We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect location, great price at a three star Rome Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Abruzzi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Abruzzi
Ranked #53 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect location, great price at a three star Rome Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

Our travel agent found Hotel Abruzzi for us - it was a perfect start for our two week European vacation last December. Our two rooms were on the top floor with a perfect view overlooking the Pantheon. Included with the basics were complimentary continental breakfasts at a warm cafe adjacent to the square with fantastic expresso which got us off to a great start every morning (everyone there says it's the local water that makes the food and coffee so great). The Trevi fountain and many other sites were within easy walking distance; the Vatican and Coliseum were just a quick 10 Euro taxi trip away. The concierge always eager to help finding me close by camera store where I could buy a charging cable for my Nikon Coolpix camera (I accidentally left mine at home). When I return to Rome - and I will - I will be staying at Hotel Abruzzi once more.

Room Tip: Try to book a room with a view of the Pantheon!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DrFrank22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

909 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    579
    243
    55
    23
    9
See reviews for
211
464
59
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

This hotel is in the heart of Rome, next to the Pantheon, perfect area for dining and shopping. Walking distance to ever major tourist sight in Rome. ?Hotel was comfortable, clear and modern. Which belies the picturesque exterior of the Hotel. I would defiantly return.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank James O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Abruzzi for 4 nights in late August into early September, 2013, as we started our 17 day holiday in Italy. It was an excellent lodging experience and our room had an amazing view of the Pantheon. Given the size of the room and its central location, the hotel offers great value. The staff were very welcoming and efficient, both before our stay when booking our room and making car service arrangements for airport pick-up, as well as during our time there. They also made several excellent recommendations for dinner (absolutely love Santa Lucia near the Piazza Navona). Breakfast every morning right on the Piazza della Rotunda was ample and a wonderful way to start every day. We will definitely stay here again for any future visit to Rome and will recommend it to friends and family.

Room Tip: Make sure to get a room with a view of the Pantheon. You will not be disappointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JNOTS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

This was our first stop after the long flight from Australia, the staff were friendly and efficient and showed us to our room which was generous in size (for European hotels) with an unbeatable view of the Pantheon. We spent four nights in early September and found the location and atmosphere hard to beat. After spending the day sightseeing, we returned to the hotel in the afternoon for a rest.The double glazing is very effective in blocking out noise from the Piazza. Sometimes we left the window open to enjoy music from buskers and spy on the crowds of tourists in the piazza. The best time of day was morning and enjoying breakfast at the café with the Pantheon to ourselves. Hint for sleeping-even though the double glazing is very good, pack some ear plugs if you are a light sleeper. The Piazza is a no traffic zone, however council workers are busy in the early hours keeping the area spotless.

Room Tip: Request Pantheon view room in main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michelle N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

Hotel was excellent in every area. Staff was extremely knowledgeable and very helpful. Location of the Hotel could not have been better. Easy walking distance to all you want to see. Breakfast cafe next door included in cost of Hotel was outstanding. Dollar for dollar you cannot get a better
"Center City Rome" Hotel deal.

Room Tip: Room on the plaza is the way to go. You get to stare at the Pantheon and listen to various minstrel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rubberduck12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

The rooms were a little cramped but you can't get a better deal for the price and the location. The hotel was in the heart of Rome, directly across from the Pantheon. Rome is a very walkable city unless you're unable to walk a few miles comfortably. If you can walk a few miles, you can walk anywhere in Rome from this hotel. The staff was friendly, curteous, helpful and remembered us each time we came or went. Breakfast was nice too. Just remember, it's not a Hilton or Ritz and if you're the kind of person that likes that kind of hotel, don't stay here. This is the kind of hotel that an 'on the go' person would love - one that gives you value for the money. In a great location and to just use as a place to sleep and shower.

Room Tip: Not sure why I have to rate a fitness center and swimming pool when there wasn't one. Get a stan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GaryKPSU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, UK
Level Contributor
426 reviews
165 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 314 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

I've visited Rome many times and this hotel has an unbeatable location at the Pantheon within easy reach of ALL major tourist sights. The hotel itself offers excellent value, and I've stayed in many hotels in the area (from 5 stars to 2 stars) and I think in terms of value versus quality this is an excellent choice.

Rooms vary in size. We had 2 rooms. One double room was pretty small but good enough and the twin was quite a bit bigger. Request a Pantheon View - its worth it, and the double glazing meant no noise from the street. Great aircon and a couple of english channels (BBC News and CNN). Free fast wi-fi and a basic breakfast in local cafe was a nice bonus.

My only gripe was the lift started on the 1st floor, and this isn't made clear. I'd deliberately checked they had a lift as my mother has mobility issues. You have to climb one and a half flights of stairs to get to the lift, which for us was fine but for my mother wasn't. So, if you have mobility issues you may want to try elsewhere. They should make this clearer on the website.

In addition, some basic maintainance would make the clean and comfortable rooms even better. In our case the door handle to bathroom was hanging off. Sealant around basins/shower was falling off and shower door was impossible to use.

Overall this hotel is in a unbeatable location and offers suburb value for money in an area surrounded by hotels that charge the earth and deliver little. A good mid range choice.

Room Tip: Get a view of the Pantheon
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JUDITHbristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Palazzo Navona Hotel
Palazzo Navona Hotel
#32 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
Colonna
Albergo del Senato
Albergo del Senato
#9 of 1,291 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,384 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Colonna
Hotel Nazionale
Hotel Nazionale
#44 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,393 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Martis Palace
Hotel Martis Palace
#6 of 1,291 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Residenza Argentina
Residenza Argentina
#24 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Abruzzi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Abruzzi

Property: Hotel Abruzzi
Address: Piazza della Rotonda 69, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Colonna , Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#53 Family Hotel in Rome
#109 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Abruzzi 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nothing says Rome like this view! Open your window at Albergo Abruzzi and you are greeted by one of Rome’s most famous landmarks, the Pantheon.Set in the heart of the historic centre, this hotel is ideal for those of you who really want to get a feel of Rome. The historic building is typical of those found in this area. It now features modern facilities, including Wi-Fi access throughout.Breakfast is an American buffet and is served in a local bar.The friendly team of staff at Albergo Abruzzi are always on hand to provide helpful tips and tourist information. This fantastic location means you are just a short stroll away from Piazza Navona and the exclusive shopping area around the Spanish Steps. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Abruzzi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abruzzi Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing