We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint older hotel with wonderful staff and a perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel San Silvestro
Ranked #666 of 1,272 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 30, 2013

The Hotel San Silvestro is a small, well kept, reasonably priced and very clean hotel located in the heart of Rome. A very short walk gets you to Trevi Fountain, the Spanish Steps, the Forum and many other famous sites in Rome. The room was a bit small to be accommodation for 3 adults, but was well kept and cleaned and quite comfortable. The staff are tremendously helpful and had good recommendations for near by food. As others have said, the hotel has its quirks and the furniture is a bit old and slightly worn. Nothing that I found distressing, however. Their willingness to help and accommodate each guest individually is truly wonderful.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
Thank dwynep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (226)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 226 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2013

Don't be fooled by the photos! This is a shabby, tired and very depressing hotel. Granted it is in a very good situation for the main sights. The rooms were clean and the sheets of good quality but the bedspreads , rugs and furniture were more like a 1970s student flat! We were greeted by the Roman version of Basil Fawlty who couldn't even say hello! To be fair he was the only member of staff like this. The breakfast room was rediculously small but the coffee and morning rolls were good. Would not dream of going ther again!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LDS5355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Despite the somewhat outdated furniture, this turned out to be a very clean, quaint small hotel with wonderful staff. Well located for easy walk to Trevi Fountain, Spanish Steps and Pantheon and equally easy to get to busses and metro. Only maybe 2 dozen rooms, but 24-hour front desk. funny little oddities like a two-person elevator, and having to call the desk to adjust your air conditioning since the rooms themselves don't have controls. But...they are VERY accomodating with all requests whether for "more air", directions, recommendations etc. Well worth the price which was lower that others we have stayed at. Nice, simple continental b'fast included.

Room Tip: The upper (3rd) floor is NOT serviced by the elevator so you and your luggage have one flight of sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MBSCtravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Just got back from a long weekend staying at San Silvestro. It is in a great location very central to all the sights. Few minutes walk to Trevi Fountain and Spanish Steps. 20 mins to Colosseum and 25 to Vatican. Hotel rooms small and basic but comfortable and has air conditioning which is a must. Staff very freindly and breakfast simple but tasty especially the cappuccino. Loads of restaurants nearby and spar round the corner. We took our own kettle and coffee and as there is a fridge in the room, it was great for keeping milk and water cold.

A few tips: Avoid photo with Roman soldier!! You can get a joint ticket for Panatine Hill and Colosseum. If you buy this at Panatine Hill, you can walk straight into colosseum and avoid the enormous queue. I would recommend buying your ticket for Vatican museum on line before you go. We ended up queuing for hours, not much fun but worth the wait.

Would also recommend visiting Borgheuse park, we hired some segways (10euro) they were brilliant fun.

We booked a taxi from the airport through Best Airport Transfers. It was quite expensive 80 euro return, but they offered a great service delivering us to the hotel very quickly and picking us up right on time. It saved faffing with buses and trains and well worth it.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blahblahc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

Good location definately. We could walk to so many locations. Rooms are extremelt small. Smallest of all other Hotels we stayed at in Italy. Our room was on the main street side and extremely loud from cars even though it was a one way street. This caused issues with sleeping. The staff was great. The breakfast minimal but nice. The location is why you would choose this hotel.

1  Thank Grapevinetx
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

This hotel was in a great location, right near the Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain and Piazza Navona. Accommodations were definitely no frills, but staff was friendly and always available to provide recommendations or assistance. It's exactly what I expected based on our reviews and knowing what intercity hotels in europe can be like. Appreciated the convenience of breakfast included, but definitely nothing special - just fresh pastries and coffee. Found the fruit stand guy up the street to be a great value and nice addition to my morning meal or as a refreshing afternoon snack after walking around all day.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank racheltravels_29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

Everything is a tradeoff in an expensive city like Rome. We knew the tradeoffs and this hotel fit the bill.

THE LOCATION IS GREAT. It is a small hotel really right in between the Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain, Piazza Navona, Campo Dei Fiori and Castel Sant'Angelo. A reasonable walk to the Vatican. Right in middle of good shopping. You can walk pretty much everywhere and not waste a lot of time getting places if you are there for only a few days. AND it is in a nice neighborhood with charm, small streets, shops etc. NOT like by the train station which is often advertized as central but is very unsavory and NOT charming at all. The girls wanted to go to the Trevi fountain at night and back to the hotel themselves which was perfectly fine compared to not fine at all if we had stayed near the train station.

The pleasant surprise was that the STAFF WAS ALSO GREAT. Very accommodating, and friendly. Roberto manned breakfast every morning. Great coffee made however you want, and great information on getting around. He also manned the night desk - we got there quite late, and very helpful. Cosimo manned the desk during the day. Great help printing reservations,boarding passes etc.and always very kind. The opposite of a large impersonal hotel, we felt very well taken care of.

VERY CLEAN ROOM THOUGH SHABBY. The non carpeted floor - some kind of shiny terrazzo? was very clean - walk around with bare feet and your feet are clean. WHY DOESN"T THE MANAGEMENT SPEND A LITTLE MONEY AND REPLACE AGING ITEMS? this would really make this hotel a find! The hallway furniture 2 floors up from the lobby probably used to be attractive and antique style but THREADBARE! and the fabric looked dirty due to so much wear. My lovely brocade bedspread had a hole in it.

There is a small elevator - good for luggage.

They do have air conditioning but you have to call the front desk to have it turned on. Very good cooling which is necessary when it gets hot in Rome. You can open the window but the garbage trucks will be really loud.

Great hot water etc. in bathroom.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FrequentTraveler333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Colonna
Residenza Montecitorio
Residenza Montecitorio
#598 of 1,272 in Rome
311 reviews
Colonna
Hotel Parlamento
Hotel Parlamento
#312 of 1,272 in Rome
773 reviews
Colonna
City Hotel
City Hotel
#507 of 1,272 in Rome
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Elite Hotel
#385 of 1,272 in Rome
173 reviews
Colonna
Hotel Concordia
Hotel Concordia
#604 of 1,272 in Rome
595 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel Cecil
Hotel Cecil
#210 of 1,272 in Rome
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Silvestro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Silvestro

Address: Via del Gambero 3, 00187 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Colonna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service
Hotel Style:
#138 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $98 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel San Silvestro 3*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel San Silvestro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Silvestro Hotel
San Silvestro Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing