We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, location is good for Termini access”
Review of Aphrodite Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Aphrodite Hotel
Ranked #466 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed January 9, 2013

I booked to stay here for our last night in Italy, as we needed to catch the train to the Rome airport early in the morning. It worked out perfectly for that - we couldn't have been closer. They were doing renovations on the check-in desk when we arrived, and it seems as if the rooms have just recently been renovated. They were small, but not ridiculously so. Very typical for Italy. The room and bathroom was clean, modern and well-fitted, but, the shower (at least in our room) was TINY. Too small to really even turn around or pick up shampoo or what-have-you.
I've been to Rome before, and would recommend staying here for the proximity to the train station, but, if you're going to be sight-seeing around Rome for multiple days, I think I would stay more in the center of the city. It was a little bit of a walk, and the streets right around the train station were not as well lit as the downtown area - I wouldn't walk there by myself ever.

But, if I needed to catch an early train from Rome, or got in late at night by train, I would definitely book here again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chickenlyttle2323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (770)
There are newer reviews for Aphrodite Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

186 - 192 of 770 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2013

The location of this hotel is great, and despite the trainstation being so close, you don't have any noise problems. The rooms are clean, the staff is very friendly. Breakfast was ok. Good value for money.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank la_ragazza_mela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2012

The hotel is across the street from Roma Termini. The hop on hop off bus tickets are sold on the other side of the station and from there its just a 2 min walk to the first stop.

Room was atrociously small but the bathroom, for whatever reason, was larger then the actual room.

Breakfast was served upstairs and was quite good. It was never full so always had a seat.

With not being in the room so much - the claustrophobic feel of it can be forgiven and due to its proximity to the local supermarket being across the street and Roma Termini, I would actually stay here again.

The only downside was that the flight back home was late afternoon - the hotel would not budge on a late check out regardless of offering to pay. Transfers were paid for from home and they would not even pick me up earlier so had to leave my luggage in the hotel until I returned. An extra 1-2 hours would have helped drastically as not much to do after you have seen everything already.

Also - stayed here July 2011 and not January, 2012 as indicated.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suzy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012

I stayed at the Aphrodite Hotel for 3 nights while on a pre-cruise stay in Rome. The Terravision bus from the airport (4 Euros) left me directly across the street from the hotel at the Termini train station. The location is great for sightseeing in Rome, providing fast access to buses and trains.

The hotel is small, modern, comfortable, and I enjoyed the visit very much. Breakfast was ample and great. The temperature of the shower was hard to control (went from cold to hot to cold), but not a major issue.

I would definitely stay at the Aphrodite Hotel again, and it is a great value.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank miamitraveltrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Aphrodite Hotel for one night as we had taken the train in from Venice and had an early flight out of Fiumicino the next morning. The hotel was literally just across the street from Termini station within a 2 minute walk with luggage. Elevator was very spacious and the room we received, even though it looked onto a wall and some rooftops, was very clean and comfortable. The bathroom had beautiful tiling and the bed was comfortable although a bit hard. Very modern in design and decoration. The location was great for the trains and metro, however I would not recommend trying to walk anywhere from this location except to Termini to get the metro. We tried walking back from Bernini station as it was a beautiful night, but the traffic is terrible around the station and the area just outside of Termini is a bit shady at night.

There is a small grocery store and pharmacy in Termini station which was great for picking up some water and fruit for breakfast the next morning. We had to leave on the train for the airport before Aphrodite's breakfast started.

The staff were very friendly and check-in/out was a breeze.

If you are in need of a transit hotel, then this is a great spot for a night!

Room Tip: Not the best place to walk from, but great location for the metro and trains!
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JacquieT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed at this hotel at Oct23-25/2012
Right infront of Termini station! The airport shuttle bus stops right in front of the hotel very convenient if you have luggage.Rooms were large enough very clean and well kept. The hotel overall was very well kept. Staff courteous,friendly and helpfull.
Breakfast was adequate, enough items to choose from for breakfast.
Will definitely stay there again and recommend to my friends!
BTW Wifi worked very well (you have to get the code from the front desk)

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank B L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

The Aphrodite exceeded my expectations. Usually, hotels across the street from train stations can stay in business without being very good. The Aphrodite is clean, serves an adequate breakfast, and is a good choice if you need a quick stay in Rome while waiting for a plane (for example). Personally I would choose another hotel if I were staying longer, but it was ideal for us. The rooms are not large but are clean. The bathrooms are tiny and the shower was smaller than a phone booth, but this is not unusual in Italy. The water in the shower cycled between hot and cold on its own but we coped. Free wi-fi worked well. There is a mini supermarket across the street for drinks and snacks. Our usual Italian trip means picking up a rental car at FCO, and then dropping it off at Termini a day or two before our departure so that we have some time in Rome. This hotel's location is ideal for this purpose, as it is near the station (which has a subway stop) and the buses and train to the airport are just across the street. I also believe that this side of Termini (on the Castro Pretorio side of the station) is safer than the other side. I felt fine walking in this area at night.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the back if you intend to sleep with your window open.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frantica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Villafranca
Hotel Villafranca
#506 of 1,267 in Rome
908 reviews
Esquilino
Venetia Palace Hotel
Venetia Palace Hotel
#338 of 1,267 in Rome
838 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Gioberti
Hotel Gioberti
#693 of 1,267 in Rome
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Bettoja Atlantico Hotel
Bettoja Atlantico Hotel
#505 of 1,267 in Rome
526 reviews
Esquilino
Bettoja Hotel Mediterraneo
Esquilino
Hotel Palladium Palace
Hotel Palladium Palace
#238 of 1,267 in Rome
872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aphrodite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aphrodite Hotel

Address: Via Marsala 90, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#245 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $96 - $262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aphrodite Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Aphrodite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Aphrodite
Aphrodite Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing