We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic little hotel”
Review of Aphrodite Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Aphrodite Hotel
Ranked #488 of 1,270 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed March 17, 2014

The hotel was fantastic value for money. The rooms were very clean and the staff were very friendly. It is located in an ideal position close to the Grand Termini (The main railway Station) and it is within easy walking distance of attractions such as the Coliseum. The breakfast was a real bonus being more than just your average European style breakfast.
The staff are friendly and efficient. There are plenty of bars near to then hotel and the bar immediately to the left of the hotel as you view it from the road was especially good with a very friendly and attentive manager.
I will definitely be visiting Rome again and if the price continues to be right wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bucko1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (784)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

130 - 136 of 784 reviews

Reviewed March 16, 2014

This hotel is just outside the Termini Station in Rome, and thus very convenient. Good for a sleeping place, and remarkably quiet although situated in tne middle of Rome. Rooms are good, beds very good, everything works.

Room Tip: Get one facing away from the street. The view is awfull, but there is very little noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pkr6000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

This hotel is classified as a 4****, however due to the very small size of the room I would not give it more than 3*** - even if I would specify "a good three star", as the staff is great and helpful, the hotel has the whole 5 floors of the building, not like most others in the same area where you would have 3 or 4 different hotels inside the same building - and the breakfast room is on the 5th floor, which is a bonus!

Bed was firm and comfortable, however the bathroom with a large soap dispenser was not welcome, also the shower was not possible to be regulated making it the use only 'by hand', in other words you had to use the shower head with your hand, not in the usual shower way from the top!); of course I'm not sure this was a problem only in my bath or is like this in all rooms, but certainly I did not like it.

Nothing more to say, effectively next door to Rome station, across the road...so you will not miss that train!

Breakfast stuff as usual, fresh scrambled eggs, helpful staff, if you require a cappuccino or an espresso rather than the 'watery coffee' in the breakfast room just ask, no extra cost!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Surzen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

we stayed in this hotel from 6th feb to the 9th feb 2014 its right next to the termini station and the staff were super any thing we asked for there was no problem.we were celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary and the hotel had a complimentory bottle of prosecco in our room on arrival we also booked the hotel on a b&b basis it was self service so you had a good start to the day the rooms were clean not big but not small there was shampoo and soap provided clean towels each day linen etc there was a safe in the room and a mini bar.at night the area was a bit rough but safe we found a lovely restaurant around the corner that had lovely italian food all in all a super location metros trains buses and trams on your doorstep even the bus from the airport stops and collects you from here as well

Room Tip: all rooms have triple glazing so when the window is closed noise is not an issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2014

Booked this hotel as part of the BA city breaks offer and was very impressed with the location. As soon as you step out of the Termini station, it's directly opposite. Perfect. Having the Termini station on the doorstep proved to be very handy as we used the Metro to get around Rome, although everything is within walking distance. Room in hotel was very clean and the continental breakfast included more than ample. Only draw back was our room being 201, located next to the laundry cupboard, so very noisy when the cleaners are going back and forth. Other than this, more than happy and would definitely use this hotel again if visiting Rome again.

Room Tip: Change if 201!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kirsty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Rome was the last stop on our 4-week journey through Europe and we decided to indulge ourselves and stay in 4 star accommodation for our last 5 nights. What a disappointment! The 3 star hotels we stayed in were far better than this. We had a triple room (our adult daughter was travelling with us), but the room we were assigned would have been cramped with only two people. Our daughter's bed was a very uncomfortable pull-out sofa bed. There was nowhere to put our suitcases except on the floor, and that left no room for walking. We had to climb over the sofa bed to get to the bathroom. The shower was so small we couldn't wash without banging arms and legs against the wall or door. There were no toiletries (something I would expect as standard in a 4 star hotel) except for those awful soap dispensers on the wall. I was so disappointed I would have been happy to lose our money and pay to go somewhere else, but as it was the Christmas/New Year period there was nothing available (I tried very hard to find something!).

To be fair, when we asked for a larger room, the reception staff were accommodating and we were moved after the first night. The larger room was marginally better - at least we didn't have to climb over the furniture to move around the room, and the shower had more space. The hotel is in a handy location, but 4 star it definitely ain't. I wouldn't stay there again.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Harmony2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

I had 2 stays at this hotel, and I had my reservations about coming back for the 2nd stay. We arrived late, exhausted and hungry and mid check-in the guy checking us in gets into an arguement with another guest (an young American who was trying to sneek someup up to his room, the suitcase was a dead give away) and I admit I found the whole thing quite amusing. I almost had my key when the guest came back for seconds, by the way he had no idea he had an audience at this stage, swearing and threating the check in guy then storming into reception to find a extremely amused audience. After turning a lovely lobster red he about faced and left. So check in took 25 minutes but I got a free floor show. We get to our room and wow was it small and I was pretty sure it was not what I had booked but we were only going to be there for 1 night and I was too tried to care, it was clean and tidy, as was the entire hotel and the bed was pretty good.
Thankfully their were still a couple of restaurants still open close by and even though our room was on the road side their was not a lot of traffic at night and except the guy on the accordion who i wanted to kill, thankfully stopped playing at midnight when the restaurant closed.
Breakfast is nice, it's on the roof and there is no city view (it's the roof of the railroad station) and they did store our luggage (definitely lock your bags) while we went for a walk.
Stay 2: Check in was a breeze this time, no floor show, and our room was at the back of the hotel over looking the neighbours back yard. But it was the large room I had paid for. The shower was a bit weird you were either pressed against the glass or the tiles when you were in their trying to bathe, the water seem to have a mind of its own.
But everything is close, restaurants, train station, laundrymat around the corner (they actually do the washing for you just drop it off and pick it up) market across the road (cash only by the way), supermarket at the train station (Via Marsala entrance, down the escalater look to your right), ATM (4 euro withdrawal fee, ouch) across the road but walk down to the train station and use the ATM there especially at night there is always a whole lot of homeless people that sleep there and there are usually cops by the train station.
It's a nice hotel, extremely well located, close to everything that you will need and the metro train station will take you to all the tourist sites. Once you get the hang of reading the maps.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pbfh_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Genova
Hotel Genova
#407 of 1,270 in Rome
832 reviews
Esquilino
Exe Domus Aurea
Exe Domus Aurea
#306 of 1,270 in Rome
617 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Palladium Palace
Hotel Palladium Palace
#231 of 1,270 in Rome
915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Yes Hotel
Yes Hotel
#125 of 1,270 in Rome
1,461 reviews
Esquilino
Selene Style Hotel
Selene Style Hotel
#123 of 1,270 in Rome
1,345 reviews
Esquilino
Champagne Palace
Champagne Palace
#1,116 of 1,270 in Rome
645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aphrodite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aphrodite Hotel

Address: Via Marsala 90, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#255 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $49 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aphrodite Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Aphrodite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Aphrodite
Aphrodite Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing