We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Totally Fulfilling

Maria Vicari, from Katie Parla Tours, led us through the food scene in Testaccio and Trastevere... read more

Reviewed February 15, 2020
docko1
,
Chicago, Illinois
Delicious and interesting and informative

My mum and I had a great time with Arianna! We booked the Centro Storico tour and were not... read more

Reviewed January 13, 2020
Lindsay Y
,
Toronto, Canada
Read all 232 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Rome
from $39.04
More Info
from $94.82
More Info
from $104.58
More Info
from $27.89
More Info
Reviews (232)
Filter reviews
232 results
Traveler rating
229
1
1
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
229
1
1
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews roman cuisine centro storico porchetta culinary tour trionfale market gelato la fiorentina natural wines great resource custom food neighborhood tour jewish ghetto private cooking class best pizza context travel food stops highlight of our trip
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 232 reviews
Reviewed August 25, 2019

Booked the Sunday stroll with Maurizio as Katie was not available during the time we visited in August. We started with moderate expectations and we really enjoyed our time and the tour with Maurizio. This was our 3rd trip to Rome and we learned a lot, tried a lot and found a number of new places to try for a return trip in the future. Not a tour of non stop eating but a nice balance of seeing some sites, bit of history and of course food and drinks. Maurizio started out by asking a couple questions on our preferences and then we set out. I liked how things were not pre-arranged or scheduled as we had flexibility and knew exactly what we were paying for. At the end we had even more suggestions for lunch and dinner for the balance of our time in Rome. Thanks Maurizio!

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank cb_SEA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2019

We're veterans of lots of food tours, and Katie's tours seemed right up our alley. Unfortunately, she wasn't available during the time we were in Rome, but recommended another guide, Maurizio. Whilst Maurizio had a lot of anecdotal food knowledge, we didn't click with him and found his style fairly disengaged.

As an example, we went to the food market and he asked "what do you want to try?", as opposed to having an idea of recommendations we should try, and then letting us individuate from there. Consequently, we ended up wandering around since we, of course, don't know what we SHOULD be trying! Additionally, this served to have lots of money exchanging hands for various vendors, as opposed to having a set schedule with vendors paid in advance, as in most of the tours we have had in the past. This makes things unnecessarily awkward and burdensome.

We could have spent an hour googling and mapping the places we went as Maurizio didn't add a lot of our experience. Although Maurizio was nice, polite and seemed to have a lot of fine dining experience, we walked away disappointed.

Date of experience: July 2019
2  Thank 4LivB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2019

We were gifted a walking tour with Katie for the end of vacation to Italy. It was wonderful. She was great, very informative about the food, history and culture of Rome. Would certainly do a tour again.

Date of experience: June 2019
Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2019

We loved our walking tour of Testaccio with Katie. She's incredibly knowledgable, not just on the food culture, but on all of Italian history. She speaks very passionately about her topics and all of our stops on the tour were fantastic. We look forward to doing another tour with her again. If you love Italian food and history, I highly recommend this one!

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank TTFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2019

If only we had done it on our first day rather than the last day! Maurizio Di Franco was a fabulous guide: very knowledgeable and interesting and a delight to spend the afternoon with for each and every one of us (including a 16, 14 and 10 year old)
One of our children is a coeliac so Katie suggested that we tour the Prati and Trionfale areas. Being a personalised tour she could eat everything except for the pizza at the first stop, however there were exceptional things for her everywhere else (and there was an excellent GF pizza and bakery place on the way).
We adored the food, wine, coffee and the company as well as learning about the regional nature of Italian food, how food is prepared etc etc.
An absolute must!

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank Luxbutfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews