We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Abruzzi Revisited”
Review of Hotel Abruzzi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Abruzzi
Ranked #57 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Abruzzi Revisited”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We first stayed here 30 years ago when we were young and poor and the Abruzzi was a very simple pensione. It's moved on in terms of decor and comfort a bit since then but crucially hasn't changed location! The Pantheon was immediately across from our third-floor room, yet thanks to the modern windows and shutters it was quite quiet at night. We enjoyed starting our day at the restaurant on the square where breakfast was served. The staff were friendly and helpful. We shall return before another 30 years have passed.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PercyTrimmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

939 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    598
    251
    56
    24
    10
See reviews for
222
479
59
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
rhode island
Level Contributor
106 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Very affordable hotel in a great location (right across from Pantheon). My room was a lil dated w/small bathroom, however, I did get a good nights sleep. If I left windows open I could hear noise/music from square. Very quiet w/window shut and air on. No restaurant, but a ton right outside (including coffee and gelatto shop). Easy walk to other shops, Trevi, churches, etc.. If lucky enough to go back to Rome, would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janb40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Level Contributor
90 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

You cannot have better start on a day that here, opening the window looking at the piazza de rotunda and Pantheon. Seeing the morning sun find its way down between the houses and down on the square.

The hotel is small, no real reception area, no restaurant or own breakfast area, but who cares..... You get to start the day with a proper coffee and a ok breakfast buffee on the sunny side of pantheon! And from there you have old Rome by your feet.

The rooms are nicely decorated and tidy, but not very big - but get the room overlooking pantheon. The view is stunning...... The staff is very helpfull and service minded and made shure we felt right at home.

A nice place in a superb location.

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking pantheon!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Niklas Å
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

I've seen a lot of reviews which have ding'ed Abruzzi in the past for being overpriced or under-serviced, and I disagree with them. This hotel is in the heart of historic Rome, one of the most expensive urban tourist destinations in the world. You walk out of your hotel every day and the Pantheon greets you as you step out into a vibrant neighbhorhood. Most major tourist attractions in Rome are walkable from here (my wife and I did). I enjoyed the supportive and friendly staff, and the breakfast buffet in the square had a good selection, including cappuccinos, espressos, etc. Only thing to be aware of is that it can get a bit noisy at night as it sits on the square. I would recommend Abruzzi to anyone who isn't just looking for the cheapest deals. You are paying for the fantastic location and comfortable space...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MackLMore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 14, 2012

My daughter and I spent 10 days here. We booked 7 months in advance and got a good rate. The location is amazing and we were able to get to all areas of Rome with little effort quickly. The staff is available 24/7. Thier services are super. This is an older buliding with a small room/shower. The elevator starts on the second floor. However if you are going for the experince it is amazing. Watching the city go to sleep and the sun rise was a faboulous experience. I was worried abou the noise in the room however the windows are very good at blocking out the sounds of the street. The air conditioner worked great. The maid service was excellent. I would highly recommend this hotel if you are going to experience Rome!

Room Tip: Ask for and pay for the view. It's amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MHoovervch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexley
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We finished our week's cruise from Rome with a night in the Hotel Abruzzi. As we were only going to be there for such a short time, I booked a room in the annexe thinking that I wouldn't be worried about a view. We were upgraded when we arrived at the hotel and had a fantastic room over looking the square and its fountain, with a view of the Pantheon - and it was brilliant. As some of the other writers have said, the room was slightly small but by no means tiny - and to be honest, was probably bigger than I would have expected from a city centre location hotel. The bathroom was quite roomy with a variety of different toiletries and we also had a kettle and tea and coffee in the room which was a plus.

In the morning we were given a voucher to have breakfast in a restaurant just across the square and it was nice to sit in the sun and watch Rome wake up.

All in all we really enjoyed our short stay at the Abruzzi - the location was fantastic and it was easy to walk to the major landmarks and should we return to Rome, I would definitely book this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lesley E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

As a first time traveler to Rome I thought to get something a little central and this hotel did not disappoint

Pros: Lots of places to eat nearby, large piazza next door, views of Pantheon. Staff were fantastic. Beautiful 500 / 600 year old building overlooking Pantheon.

Cons: Expensive slow(ish) internet. Room with 2 bed was a little smallish but not too bad. The rooms had only Italian power outlets and so you need to bring your own adapter (or borrow a hotel one). It could be a little hard to find and yes you need to drag your luggage up one flight of stairs as the lift does not go to ground level. The lift is TINY. One person and 2 cases would fill it!

On a personal note.. We wanted to take any of the MANY hop on - off buses that Rome offers. They all seem to take the same routes and same places to stop, but finding a stop near was TOUGH. We ended up walking to the Trevi fountain (10 min walk) where all the buses stop and so it was easy to grab one here.

Would I stay here again? Probably not. but only as it did not not suit me for the buses and the cost/availability of internet access.

If in the area and you want some free Wi Fi simply ask one of the local restaurants and most provide it. Sit, check the password and order a drink etc.

Room Tip: ask for a room on the 1st floor so you do not have to drag your luggage around
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Davidb18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Palazzo Navona Hotel
Palazzo Navona Hotel
#33 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 716 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Albergo del Senato
Albergo del Senato
#10 of 1,257 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,455 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Colonna
Hotel Nazionale
Hotel Nazionale
#44 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,468 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Martis Palace
Hotel Martis Palace
#3 of 1,257 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Residenza Argentina
Residenza Argentina
#24 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Abruzzi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Abruzzi

Property: Hotel Abruzzi
Address: Piazza della Rotonda 69 | Roma, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#53 Family Hotel in Rome
#109 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Abruzzi 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nothing says Rome like this view! Open your window at Albergo Abruzzi and you are greeted by one of Rome’s most famous landmarks, the Pantheon.Set in the heart of the historic centre, this hotel is ideal for those of you who really want to get a feel of Rome. The historic building is typical of those found in this area. It now features modern facilities, including Wi-Fi access throughout.Breakfast is an American buffet and is served in a local bar.The friendly team of staff at Albergo Abruzzi are always on hand to provide helpful tips and tourist information. This fantastic location means you are just a short stroll away from Piazza Navona and the exclusive shopping area around the Spanish Steps. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Abruzzi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abruzzi Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing