We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent neighborhood restaurant close to the Vatican”
Review of La Fornace

La Fornace
Ranked #3,160 of 12,262 Restaurants in Rome
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent neighborhood restaurant close to the Vatican”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Everything tastes fresh (the waiters went out of their way to point out was is NOT fresh on the menu.) The result is simple, delicious Italian food. Friendly but professional service. Excellent value. It was a family trip for us, and we ended up dining there everyday while finding new options on the menu.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    152
    59
    18
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Pleasant, authentic neighbourhood restaurant”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Even on a cool Saturday evening in February, this place was packed out with locals, which is always a good sign. The service was slightly idiosyncratic in that offhand way southern European service often is, but professional and not unfriendly. Food was simple, tasty and very good value. I would recommend booking a table in the busier months of the year, especially on a weekend night as it got very busy after 8pm.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sctorrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Simple, deliscious food”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

I always pick the simplest dish on the menu and if it still makes your tastebud sings then it speaks for itself.....

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Audrey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
78 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good inexpensive Italian food close to to the Vatican”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We were recommended to come here by the owner of the B&B we stayed at, the food was enjoyable and the house wine was cheap and delicious. The pasta dishes we had were very good, I opted for the pasta with zucchini flowers which seems to be an Italian staple. Service was very friendly and only a short walk from the Vatican steps and Cipro station.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Simple Italian”
Reviewed September 12, 2012 via mobile

Small lovely Italian restaurant that we were recommended by our B&B owner. The pasta was lovely and the house wine very drinkable. Bill was very reasonable too. Definitely recommend it for anyone wanting an easy dinner near the Vatican.

Helpful?
Thank Adam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Fornace also viewed

 

Been to La Fornace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing