We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Hotel Romae, the place to be!"” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Yellow Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Yellow Hotel
Ranked #411 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Delfgauw
1 review
“"Hotel Romae, the place to be!"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

Because of the Marathon of Rome we stayed for 3 nights in Hotel Romae. We were very happy we had chosen for this hotel. The location, nearby the Metro Station, was good and the room was clean. Big stars of of the hotel : the staff ! How nice, friendly and helpful they are ! Many thanks especially to Anca. For sure we will come back .

To all viewers we can recommend Hotel Romae !

Greetings form Holland.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Erik W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark O, Front Office Manager at The Yellow Hotel, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Dear guest, thank you for your review and your recommendation.
We are pleased you enjoyed your time with us during the Rome marathon and I'm sure Anca appreciates your comments.
We look forward to seeing you when you come back.
Kind regards,
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

673 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    264
    290
    84
    22
    13
See reviews for
129
236
76
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Brunswick, Canada
Level Contributor
78 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

We chose this place based on TripAdvisor reviews and were not disappointed. It was easy to find, close to the train station, and within walking distance of most of Rome's major attractions. It is not your standard hotel room, but that is part of the charm. It was clean and comfortable and the rooms were spacious. The wi-fi worked well, and they even loaned us an i-pad because their public computer was not working. I would highly recommend this place when visiting this fascinating city

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jayemwright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark O, Front Office Manager at The Yellow Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear guest, thank you for your review, great ratings and comments.
The way things are today with the worldwideweb the recommendations and suggestions from other travellers is definitely a big help when choosing a hotel or restaurant et cetera. So it is so much more important nowadays that we do our very best to make our guest's stay as comfortable and satisfying as possible.
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

This hotel is situated near termini and Castro Pretorio Metro Station. The room was clean, the bed was very large, we didn't have breakfast so i can't tell you how it is. It also has free WiFi. We had free mini bar because of the way we reserved the tickets (from their website). In the lobby you can make yourself a tea , drink some juice...We got a free map with Rome that was very hellpful. Thank you for being a part of a very beautiful jorney

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Cornel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark O, Front Office Manager at The Yellow Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear guest, thank you for your review and great rating. The breakfast is not included with the reservation but we do reccomend the trattoria "Mamma Angela's" located just beside us, they now serve breakfast everyday ranging from 7.50 Euro for a continental breakfast to 15.00 Euro for a steak breakfast. We're gald you enjoyed our other services, the wi-fi and complimentary tea and coffee in the lobby. Once again thank you and we are pleased that we were a part of your beautiful journey.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qrendi, Malta
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

I think its one of the best hotels/hostels ive been at! They give you free fruit on your first day, downstairs there is a coffee bar where you can refill as much as youlike for free..we had a tv in our room..a mini bar (for which you pay if you use) an ensuite..and all this for €25 a day! It was also prettily decorated inside, and the staff were ok, not cheerfull but neither arrogant. I would retun to this plae :)

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlene84_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark O, Front Office Manager at The Yellow Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear guest, thank you for your very kind comments and excellent ratings. We are glad you enjoyed the complimentary fruit upon arrival and the free tea and coffee in our lobby, the contents of the mini bar are also free for the guests that reserve directly from our website, regarding the price, obviously 25 Euro is a VERY good deal and only a winter time VERY special offer.
We hope you can return and look forward to seeing you again.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

Romae is a place which reminds me a bit of an old, refurbished building I used to live in a long time ago. Arrived by plane at FCO and took the shuttle bus to Termini Rome.

About a 7min walk from there to hotel. Short walk up to reception. Then a very small lift to other floors.

Clean and could tell it was recently freshened up with new paint, fixtures, and amenities. Shower stall a bit small but ok

No breakfast offered or served. Free coffee tea though.

Staff okay. No major problems. Bed decent. After a long day of walking, slept like the dead so couldn't offer a review of hard or soft etc. it's subjective anyways yah?

Paid150e for three nights.

All in all, good value and would return.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chongers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark O, Front Office Manager at The Yellow Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear guest, Thank you for your brisk and to the point comments regarding your time with us, I'm sure they will be useful to a lot of people.
If you do manage to return we look forward to seeing you.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

It's located in the "hotel district", near the train terminal, where there are dozens of hotels in this area. The service was good, room was clean and very spacious. We had 3 single beds in our room and judging by the space I would say there was room for at least 3 more single beds. Wi-fi was free but breakfast was not included; however, there were free coffee/tea/orange juice/fruits. There was a mini-bar in the room.

You can find many restaurants within walking distance of the hotel. The "lift" is very tiny, and they suggest a max load of 2 persons or 1 person and 1 luggage. If you are a big group with lots of luggages, be aware.

For the price and what we received in return, it's a great bargain. We were very happy.

For the room, you can pay with credit card. For the $2 EURO city tax per night per person , you have to pay in cash.

The front-desk spoke good English and was very friendly.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hao H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark O, Front Office Manager at The Yellow Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear guest, thank you and we appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts with other travellers about your stay with us. The lift / elevator is quite small as are many in Europe due to a lot of the buildings being built before the introduction of the modern lift / elevator. That said, we are glad you had a "wonderful experience" and "were very happy".*
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

stayed for 1 night only, at the end of december. it was low season so we paid 35e for 1 double room for 2 adults for 1 night, including free minibar. Cannot fault anything. Room was big and clean, very comfortable bed. Room looked a bit old, but recently freshened up. Location is ok, near the termini train station (5 minutes walk), yet in a quite safe and peaceful area. Overall lovely hotel, and free coffe tea and juice was a plus. No breakfast was available at the hotel, but there were lots of bars nearby. Only small negative, tv was a bit too small.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 31gs1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark O, Front Office Manager at The Yellow Hotel, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Daer guest, thank you for your review, next time hopefully you will be able to stay more than 1 night. Although you don't have breakfast included we can and do recommend the trattoria Mamma Angela's, located right beside us and which has recently opened for breakfast (including good old bacon and eggs), and our guests can also have the breakfast bill added to their room bill. We are looking in to changing the TV's and will hopefully soon have some nice new larger flat screen TV's.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Corallo
Hotel Corallo
#719 of 1,292 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Residence Santa Rosa
#1,116 of 1,292 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Cressy
Hotel Cressy
#900 of 1,292 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
The Yellow
The Yellow
#20 of 1,067 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,232 reviews
Esquilino
Alessandro Palace Hostel
Alessandro Palace Hostel
#33 of 1,067 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
Prati
Comics guesthouse
Comics guesthouse
#145 of 3,734 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Yellow Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Yellow Hotel

Property: The Yellow Hotel
Address: Via Palestro 49, 00185 Rome, Italy (Formerly Hotel Romae)
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#262 Family Hotel in Rome
#324 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Yellow Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Yellow Hotel, is a bustling and vibrant youth accommodation in the centre of Rome. Just a ten minute walk from Rome's main metro / train station, you will find yourself easily connected to all the wonders of this famous city. You can book private rooms for two, three, four and even six people! Reception is open 24 hours, so no matter the time, you can check in, request free printing or tourist information about Rome, Italy and the world! International staff means, each staff member can offer unique information and contribute to your holiday. To stay in our dorms, you must be over 18 and under 40. Anyone under 17 must have a written permission slip from their parent or guardian. No fakies! The hotel features two restaurants and a bar open everyday from 7:30am to 4am where you can cure the hangover at breakfast or lunch (holidays are for sleep ins ;) and then do it again at the bar with DJ's every night and special events every week, from burlesque shows to beer pong tournaments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your The Yellow Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Romae Hotel Rome
Hotel Romae

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing