We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice stay!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bon Ton Suite

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bon Ton Suite
Ranked #371 of 3,735 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton, AB
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Very nice stay!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

Room was spotless and people were very friendly. It looks like they have responded to other comments; there was always bottled water available and the wifi was very fast. Our only complaint was that the rooms could be a little better soundproofed. Other than that, we had a great stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Edmonton_mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    49
    12
    0
    0
See reviews for
30
52
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

Located approx 10 mins walk from the termini and 30-40 mins walk from the Colosseum. The street was quiet at night and although the "adult" cinema next door was open we didn't see anybody in go in, we travelled with our kids, 16 and 14 and it wasn't a problem. We had a quad room, a huge king size bed with two put- up beds but these both had proper mattresses on them. The room was clean, modern and air-conditioned which we used daily. It looked out onto a small courtyard at the back of the building with a tiny balcony, too small to sit on but nice to have the windows open. Continental breakfast served from 7.30-9.30 and water bottles available to guests at any time. We ate locally most evenings and had some good meals, amazing pizza from Pizzeria Del Secola, Via Palestro 62 a 2 min walk away.
Would definitely recommend and hope to return.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank gtna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hellas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

A very clean, quiet, small,new hotel with very polite staff. It is situated near the Termini station (about 10 minutes), something that helps a lot in order to cope with the tiring, complex and crowded bus system. There is a metro system, too, but in my opinion, it is inadequate, and big parts of it are often closed. Be prepared to walk a lot!
Bon Ton is actually a refurbished apartment in a block of flats. The area is generally safe due to the fact that there are some embassies around and there is security. However, right next to the hotel there is an adult movie theatre and opposite a strip club, but nobody minded!
The room was cleaned every day. The breakfast was not a buffet-type, but it was what we needed for a good start. A very good point was the free bottles of water but they run out really quickly. If you visit Rome during summer make sure there is an air-conditioning system privately operated. We went there during August and with 42 C, the air conditioning was never turned off!
The only bad points is that we were given a tiny room, normally used as a single and the fact that the sheets were only changed once during a 5-night stay. We had some problems moving around the room and tidying our clothes and luggage. We didn't realize it at first, we thought all the rooms were very small, so we made no fuss about it, although we should have, since a single room was not what we paid for.
All in all, Bon Ton is a good choice if you don't need a 24-hour reception desk (the staff is there from morning till midday). We would definitely go back if were given a double room this time!

Room Tip: Make sure you are given what you asked and paid for. We stayed in a single room although we are a co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CatherineKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

Great!!! Owner was so nice to put fresh flowers and a sweet little note when we informed him prior that we were on our honeymoon trip. Room was specklessly clean. 10mins walking distance from Roma Termini. There are a few nice restaurants nearby, go try Barbablu at the start of Via Montebello for great food at absolutely reasonable prices. However, it's a quiet street at night with bars just right beside. We've never seen it opened but i wont recommend for solo female travellers, or try to be back at room before 8pm.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stardustapple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Short Hills, New Jersey
Level Contributor
41 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

We stayed at Bon Ton Suite for 5 nights in August. We are a family of four with the children aged 15 and 10. We made the reservation through booking.com. We asked for a quad room, which was essentially a double bed room with two additional roll away beds.

They were very prompt on email in confirming the booking and answering questions.

While the building is old, the apartment has been completely refurbished in what I would call IKEA decor. It is compact with 6 bedrooms and a living room. Very clean, modern and up to date amenities. The en-suite bathrooms are small and come with a shower stall. They change linen and towels every third day. Rooms has flat panel TV and air-conditioning. The building has a small, antiquated elevator.

Complimentary breakfast is served from 7:30 AM and is continental - croissants, juice and coffee.

The wifi is free, but is really spotty. We had to have the router reset very day and was quite frustrating.

Niccolo and Dario were the two partners running the show and they are very friendly and helpful. We arranged a pick-up through the hotel from the Airport. They charged us 60 euro, which we thought was reasonable since taxi rates start at 48 euro.

The hotel is located close to the Castro Pretorio Metro Line B station, about 10 min walk. A little further away is Republica Metro Line A station. Bus number 90 from Termini station drops you off a block from the hotel. The neighborhood has other hotels, restaurants, pharmacy and Laundromats. It is a very safe area with the Turkish Embassy close by. We returned at 11 PM most nights. One caveat, especially for travelers with children - the building is right next door to an adult film theater and opposite a strip club.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Calcuttan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

Firstly thanks to Mario. He is very helpful and friendly. This place is extremly clean, cosy, new and guest friendly. Breakfast is satisfying. İts 10 minutes to termini by walking. We think its a good choice to stay in rome.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ilhanburak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2012

Don't judge it by the nondescript entrance to the building and antique (but wonderfully quiet) elevator! Once inside on the 6th floor the place is kept immaculately clean, the furniture and fittings are modern, comfortable and in excellent condition and bed/bath linens are new and spotless. We were a large group of friends and asked for an extra fold-up bed to be put in one room, which was very comfortable with a proper mattress, so don't be afraid to ask for it if there are 3 of you on a tight budget and you don't mind sharing, but request it when booking so that they assign you a room that is big enough to take it comfortably. The staff are charming and nothing was too much trouble - they quickly changed the beds in one of our rooms from a double to a pair of singles, helped with recommendations for transfers, sightseeing buses and nearby restaurants and printed our boarding passes for our flight home. After you have checked out, if you will be spending the rest of the day out and about in Rome, you can leave your bags there and call by later to collect them and freshen up in a small bathroom. At breakfast they serve delicious coffee any way you want it, also orange juice, tea and a selection of rolls/croissants with butter/jams/nutella/soft cheese. You are welcome to bring in and store your own breakfast/snack items in the refrigerator reserved for the guests' use, which is stocked with free bottled water. There is an excellent deli on the opposite street corner which will make up your choice of high quality sandwiches/salads to take out, and market stalls further down the street where you can buy fruit, plus a wide selection of places to eat within a 5-minute walk, many of which serve until 23:00. Bon Ton is a great choice if you want a simple, clean and friendly place that represents good value for money. Accept that it is not a hotel, it is a small B&B with just 6 rooms and that you will therefore be close to other guests. If you need the large spaces and facilities of a hotel, with no walking involved, this is not the right choice for you.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TJB97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Crosti Hotel
Crosti Hotel
#214 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Galileo
Hotel Galileo
#330 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
Esquilino
Smooth Hotel Rome Termini
Smooth Hotel Rome Termini
#61 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Le M Apartment
Le M Apartment
#1,526 of 3,735 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Aventine
B&B Circus Maximus
B&B Circus Maximus
#3,061 of 3,735 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Esquilino
Chroma Exy
Chroma Exy
#544 of 3,735 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bon Ton Suite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bon Ton Suite

Property: Bon Ton Suite
Address: Via Montebello 99 | Stazione Termini, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #371 of 3,735 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bon Ton Suite 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bon Ton Suite is located on the top floor of an elegant building dating back to 1930, a lift and the rooms are overlooking the eternal city. Is located in a strategic zone of Rome. 500 Meters to Termini station and 300 meters from Castro Pretorio's Subway. 15 Minutes walk to Colosseum and the most important entertainments Start your stay with Italian-style breakfast, with the waiter at your disposal and the possibility of breakfast served in your room.To offer you the top of the quality, to grant you a pleasureable, yet economically acceptable, stay in our appartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Bon Ton Suite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing