We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel San Silvestro
Ranked #599 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

Good location definately. We could walk to so many locations. Rooms are extremelt small. Smallest of all other Hotels we stayed at in Italy. Our room was on the main street side and extremely loud from cars even though it was a one way street. This caused issues with sleeping. The staff was great. The breakfast minimal but nice. The location is why you would choose this hotel.

1  Thank Grapevinetx
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (219)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 219 reviews

Reviewed September 27, 2012

This hotel was in a great location, right near the Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain and Piazza Navona. Accommodations were definitely no frills, but staff was friendly and always available to provide recommendations or assistance. It's exactly what I expected based on our reviews and knowing what intercity hotels in europe can be like. Appreciated the convenience of breakfast included, but definitely nothing special - just fresh pastries and coffee. Found the fruit stand guy up the street to be a great value and nice addition to my morning meal or as a refreshing afternoon snack after walking around all day.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank racheltravels_29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

Everything is a tradeoff in an expensive city like Rome. We knew the tradeoffs and this hotel fit the bill.

THE LOCATION IS GREAT. It is a small hotel really right in between the Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain, Piazza Navona, Campo Dei Fiori and Castel Sant'Angelo. A reasonable walk to the Vatican. Right in middle of good shopping. You can walk pretty much everywhere and not waste a lot of time getting places if you are there for only a few days. AND it is in a nice neighborhood with charm, small streets, shops etc. NOT like by the train station which is often advertized as central but is very unsavory and NOT charming at all. The girls wanted to go to the Trevi fountain at night and back to the hotel themselves which was perfectly fine compared to not fine at all if we had stayed near the train station.

The pleasant surprise was that the STAFF WAS ALSO GREAT. Very accommodating, and friendly. Roberto manned breakfast every morning. Great coffee made however you want, and great information on getting around. He also manned the night desk - we got there quite late, and very helpful. Cosimo manned the desk during the day. Great help printing reservations,boarding passes etc.and always very kind. The opposite of a large impersonal hotel, we felt very well taken care of.

VERY CLEAN ROOM THOUGH SHABBY. The non carpeted floor - some kind of shiny terrazzo? was very clean - walk around with bare feet and your feet are clean. WHY DOESN"T THE MANAGEMENT SPEND A LITTLE MONEY AND REPLACE AGING ITEMS? this would really make this hotel a find! The hallway furniture 2 floors up from the lobby probably used to be attractive and antique style but THREADBARE! and the fabric looked dirty due to so much wear. My lovely brocade bedspread had a hole in it.

There is a small elevator - good for luggage.

They do have air conditioning but you have to call the front desk to have it turned on. Very good cooling which is necessary when it gets hot in Rome. You can open the window but the garbage trucks will be really loud.

Great hot water etc. in bathroom.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FrequentTraveler333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for 4 nights ( 17-21May) in room 44. Like many of the reviews already posted, this hotel’s strength is its location. We managed to walk and explore every corner of Rome from this hotel……even Vatican only takes about 25 minutes from this hotel. We found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. The morning breakfast again is very basic consisting mostly of bread, yogurt, juice and coffee. The rooms are small and basic but were always spotless and orderly. Coming from North America, the ROI (return on investment) was a little bit of a shock for a basic 3 star property, but I guess this is how it is in Europe.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dutchhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2012

If it worries you that the rooms are small, the 'double' bed was two singles pushed together, the bed headboard was very rattly (the last two items not condusive to a passionate night!), and the lift (elevator) was very small, then don't book this hotel. However it has an excellent location, we walked everywhere apart from the Vatican, which was 9 euros from the taxi rank virtually opposite the hotel, the hotel was very clean with very helpfull friendly staff. Breakfast had a limited choice, but had excellent coffee, fruit juice and pastries. The only minus point that bothered me was that the shower was quite cramped, but all in all I'd recommend this hotel, we stayed 3 nights and I'm glad we booked the San Silvestro. There was a little noise from the road outside the hotel, but what do you expect if you stay in the centre of Rome? There were many bars/restaurants close to the hotel at a reasonable price, I'd recommend the nearby Pizza Ciro in Via della Mercede, don't be fooled by the name, it's a lot more than a pizza restaurant, and frequented by locals which says a lot. The hotel is also ideally situated for shopping.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eurotraveller58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2012

Small but good hotel. Rooms were very small, but everything was ok.
Breakfast room also very small, but breakfast itself was very good, great variety of choices.
Staff was very helpfull & friendly.
Very nice hotel & good location in the center of Rome.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erica D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2011

The Hotel is basic.Firstly I stay in a double room which was ok, but the last day they transfered me to a single room, which was just a corridor, very small bed and tiny bathroom.It is good that hotel location is perfect - 5 minutes away from Fontan di Trevi - so you dont have to stay in the room.
The lady who prepares coffees and capuccino during breakfast is very friendly and the cappuccino is great!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank angela97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Colonna
Residenza Montecitorio
Residenza Montecitorio
#577 of 1,269 in Rome
300 reviews
Campo Marzio
Inn Spagna Charming House
Inn Spagna Charming House
#281 of 1,269 in Rome
281 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel Forte
Hotel Forte
#307 of 1,269 in Rome
763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Colonna
Hotel Madrid
Hotel Madrid
#113 of 1,269 in Rome
863 reviews
Colonna
Hotel Concordia
Hotel Concordia
#653 of 1,269 in Rome
581 reviews
Colonna
Hotel Parlamento
Hotel Parlamento
#227 of 1,269 in Rome
761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Silvestro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Silvestro

Address: Via del Gambero 3, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Colonna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service
Hotel Style:
#209 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $106 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel San Silvestro 3*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel San Silvestro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Silvestro Hotel
San Silvestro Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing