We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Why stay anywhere else in Rome?”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Abruzzi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Abruzzi
Ranked #52 of 1,290 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Why stay anywhere else in Rome?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013

Pantheon - temple for all gods - gives a special feeling of wonder and respect for all visitors. The new staffage from the Christian time does't manage to destroy the power of this building. That's why rather small rooms and limited "luxory" means nothing in this hotel. The first afternoon I was confused of the noise from piazza - when I leaved one week later I just needed the music, the speaches, the life going outside. And - it was quiet duribg night. But I went in december - dont't know how it is in top season. The breakfast in restaurant across the piazza was good - bacon and scrambled eggs and everything you needed. Tip: ask for cappuchino. It's excellent. I fell for the facade of Abruzzi 6 years ago, with it's beautiful yellow color - the inside was functional and what you need - small rooms but I was alone and suppose they have different sizes. Try it - and fall in love. ...

Room Tip: Ask for view to Pantheon - of course
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bjørn Casper H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

926 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    589
    248
    56
    24
    9
See reviews for
219
471
59
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
124 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2013

This boutique hotel faces the Pantheon. Surrounded by charming cafes, restaurants and shops, the location is perfect. It is within walking distance of most of Rome's major sites from Piazza Navona, to Trevi Fountain and Spanish Steps and the coliseum.
Having said all that, the rooms are small, though well appointed. There is no sitting area in the lobby. The elevator was not working all the time we were there and we had to climb 4 flights of narrow stairs every time we came back. The staff did transport our luggage both ways. The bathroom in contrast was of a very decent size with a great hot shower.
The breakfast is served in a nearby café.
The staff is extremely friendly and helpful.
Overall a great value considering the location.

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the Pantheon for unforgettable views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boone, North Carolina
Level Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

We checked into the Hotel Abruzzi for one night, November 17, 2013. We had the two-bedroom suite on the 5th floor which had recently been renovated. We got to the hotel early and left our bags and headed out to see some of the nearby sights while we awaited the arrival of our friend into Rome. First noticeable thing was that there is no grand hotel lobby. It's just a check-in desk when you walk into the front entrance. There is a little social room on the next level up. This in no way detracted from our stay there, as I had booked this hotel for the location and the views of the Pantheon.

When we returned to the hotel after our walk, the room was ready and they had delivered the luggage to our room. The room was spacious enough and tastefully decorated. The views through the two windows looking onto the Pantheon were breathtaking. The bed was comfortable and we did not hear any noise below with the windows closed.

The next morning, the elevator was not working so we had to lug our bags down to the ground level, but the front desk attendant said he would have helped us if we had asked. I didn't want to bother them with that, so we did it ourselves. Breakfast across the square was very good, with ample choices.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jdljr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

We spent three nights at the Hotel Abruzzi the beginning of November 2013. We had specified a room facing the Pantheon when we made the reservation. However, the room we got was so small there was no room for our luggage. They offered to move us to a larger room, but it would have a view of the fountain in the piazza instead of the direct Pantheon view. The fountain view turned out to be a much better view because you had a view of the entire piazza and still had a view of the Pantheon. The room itself was perfectly adequate. So, if you plan on staying at this hotel, I recommend specifying a fountain view. The people watching is great. Noise wasn't a problem; the windows did a good job of shutting it our.
The location can't be beat; it's an easy walk to so many sights. There are also many restaurants and gelato shops within a five minute walk of the hotel. Of the gelatos we tried, our favorite was Montefiore, almost diagonally across the piazza from the hotel, along the west side of the Pantheon. Compared to other hotels we have stayed in Italy, we found the breakfast to be average.
By the way, the hotel is in the process of renovating all its rooms. They have started at the top floor and are working their way down. They had not yet reached our floor.

Room Tip: Ask for a fountain view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank uskatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

We walked everywhere, great location in the center of all tourist attractions. I opened my window and I was looking at the Pantheon. Small room but very clean and good service. Would stay again. Good restaurants and friendly people. Also, good stores to buy souveniers. Breakfast buffet is included and was excellent, it was located at a restaurant across hotel with view to the Pantheon.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nancyfrommiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

My wife and I visited Italy October 2013 to Celebrate our Wedding Anniversary and we stayed at the Hotel Abruzzi for a total of 6 nights; 5 consecutive nights and 1 night at the end of our trip in Italy so that we could fly out of Rome back home. The Hotel Abruzzi is located in the Heart of Rome, the Piazza della Rotonda, across from one of the most spectacular buildings in the history of Ancient Rome, the Pantheon.

The Hotel Abruzzi is also located walking distance to anything and everything that you would want to see in this Great City. Our room was equipped with everything that we needed for a very comfortable and very memorable stay. We requested a room while making our reservations that overlooked the Piazza and the Pantheon; this is a must! It is so much fun after a long day of sightseeing to be able to just look out the window in the evening and watch people enjoying themselves in the Piazza before heading out ourselves for a Fantastic evening in Rome!

We want to give a special Thank You to the entire staff at the Hotel Abruzzi. Antonio, Valentina, Simone, Azam and the entire staff, are very friendly, knowledgeable and extremely helpful! They were a pleasure to meet.

We will definitely be back! JC and JJC

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JCandJJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

Our travel agent found Hotel Abruzzi for us - it was a perfect start for our two week European vacation last December. Our two rooms were on the top floor with a perfect view overlooking the Pantheon. Included with the basics were complimentary continental breakfasts at a warm cafe adjacent to the square with fantastic expresso which got us off to a great start every morning (everyone there says it's the local water that makes the food and coffee so great). The Trevi fountain and many other sites were within easy walking distance; the Vatican and Coliseum were just a quick 10 Euro taxi trip away. The concierge always eager to help finding me close by camera store where I could buy a charging cable for my Nikon Coolpix camera (I accidentally left mine at home). When I return to Rome - and I will - I will be staying at Hotel Abruzzi once more.

Room Tip: Try to book a room with a view of the Pantheon!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrFrank22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Palazzo Navona Hotel
Palazzo Navona Hotel
#33 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Albergo del Senato
Albergo del Senato
#10 of 1,290 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,423 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Colonna
Hotel Nazionale
Hotel Nazionale
#46 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,449 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Martis Palace
Hotel Martis Palace
#6 of 1,290 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Residenza Argentina
Residenza Argentina
#26 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Abruzzi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Abruzzi

Property: Hotel Abruzzi
Address: Piazza della Rotonda 69 | Roma, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#53 Family Hotel in Rome
#109 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Abruzzi 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nothing says Rome like this view! Open your window at Albergo Abruzzi and you are greeted by one of Rome’s most famous landmarks, the Pantheon.Set in the heart of the historic centre, this hotel is ideal for those of you who really want to get a feel of Rome. The historic building is typical of those found in this area. It now features modern facilities, including Wi-Fi access throughout.Breakfast is an American buffet and is served in a local bar.The friendly team of staff at Albergo Abruzzi are always on hand to provide helpful tips and tourist information. This fantastic location means you are just a short stroll away from Piazza Navona and the exclusive shopping area around the Spanish Steps. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Abruzzi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abruzzi Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing