We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Medici

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Medici
Ranked #249 of 1,290 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Bay Shore, New York
Level Contributor
81 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

We got in late so perhaps the "A" staff was not on duty; they weren't unfriendly but not efficient either. The rooms we had were OK but old. I wish I could remember the name of the restaurant directly across the street (it might have been Henry Cow, although one would think I'd remember a name like that), but whatever one it was, it was excellent. Good food, pleasant upbeat atmosphere, reasonably priced.

The Medici is a good location, but unless they do some significant renovation, i wouldn't recommend it for much more than a night or two.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dgbader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

672 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    347
    115
    34
    5
See reviews for
180
225
42
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

We stayed here 5 nights and had a generally comfortable stay. Our room was probably larger than some of the others and was a good size to move about and relax in. The rooms were kept clean and we slept well despite a fairly noisy street below - the windows could block out most of the noise. The location was not very good with regards to the main sights in Rome and in hindsight we would have stayed somewhere more central. However we were able to walk comfortably to the Trevi and Borghese area, and were not far from the Metro station. Of the staff, one man was helpful while several others were completely useless. The buffet breakfast was good enough, nothing to write home about. Wifi barely worked even in the lobby, but if you really need internet there is one computer available to use.

All in all a generally comfortable stay but for this price you might get something better and more central.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaxRomanaXVII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cockermouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

Stayed 4 nights. Room was fine. Bathroom in particular was big. Breakfast buffet what one would expect. Found staff very helpful. Convenient for transport and short walk from Borghese area.We stayed in Room 211.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MockerkinEd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

Need renovation , good location , very good personnel tried to help all the customers but some times thats not enough. To tell you the truth we were dissatisfied by the room that we had 115 first Floor . They provided us another room after complaining but the other room was worst 222 and we didn't change . The last day they offered us one bottle of wine just because they knew the problem.
Please inform the Manager that he must help the housekeeping to do their job better .
Thank you

Room Tip: Need some renovation . Good location the personnel very friendly .
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikolaos B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthem, Arizona
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

It was difficult to get the room temp at a comfortable level. It was very cold and rainy during most of our days in Rome and we longed to return to a cozy room. The bathroom was a bit small as was the room, but overall it was one of the better hotels we resided in during our 10 day trip. The staff was very helpful and we found the overall experience very agreeable.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
profroma, Front Office Manager at Hotel Medici, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Customer,
our staff would be delighted to help and offer you an easy and confortable staying. Our staff is used to solve all problems as soon as it is awared and if they only knew your request in advance they could help you out soon. We inform you that in Italy the Rome Council allows to switch on the central heating through a special permission, in the morning and in the evening, but our property, in order to offer to all clients a confortable environment, has located in all rooms a private conditioning system to allow at any time to warm up the temperature in each room. Besides all our central heating has its own electric control on the radiator with 5 level of temperature. Regarding our rooms we wish to draw your attention to the fact that our Hotel is an early 20th-century building and rooms have been all shaped in a very historical palace of the center of Rome. We are happy to hear that you find all our staff pleasent and you had a good
memory of us.
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
191 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

I found the rooms to be little tired and the bathrooms very, very small when i stayed here in Dec 2011. Staff over all was very helpful and professional. The location was excellent and many great cafes nearby. Easy walk to Forum and Coliseum from here.....

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amtiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haverford, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

If a good hotel represents Lorenzo the Magnificent, this hotel represents the inbred, very end of the Medici line. We stayed here twice while in Rome. The room was right on the street, above the large garbage containers that are picked up very early in the morning. The room was sparse and a little down on its luck, with the shower having little pressure and alternating cold and hot water. Staff seemed overworked and generally tasked. Not many smiles going on. We had already prebooked and paid for our second stay, so we couldn't change our plans, but we did request a room away from the garbage pick up site for our later visit. Upon our return, there was no record of that and we ended up in Room 207 (A half can of soda and a used towel awaited us on the bed - overworked staff?) so avoid that hallway location if you are interested in some sleep. Same situation with the showers as well. Otherwise, it's a good location with many small restaurants nearby and a number of places to buy good fruits and vegetables, bread, meats/cheese and gelato. However, for this type of reasonably priced hotel, there are many more out there that are worth the money. This one isn't.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JSAJLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
profroma, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Medici, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Sir,
I am obliged to say that what you declare in your review is defamatory and not respectful of the hundreds of TripAdvisor users who have posted their reviews. All the reviews posted on TripAdvisor about the hotel Medici are true. I would kindly invite all the TripAdvisor users to check also the reviews posted on the main web portals ( such as booking.com or venere.it), in which they could easily find the same standard of reviews and rating about our hotel. As you surely know, only Guests who really stayed in the hotel can post reviews on these portals.
As an example you wrote about room 207. I understand that you were a couple, and room 207 is a single room with only one bed!
Further than this, I am confident that TripAdvisor could easily avoid this kind of frauds and tricks.
We had the pleasure of welcoming many people on the last months, and no one of them has complained, on the opposite, they said they were very satisfied and pleased.
At the hotel Medici we work with passion and we are grateful to all the TripAdvisor users for their reviews. Even some criticism are useful, as they push us to continuously improve our facilities and services. Your review seems only looking to destroy our reputation, but I am confident that all the TripAdvisor users could estimate it in the proper way, giving us the pleasure of welcoming them in the best way.
Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Lilium Hotel
Lilium Hotel
#225 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Ranieri
Hotel Ranieri
#236 of 1,290 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Flavia
Hotel Flavia
#589 of 1,290 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Lirico Hotel
Lirico Hotel
#206 of 1,290 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,176 reviews
San Lorenzo
Dock Suites Hotel
Dock Suites Hotel
#196 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Miami
Hotel Miami
#209 of 1,290 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Medici? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Medici

Property: Hotel Medici
Address: Via Flavia 96, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#279 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#290 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Medici 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Medici Hotel is the perfect hotel for visiting Rome: the building is close some of the major monuments of downtown, about 10-15 minute walk from the Trevi Fountain, the Quirinal Palace, Villa Borghese and Via Veneto, the street well known for Fellini's movie "La dolce vita", symbol of "the sweet life" of stars and jet set personalities. The hotel is also close to Termini Station, then thanks to the Metro and public transport it is easily to reach anywhere else in Rome. The Medici Hotel offers to guests large and comfortable living rooms: the TV room, a comfortable meeting room for 8-10 people, the breakfast room where breakfast is served as a rich buffet breakfast (during the summer months it is possible to have breakfast in our beautiful outdoor garden). The rooms have every comfort (Wifi, Safety Deposit Box, Telephone, Air Conditioning, Laundry Service, Tv, Mini Bar, Room Service, Private Bathroom). The Medici Hotel is located within the Aurelian Walls, near the The Gardens of Sallust, a significant archaeological site: for this reason inside the hotel are visible some Roman remains found during the renovation works at the beginning of twentieth century. The area is lively and well served by bars, restaurants, pizzerias and shops during the day, it is quiet and peaceful at night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Medici reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Medici Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing