We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Hotel Abruzzi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Abruzzi
Ranked #45 of 1,272 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 12, 2010

Great location! They gave us a nice room with a small balconey overlooking the square and with a view of the Pantheon to the left. Hotel close to taxi stand, supermarket, restaurants, other major sites, and Tazza d'Oro (Rick Steves recommended as best coffee place). The only negative was that the air conditioning didn't seem to be cool enough (it only went as low as 16 degrees celsius but didn't feel like it was cold) and the bed wasn't too comfortable.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cynthia951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,054)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

823 - 829 of 1,054 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2010

We stayed three nights here and loved it. We felt safe, and the front desk was very helpful. There is no bellman, but there is a lift. Ask for a room with a Pantheon view. A simple breakfast was included at the restaurant across the piazza, looking at the Pantheon.
The only problem was an air conditioner that was sometimes noisy.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jetlagged5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2010

My wife and I stayed in Rome at the end of our two week trip and had just left the beautiful Sorrento. The Hotel Abruzzi was larger than our first two hotels on the vacation but was not big by any comparison. I had read that the hotel rooms here were tiny. I didn't find that but they were not large. The bathroom was spacious though but little counter space.

One of the main reasons to stay here is 1.) it is close to about everything. 20 minute walk to Coliseum, 10 minutes to Trevi Fountain, 30 minutes to Vatican and 2.) when you open your window you are staring directly at the Pantheon. Unfortunately for us, half of the Pantheon was under restoration but lucky for us, when we opened our window we weren't able to see the scaffolding.

The power went out for about an hour while there but staff was courteous and made sure we were comfortable. Instead of waiting around we just walked around the city

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank madhatr00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2010

We recently spent 6 nights in Rome at the Albergo Abruzzi hotel and it couldn't have been a more pleasant experience. The hotel couldn't be in a better location directly across from the Pantheon!! And since its on a corner I think a lot of its rooms have great views- our room looked out on the piazza and the Pantheon and each night various street musicians would strike up song outside our windows- and we could enjoy the excitement of the piazza from the comfort of our room. The staff was VERY pleasant and very efficient. They always greeted you with a pleasant hello and were onsite nearly 24 hours a day to meet our needs. Breakfast is served free at an outside cafe across the square from the Pantheon- Internet was only 10 euros for 24 hours of use which lasted me the entire week (you could buy less but for 10 euros I liked feeling it was limitless). The only downside is the hotel is not near the Metro- however, after a couple of days we figured a very efficient way to walk to the Spango Spanish Steps metro line and it became easy to jump on the subway. An easier way when you're first there is get on at the Colosseum and you realize its pretty easy to find your way to the hotel from that area as well. But the charm of Pantheon area was worth the walk to the metro. Don't let the outside of the hotel freak you out- its just in a very very very old square- inside its very nice and modern. I thought the old world Italian charm of the outside was pretty cool

Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
1  Thank TimboCedarFalls_IA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2010

This hotel is a traditional gem... located directly opposite the Patheon on the busling square, it has fabulous views overlooking the square which is always buzzing!
The rooms are simple, but clean and very comfortable.
There is no lift, so be aware if you're planning to take loads of luggage!
Breakfast is served in the cafe across the square and is very basic, with pastry and coffee.
We were there when Julia Roberts and Clive Owen we filming Duplicity in the square.
Excellent little hotel, full of charm and character in the most fabulous location. We will definitely return

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holidayseeker2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Quarto no prédio da recepção
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tassiana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abruzzi, Receptionist at Hotel Abruzzi, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Veja em qual dos prédios fica o quarto a ser reservado
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank alcione_hulse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abruzzi, Receptionist at Hotel Abruzzi, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Albergo del Senato
Albergo del Senato
#9 of 1,272 in Rome
3,698 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Palazzo Navona Hotel
Palazzo Navona Hotel
#31 of 1,272 in Rome
851 reviews
Trevi
Relais Trevi 95 Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Colonna
Hotel Nazionale
Hotel Nazionale
#50 of 1,272 in Rome
1,632 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Residenza Argentina
Residenza Argentina
#32 of 1,272 in Rome
776 reviews
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#104 of 1,272 in Rome
1,243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Abruzzi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Abruzzi

Address: Piazza della Rotonda 69, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#43 Family Hotel in Rome
#109 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $128 - $367 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Abruzzi 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nothing says Rome like this view! Open your window at Albergo Abruzzi and you are greeted by one of Rome’s most famous landmarks, the Pantheon.Set in the heart of the historic centre, this hotel is ideal for those of you who really want to get a feel of Rome. The historic building is typical of those found in this area. It now features modern facilities, including Wi-Fi access throughout.Breakfast is an American buffet and is served in a local bar.The friendly team of staff at Albergo Abruzzi are always on hand to provide helpful tips and tourist information. This fantastic location means you are just a short stroll away from Piazza Navona and the exclusive shopping area around the Spanish Steps. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, getaroom.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Abruzzi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abruzzi Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing