We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Convenient”
Review of Aphrodite Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Aphrodite Hotel
Ranked #466 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed June 15, 2013

This pleasant hotel on Marsala, right across from Termini Station, made a convenient and comfortable home while we explored Rome. After arriving on the train from Civitaveccia, the hotel was right out the side door of the main rail station. Since we were rolling the bags, it was a pleasant surprise to step out of the station onto the sidewalk, and see the sign for Hotel Aphrodite diagonally across Marsala.
The desk agent was a friendly, efficient Finn who helped us get oriented to the neighborhood. We had no trouble finding the money-exchange and standup restaurant bar that she recommended.
The room was more than adequate, with a comfortable bed, hot shower, and a safe. A diverse breakfast buffet greeted us each morning on the roof of the building.
As is the European way, the hotel Safely stored our luggage for us while we went to Switzerland on the fast train.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank radarharp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (770)
There are newer reviews for Aphrodite Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

159 - 165 of 770 reviews

Reviewed June 7, 2013

Ok! Aphrodite hotel is located right outside the Termini Station in Rome. it is super convenient because u dont really need to book any tours as they are very expensive. Best is to buy a train ticket to any place you want to go (Capri, Sorento, Naples, etc) from the termini station. They cost u much less and it takes 2 hours on an average to reach these places. The hotel is clean and spacious enough. Only drawback is that they do not offer complimentary bottles of water. Breakfast is failry adequate and staff is very friendly. They even offered to pack breakfast for us when we had booked one very early tour (which we should'nt have!). From the hotel itself it will take u not more than 20 minutes walking anywhere to see major attractions such as Trevi Fountain or the Basilica. The only place far off is vatican but you can always go via metro or bus. nice cafes and restaurants near the hotel and close to a student area in case u fancy clubbing. the hotel also provides free wi fi and connection is good.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tanvi_Cheeks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We were staying here for a night between travel in Sardinia and our return to the US. The location was great being right next to Termini Station. The staff were helpful and allowed us to store our luggage for almost 12 hours after our check out. The room was comfortable, the bed was a bit firm for our taste though. Unfortunately, we were up much of the night because of the noise from Termini Station through the window. Otherwise it was great.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mfmonn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

I have never seen a hotel in Rome before, which is better of the price-performance ratio! It's absolutely centrally located (directly at the Statione Termini), it's clean, the staff is friendly and you will get a ok breakfast. Sure, the bathroom could be larger for a three-person-room and the breakfast could have more choices but altogether it's perfect if you don't want to spend too much money but still want to have a centrally locaetd hotel!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ForAHonestReview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Stayed 1 night after Med cruise, great location across from airport buses and train station. staff were helpful, breakfast was good, Only issue is the small shower stall in the bathroom, and water keep going from hot to cold.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank funfuntravel36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I read the complaints by some people and just untrue. I just stayed there and it is perfect for seeing Rome. The main train station is right across the street (easy to get to and from FCO), and most major sights are within walking distance or a very short train ride away. The staff was pleasant professional and helpful.

The room was adequate. But you do not go to Rome to stay in the room. It is probably 3 star by American standards, but this is not America. It is still perfect for the price. The breakfast was excellent when compared to other European breakfast buffets at other similar 3 and 4 star hotels.

Overall, I will definitely stay again. For the price, location, and staff, this is a great place to stay.
The only complaint was that the water pressure was off and the water in shower kept going from hot to cold. Not fun. But I did bring this to the attention of the front desk and they are working on it. But as far as the other complaints just not true, you might find better in Rome, but be ready to pay a significant amount more.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MrM_Bond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

I stayed here with my girlfriend at the end of April and was pleasantly surprised by this hotel. Being right next to the Termini station meant the airport transfer was easy and getting around the city was no problem either. Our room was ready despite an early arrival and the staff on reception spoke good English.

The room itself was quite compact but then I wasn't going to Rome to spend time in a hotel room! It was clean and the bed was comfy, the bathroom was very small though, I'm not a big guy but found the shower cubicle a really tight squeeze.

Buffet breakfast was fine and the maids came every day. There are a lot of homeless people opposite the hotel at night so you may feel safer getting a cab back after dinner.

I would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stuc1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Villafranca
Hotel Villafranca
#506 of 1,267 in Rome
908 reviews
Esquilino
Venetia Palace Hotel
Venetia Palace Hotel
#338 of 1,267 in Rome
838 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Gioberti
Hotel Gioberti
#693 of 1,267 in Rome
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Bettoja Atlantico Hotel
Bettoja Atlantico Hotel
#505 of 1,267 in Rome
526 reviews
Esquilino
Bettoja Hotel Mediterraneo
Esquilino
Hotel Palladium Palace
Hotel Palladium Palace
#238 of 1,267 in Rome
872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aphrodite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aphrodite Hotel

Address: Via Marsala 90, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#245 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $96 - $262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aphrodite Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Aphrodite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Aphrodite
Aphrodite Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing