 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#208 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $120 - $316 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel San Carlo 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel San Carlo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Carlo Hotel
San Carlo Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing