We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great and close to everything”
Review of Hotel Abruzzi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Abruzzi
Ranked #44 of 1,272 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Abruzzi for two nights in January 2013. The hotel is located a few steps from the Pantheon and is therefore in the heart of Rome. You can reach all attractions in downtown Rome on foot in just a few minutes (Piazza Navona, Fontana di Trevi, Campo de' Fiori, etc.).

The staff was very friendly. Our room was located on the fourth floor with view on the Pantheon. As everywhere in Rome, rooms are quite small, but have been recently renovated and offer all comforts necessary for a short stay. They are spotless clean, too. As others have said, the elevator starts only from the first floor but this was not a problem at all since we are used to walking up and down the stairs.

The breakfast is offered at the bar "Scusate il Ritardo" (Italian for "Sorry for being late") across the Piazza della Rotonda. It was one of the best breakfasts we had in Italy. The buffet includes hot and cold items, fruit juice, water, american coffee, etc. Upon request, you can get a freshly brewed expresso or cappuccino.

All in all, this hotel was the best I experienced in my six visits to Rome and would suggest it to everyone.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main building with Pantheon view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GioVale20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,063)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

597 - 603 of 1,063 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2013

We booked this hotel after reading the great reviews on Tripadvisor and we weren't dissapointed. We were expecting a very small room, but the room was actually quite spacious considering you are in the middle of Rome. There was enough space for a writing desk, tv, fridge and wardrobe. It also had a small safe. The interior decorating of the rooms isn't very modern, but it has a nice charm about it. The bathroom was a good size too, but the shower itself was quite small. The water pressure was very good though. The room was very clean and it was cleaned every day of our stay. We also got fresh towels each day.

The location is absolutely brilliant. It's very central so we were able to walk everything. Even the Vatican is only about a 20 minute walk. If you want to venture further outside the city centre there is also a taxi stand to the righ of the Pantheon, so it's easy to grab a cab. The fixed rate to the airport is 48 euro.

We had free Wifi because we booked on the hotel website. It worked fine, the only downside is that you get logged off after a few minutes (when you aren't online). You have to re-enter the pasword each time you want to go online.

Breakfast was quite nice and is done at a cafe on the same plaza.

One of the best things of the hotel was the friendly staff. They were very helpfull answering questions, giving us directions and pointing us to nice restaurants. They even called to make reservations for the Borghese Gallery for us.

One thing to keep in mind is that the lift starts from the 1st floor, so you do have to climb the stairs to the first floor each time. For us it wasn't an issue.

Room Tip: Book a room with a Pantheon view on the website of the hotel. They offer various discounts if you bo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kim v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Stayed at the Hotel Abruzzi three times now with family and latest time solo and you just can't beat the location or the value for money. Six nights (Dec 20 - 26) at a total cost of a little over 600 Euro for a double room, always specify Pantheon view, and a single breakfast included is unbelievable as you walk out the door into history around every corner. Book on their website to take advantage of any discounts and free wi fi (http://www.hotelabruzzi.it). Right in the heart of the centro storico you can walk to the major sights along cobbled lanes and soak up the magic of Rome. Don't be disappointed that the rooms aren't palatial; the building itself is woven into the fabric of the surrounding area and the passage of time. The rooms are clean and comfortable, the hotel staff are friendly and helpful and the breakfast at the neighbouring restaurant has everything you could need and what better way to start the day than by sitting at a table commanding an uninterrupted and uncrowded view of the piazza and the Pantheon. The Hotel Abruzzi is a gem and the loyal staff are an integral part of the professional package that the hotel provides every time.

Room Tip: Pay a little more for Pantheon view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank MarkKingscliff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

A friend and I stayed in the older part of the hotel in May 2012 for 3 nights. Their driver was ready for us at the airport to take us directly to the hotel. A wonderful part of town to be in! Great base for a day of walking. Buffet breakfast was good, could have had a bit more communication from the staff about options though as there never seemed to be anyone servicing the room. Wifi was not included and a bit hit and miss for the whole stay, but that is quite common throughout Italy. Staff were friendly and were open to questions. Room was dated, worn and small, but the bathroom had been rennovated, was clean and just fine for one person. Tiny shower, but again, that is not uncommon throughout Italy. Unfortunately I was facing the back where the hvac system could be heard all night. Bring ear plugs if this type of noise bothers you. Would certainly stay here again if the rate was right.

Room Tip: The newer section appeared to be very lovely. Older section is quite dated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank littletyme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

This is my third time in Albergo Abruzzi in Rome, this year.
The service is perfect, the people who works there are super polite and attention.
Antonio, Valentina, Sandro ... all... sorry i forgive the name of another so kind like thise ones.
You can reserve a drive to pick up a airport to the hotel, all information you need they help you on the desk, always smiling.
The locate of Albergo Abruzzi is simply the best in Rome, in front of the Pantheon, this is means, 5 minutes by walk to Fontana di Trevi and another 5 minutes by walk to Piazza Navona.
Like this way i plan come back at 2013 too.
So good, so nice !
Thank you all staff of Albergo Abruzzi you are 10 !!!
Patricia Novoa

Room Tip: If you are travelling with family or friend has one duble room at 4 floor like an appartment, i stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Patricia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

The staff there was amazing. They were so helpful. They arranged transportation and printed emails and tickets for me. They were also helpful on suggesting places to eat. I was amazed at the flowers and champagne in the room for our honeymoon. It is right in front of the Pantheon. what a view! I will 100% recommend this hotel to all that stay in Rome.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ebloom2201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

We were originally booked here for 5 nights as Albergo Del Senato was fully booked.

We thought that the high trip advisor ranking meant the hotel was good but that was not the case.

First, the location is amazing. Be warned though that the lift does not start from the ground floor!

The room was tiny with bed sheets that looked like they were as old as the Pantheon! The fittings in the bathroom were even older. The room was so small which annoyed as no end as the price we paid per night was close to 400 Euros!!!!!!

Breakfast is provided at a restaurant across the square - it was less than basic!! Why even bother!!!

The most frustrating part is that the hotels website implies the opposite - large rooms, generous breakfast, big TV which is NOT the case.

We were so happy to finally get a room at Albergo Del Senato and checked out after one nght!!

We won't be back!

Room Tip: Avoid the hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sydney1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abruzzi, Direttore at Hotel Abruzzi, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2012

Dear Guest,

reading your review I ask myself the exact contrary of what you have written as your title, “Location is great but not the hotel!! Avoid!”, and this is,
“How can someone say what you have stated while 304 other guests have stated the contrary?!” I would also like to highlight that if 304 have stated the contrary in reality the statistic is a lot higher since we all know that not all like to or have the time to write reviews. Didn’t a doubt of what you were thinking come to mind?

I would just like to close with the fact that you say, “website implies the opposite - large rooms, generous breakfast, big TV which is NOT the case”. I can only say that the pictures on our website represent the actual hotel just as stated by other guests that have stayed with us and we have even had guests that stated on Tripadvisor that the pictures don’t represent even 50% of the actual beauty of the facilities. All of our rooms are decorated elegantly and have all modern comforts such as, WiFi, satellite TV, frigobar, hair dryer, free tea and coffe maker and the list goes on and on…..

Best regards.

Director

Nicola

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Albergo del Senato
Albergo del Senato
#9 of 1,272 in Rome
3,722 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Palazzo Navona Hotel
Palazzo Navona Hotel
#34 of 1,272 in Rome
863 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Colonna
Hotel Nazionale
Hotel Nazionale
#52 of 1,272 in Rome
1,661 reviews
Trevi
Relais Trevi 95 Boutique Hotel
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Navona
Hotel Navona
#112 of 1,272 in Rome
1,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Abruzzi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Abruzzi

Address: Piazza della Rotonda 69, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#43 Family Hotel in Rome
#109 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $148 - $421 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Abruzzi 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nothing says Rome like this view! Open your window at Albergo Abruzzi and you are greeted by one of Rome’s most famous landmarks, the Pantheon.Set in the heart of the historic centre, this hotel is ideal for those of you who really want to get a feel of Rome. The historic building is typical of those found in this area. It now features modern facilities, including Wi-Fi access throughout.Breakfast is an American buffet and is served in a local bar.The friendly team of staff at Albergo Abruzzi are always on hand to provide helpful tips and tourist information. This fantastic location means you are just a short stroll away from Piazza Navona and the exclusive shopping area around the Spanish Steps. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Abruzzi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abruzzi Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing