We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too far from Rome City Centre”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Roma Tor Vergata
Ranked #682 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Too far from Rome City Centre”
Reviewed June 25, 2012

We stayed at the hotel in the hotel in April 2012 for a city break, what appealed to us most was the value for money for this "4 Star Hotel".

However the Hotel is certainly not of 4 Star standard.

The following is a list of issues that we had with the hotel:

- The biggest disappointment of all was the fact that the hotel was listed as having a swimming pool, however this was shut during our stay, with no mention of this prior to booking. The swimming pool was the main reason for us choosing this hotel

- Poor Service - We booked a double bed with a cot, however we received no cot and twin beds, when we raised the issue we were made to feel petty and the resolution was to combine the two beds together, which was most uncomfortable.

- Poor location - we did expect the hotel to be a short distance from Rome, however the Journey times were about 30mins from the nearest metro and then a further 15 mins to Central Rome.
If you miss the shuttle bus service the only way back is by catching a bus as it is too far to walk.

- Hotel Shuttle Service - This was provided on set times every day and felt like a blessing once we realised how far this was from Rome, however the shuttle service did not always run as advertised with very little communication to cancellations - which on one occasion left us stranded with my 14 month old son in a suburb of Rome.

- Cleanliness - Although the room was cleaned on a daily basis, the attention to detail was terrible as we had large gatherings of dust under the bed, which did not move for the duration of our stay.

- Noisy - The hotel is situated in a large residential area and near a Hospital, which made it difficult to sleep at night with an array of activity going on outside. Also we could here the guests in the room next door. There was also a disturbing creaking noise at night, not sure where it was coming from.

- Light - The hallway light would come through into the room.



- And a final kick in the teeth was a city tax of 3 Euros per adult per night, which we were unaware of at the time of booking.

The few positives were -

- Breakfast - a good selection of Food and very helpful and welcoming staff.

- Shuttle Bus Driver - the main driver for the shuttle bus service was very friendly and helpful and on one occasion waited for us as we were late getting back for the final bus service.

Overall we feel this hotel is not deserving of the 4 Star rating and the location is too far away for someone who wishes to experience the beauty of Rome at night.

Rome is a wonderful City and is probably best admired if staying in the City Centre, paying that little bit more for convenience would have probably made our stay a little more enjoyable.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nav08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    145
    132
    70
    59
See reviews for
68
74
20
201
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 30, 2012

The hotel is in the most distant corner of the Rome, probably even Roman Empire. Commute from your house, probably it will take less time to reach Rome. No meaningful transport way. Hotel rooms are good but location is not for the traveler who wants to see Rome.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Iustinianos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rome hotels

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2012

Just go there of you have got no expectations apart from sleeping.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dodino99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2012

I went in this hotel last month for a weekend, the service was excellent and the room were very clean! The restaurant room and the waitress were very professional and i enjoy my holyday! It was expensive for the kind of hotel. the reception service was good and very awsome receptionist are ever smiling! The wi-fi network was very good to connect to the internet, and the breakfast room was very beautiful for a good breakfast!!

Szia!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chisinau, Moldova
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Pro:
1. Nice rooms;
2. Free wi-fi (but you must ask at the desk every 24 or 48h for a new password);
3. Breakfast was good, and you can serve it on the terrace during warm season;

Cons:
1. Hotel stuff not very nice;
2. The location far away from citycenter (on average 1-1.5h to get there by fast public transport);
3. The neighborhood is shady and there's no decent place nearby to eat or have a drink;
4. Our double bed had 2 matresses, instead of a single big matress;
5. They don't have pool like it is shown on pictures;

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iuliancik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonds, Washington
Level Contributor
235 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2011

I have read the reviews of this hotel before I left and was quite apprehensive about staying there because of all the bad reviews. I have to say, for a tour group, as ours was, it was ideal. It is about twenty minutes from downtown, so if you want to explore in the evening, you have to take a taxi and they are not cheap in Rome. We paid 100 Euros to get there from the airport

Having said that, the rooms were very nice, they have wi-fi, and the breakfast is wonderful. Across the street is a small wine boutique that sells bulk wine. We got two litres of great red wine for 3.20 Euros.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Vnvet68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arad, Romania
Level Contributor
50 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2011

I chose this hotel because the price was very good and they had some great facilities from my point of view: free and safe parking, free shuttle to the metro station( which is very convenient if you ask me), free internet and an outdoor swimmingpool.VERY NICE OFFER! Unfortunatelly, the swimmingpool wasn't available because some maintainance work( in august), the internet was extremelly slow( but if you pay you can get a faster internet), the shuttle was scheduled only four times per day-2 in the morning and 2 in the evening- and of course the metroline was close for working and we had to spend between 3 and 4 hours per day in buses in Rome during the most busiest month of the year, August.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paullamar69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Aurora Garden Hotel
#938 of 1,257 in Rome
196 reviews
Hotel Jonico
#703 of 1,257 in Rome
336 reviews
Eurogarden
#479 of 1,257 in Rome
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Alba Hotel Torre Maura
#1,051 of 1,257 in Rome
282 reviews
Scheppers Hotel
#1,029 of 1,257 in Rome
258 reviews
San Lorenzo
Athena Hotel
Athena Hotel
#981 of 1,257 in Rome
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Roma Tor Vergata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Roma Tor Vergata

Property: Best Western Hotel Roma Tor Vergata
Address: Via Vico Vigano 24, Angolo Viali Duilio Cambellotti, 00133 Rome, Italy (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Roma Tor Vergata)
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#109 Best Value Hotel in Rome
#306 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Hotel Roma Tor Vergata 4*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
located 14 km from the centre of Rome, close to the A2 and Tor Vergata university. Close by are a theatre and a sports centre. Appreciated by guests on a business trip, the hotel has 211 air-conditioned rooms, including 6 for disabled guests, and 7 meeting rooms. A restaurant, a bar open 24/24, a terrace and a swimming pool are at your disposal. Wifi Internet access and parking possibilities are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Hotel Roma Tor Vergata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Tor Vergata Roma
Accor Tor Vergata Roma

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing