We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best gelato in Rome.”

Gelateria del Viale
Ranked #2 of 779 Dessert in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $4
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Drinks, Late Night, Takeout
Neighborhood: Trastevere
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best gelato in Rome.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

This gelateria is easy to miss and outside the city center, so not necessarily on your tour route. But it is not to be missed. Take a day out of your sightseeing and checkout trestevere, wonderful section of the city, during the summer you can stroll the lungotevere (waterside bars, restaurants, and shops), and while in the area have the best gelato in the city at del viale.

Helpful?
Thank Justin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    316
    45
    14
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“great place and delicious gelato,”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014

The fondentte chocolate ice cream was amazing plus the owner is very kind he allowed me to try various fruit flavor just for my curiosity but I ended up having the chocolate , the plum gelato was really good.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank vanetrip2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very impressed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

We were staying right inside Trastevere for our trip in Rome and found very little gelaterias that were balanced as taste went (some were way too sugary for our liking!). I must say This gelateria can (nearly) compete with La romana Roma! Very much enjoyed their dark chocolate option and also the lemon gelato!

Helpful?
Thank Cynthia-Christi... C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Greenwich, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Best Gelato in all of Rome...not kidding!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

Amazing out of this world chocolate! Fantastic strawberry & mango all hand made and worth a ride across the Tiber to get some perfection & happiness!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank APreudhomme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
122 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Good gelato but not dense”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2014

We visited this gelateria after unsuccessfully trying to find the one we went to last night. The gelato was smooth and creamy and tasted very good. I personally prefer a denser consistency. Plus while the selection of favors was good, there was not enough dark chocolate. It was more than decent, however we were spoiled by Fatamorgana.,

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joyce L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gelateria del Viale also viewed

 

Been to Gelateria del Viale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing