We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and good location”
Review of Hotel Medici

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Medici
Ranked #264 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Although in need of a 'face lift' this hotel is clean and very nice front desk help. Our room was a triple which worked for me and my two daughters. The room was very simple but worked for us. The courtyard area is lovely and the sitting area is adequate. The breakfast was fine and was used by many. The price point of the rooms represented good value. There are good restaurants and convenient shops nearby. A good find for Rome.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (714)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

182 - 188 of 714 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2013

We got in late so perhaps the "A" staff was not on duty; they weren't unfriendly but not efficient either. The rooms we had were OK but old. I wish I could remember the name of the restaurant directly across the street (it might have been Henry Cow, although one would think I'd remember a name like that), but whatever one it was, it was excellent. Good food, pleasant upbeat atmosphere, reasonably priced.

The Medici is a good location, but unless they do some significant renovation, i wouldn't recommend it for much more than a night or two.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dgbader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We stayed here 5 nights and had a generally comfortable stay. Our room was probably larger than some of the others and was a good size to move about and relax in. The rooms were kept clean and we slept well despite a fairly noisy street below - the windows could block out most of the noise. The location was not very good with regards to the main sights in Rome and in hindsight we would have stayed somewhere more central. However we were able to walk comfortably to the Trevi and Borghese area, and were not far from the Metro station. Of the staff, one man was helpful while several others were completely useless. The buffet breakfast was good enough, nothing to write home about. Wifi barely worked even in the lobby, but if you really need internet there is one computer available to use.

All in all a generally comfortable stay but for this price you might get something better and more central.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaxRomanaXVII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Stayed 4 nights. Room was fine. Bathroom in particular was big. Breakfast buffet what one would expect. Found staff very helpful. Convenient for transport and short walk from Borghese area.We stayed in Room 211.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MockerkinEd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Need renovation , good location , very good personnel tried to help all the customers but some times thats not enough. To tell you the truth we were dissatisfied by the room that we had 115 first Floor . They provided us another room after complaining but the other room was worst 222 and we didn't change . The last day they offered us one bottle of wine just because they knew the problem.
Please inform the Manager that he must help the housekeeping to do their job better .
Thank you

Room Tip: Need some renovation . Good location the personnel very friendly .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nikolaos B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

It was difficult to get the room temp at a comfortable level. It was very cold and rainy during most of our days in Rome and we longed to return to a cozy room. The bathroom was a bit small as was the room, but overall it was one of the better hotels we resided in during our 10 day trip. The staff was very helpful and we found the overall experience very agreeable.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlotte P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
profroma, Front Office Manager at Hotel Medici, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Dear Customer,
our staff would be delighted to help and offer you an easy and confortable staying. Our staff is used to solve all problems as soon as it is awared and if they only knew your request in advance they could help you out soon. We inform you that in Italy the Rome Council allows to switch on the central heating through a special permission, in the morning and in the evening, but our property, in order to offer to all clients a confortable environment, has located in all rooms a private conditioning system to allow at any time to warm up the temperature in each room. Besides all our central heating has its own electric control on the radiator with 5 level of temperature. Regarding our rooms we wish to draw your attention to the fact that our Hotel is an early 20th-century building and rooms have been all shaped in a very historical palace of the center of Rome. We are happy to hear that you find all our staff pleasent and you had a good
memory of us.
Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

I found the rooms to be little tired and the bathrooms very, very small when i stayed here in Dec 2011. Staff over all was very helpful and professional. The location was excellent and many great cafes nearby. Easy walk to Forum and Coliseum from here.....

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank amtiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Ranieri
Hotel Ranieri
#298 of 1,271 in Rome
527 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Flavia
Hotel Flavia
#677 of 1,271 in Rome
601 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Miami
Hotel Miami
#209 of 1,271 in Rome
989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Exe Domus Aurea
Exe Domus Aurea
#316 of 1,271 in Rome
611 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Marcella Royal Hotel
Marcella Royal Hotel
#91 of 1,271 in Rome
1,774 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Lilium Hotel
Lilium Hotel
#267 of 1,271 in Rome
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Medici? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Medici

Address: Via Flavia 96, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#278 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#290 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $74 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Medici 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Medici Hotel is the perfect hotel for visiting Rome: the building is close some of the major monuments of downtown, about 10-15 minute walk from the Trevi Fountain, the Quirinal Palace, Villa Borghese and Via Veneto, the street well known for Fellini's movie "La dolce vita", symbol of "the sweet life" of stars and jet set personalities. The hotel is also close to Termini Station, then thanks to the Metro and public transport it is easily to reach anywhere else in Rome. The Medici Hotel offers to guests large and comfortable living rooms: the TV room, a comfortable meeting room for 8-10 people, the breakfast room where breakfast is served as a rich buffet breakfast (during the summer months it is possible to have breakfast in our beautiful outdoor garden). The rooms have every comfort (Wifi, Safety Deposit Box, Telephone, Air Conditioning, Laundry Service, Tv, Mini Bar, Room Service, Private Bathroom). The Medici Hotel is located within the Aurelian Walls, near the The Gardens of Sallust, a significant archaeological site: for this reason inside the hotel are visible some Roman remains found during the renovation works at the beginning of twentieth century. The area is lively and well served by bars, restaurants, pizzerias and shops during the day, it is quiet and peaceful at night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Medici reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Medici Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing