We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fawlty Towers in Rome”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Grand Hotel Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel Plaza
Ranked #619 of 1,290 Hotels in Rome
Naples, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fawlty Towers in Rome”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

We have been travelling by car from UK to Malta over the past two weeks and have stopped at various establishments ranging from: Premier Travel Inn's in Hampstead & Dover (good value) to Accor & Ibis in Winterthur, Reims & Lugano (love their new 'Budget Hotels), the Villa Laguna in Venice Lido (fabulous) and the Borghese Palace Art Hotel in Florence (fantastic), so you might say that we have had a reasonable experience of hotel standards both good and bad recently. As it was my partners birthday on the 28th April I had planned to arrive in Rome on the 27th and overnight at the Plaza as a special treat. The last time we stopped there Brad Pitt & George Clooney were filming 'Oceans something' and we were upgraded to keep us away from the chaos, this time the situation could not have been more different.
Using Booking.com to arrange the accommodation we arrived in the car to find Via Del Corso completely pedestrianised, (Saturday & Sunday) fortunately as could only happen in Italy, we soon had a walking police escort clear the crowds away to allow us access to the hotel but perhaps I should have been warned by this because upon arrival things went from bad to worse very quickly. Parking advertised as available on the B.Com's site was charged at €84 for 24 hours !!! Whilst understanding that it was a holiday weekend and thus staff were hassled, the arrogant attitude displayed by the reception manager was appalling and reminiscent of Basil Fawlty. When I asked for 2 key cards he told me in a very dismissive tone, 'I give you one now and maybe another later'..... I asked why and he simply ignored me.

The hotels general demeanour is shabby and long past its sell by date, dusty behind open doors and fading paintwork throughout. The room had a bathroom fitted out with circa 1980's B&Q white and grey tiles and a bathroom suite that was probably purchased from the same place at the same time, made worse by the pseudo 'Gold' fittings. Neither the bath nor sink plug would work, the 'over bath' shower had no curtain and the towels were threadbare.

The bedroom carpet was faded and despite the grandiose fabrics & enormous cushions used to decorate it, the room itself was 'tired' to say the least. Lighting was another non event as was Wi Fi (the room guide talked about dial up modems). I could go on but suffice to say check out was as bad as check in, the car was 45 minutes late being delivered from its very expensive overnight resting place and the staff arrogance was firmly in place.

A very brave effort at service was made by the doorman & porter and rewarded accordingly but unfortunately this was insufficient to repair the damage caused to our supposedly 'special' stay.

Therefore I say 'Beware' before booking this hotel, that is of course unless you enjoy stopping in Fawlty Towers.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    309
    319
    242
    212
    205
See reviews for
335
460
45
179
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
195 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

This is a grand hotel from the late 19th Century that is undergoing a modest refurbishment. The location is ideal for shopping and good for the historical sites. Rooms are large and bright. There are some very good deals on the hotel's website especially when you book 2 months or more in advance and they are cheaper than what is offered if you phone. This is not however a full 5 star experience. If you want that then head for the de Russie or the Hassler but expect to pay up to 3 times more. For example, there are usually only 2 or at most 3 people on the front desk which also doubles up as the concierge service so you may have to wait. However, I did find the service friendly and the staff were very helpful in obtaining restaurant reservations. Our bathroom had a big bath but only a hand-held shower. Breakfast was not that good.

Room Tip: Make sure that you will be put in a refurbished room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PJW22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

We had some trouble with our original accommodations booked in Rome. Because we were 4 women traveling alone in Rome, we sought out a better option our first evening. We stumbled into the Grand Hotel Plaza and knew we'd found the right place. The lobby is very regal with rich paintings on the ceiling and a very large lobby. The room was very large with a nicely appointed bathroom. We were on the 2nd floor, which was nice, and overlooked the street with lots of activity during the day. Not far from the Spanish steps and lots of shopping and restaurants, it was a perfect location. The staff were very friendly and accommodating. The door to our room required a regular key, which felt like a throwback from today's digital locks, but underscored the charm of the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cari F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

Good spot in Rome though and the room was clean.
But one important point when I chose hotels is WIFI in the rooms, which I was informed by telephone existed. This was NOT the case at all and it barely worked in the lobby. This pushed up the mobile 3G expenses considerably (although 3G in Rome is not well developed). The heating was unbearably high which ruined well needed sleep for 2 nights until they had to cut it completely. Unenthusiastic and bored staff (with a few exceptions) didn't do much to help up the general view of the hotel. Breakfast was very average.

Room Tip: Chose a room on the superior levels to get a view of Rome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rome hotels

dublin
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

On the positive side this very elegant hotel has a lot going for it. Great location, stunning lobby and comfortable bedrooms. It is not cheap and therefore one´s expectations are at the higher end of the scale.

Six drinks in the lobby cost €75 and the rather surly bar manager could not provide tonic for the gins and tonic we ordered!!!

Breakfast was adequate; the only hot dish was scrambled eggs and there was only white bread available to make toast. Finally the cost of having our car taken away to be parked overnight was a hefty €84!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LisDoonVarna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Level Contributor
127 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

The architecture of this hotel makes it stand out. Notably the beautiful stone staircase with a large stone lion at the bottom- a feature which attracts numerous tourist photos. Equally impressive is the extremely large lounge with its painted ceiling and adjoining restaurant. Those and the entrance combine to leave any vistor feeling like they are entering a place of history, style and grandeur. However, this is matched by the cost of staying here. Two hundred euros for a room and a glass of wine and a beer will set you back twenty pounds. Rooms are very spacious and well decorated although simple- probabaly the better for being unfussy. The bathroom was less impressive and felt in need of a make-over in the very near future. It lacked any classical style and was out of keeping with the rest of the hotel. Breakfast is ok althougn service can be inattentive and the food is split between sliced bread, rolls and scarmbled eggs or very sweet cakes which felt like they should be served after dinner. Coffee and tea are in urns and it felt like a five star hotel should offer a better service at breakfast . The service could be better in some regards. CNN was the only English television channel working and when i enquired abouit BBC World I was told it was working . Later i was promisedf it would be fixed. Severeal days later when I was due to leave it was still not dealt with. But generally the desk staff were very good. The hotel is in a very fashionable shipping area where most top brands have shops. Also just around the corner from the Spanish steps and a short walk to the Pantheon . If yuou are staying here make sure you visit the restaurant called Il Magutta . A refreshing change from all the Italian restaurants which largely offer the same menu. It is vegetarian but will please meat eaters too. Beautifully prepared food and very fresh- packed with flavour.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room ask for one which doesn't look onto the street as this is a very busy a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeedsCritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Whilst not being a prolific traveller but at the same time have travelled enough to appreciate quality and value for money. The following I would say are 5* hotels:

• The Landmark hotel in London – old hotel
• Gran Meliá Palacio de Isora in Tenerife – modern hotel

However, it cannot be said (in my opinion) the Grand Plaza on Via del Corso in Rome is 5*. I appreciate an old building maybe be ‘quirky’ and have a certain ‘rustic charm’ about it; but damp, mould, rot, non-functioning bathroom is anything but quirky or rustic. I appreciate the location of the Hotel adds a premium to the cost but still, it is not excusable. The Landmark hotel is an old building…so to say the Grand Plaza cannot be the same, in quality and cleanliness, would be another poor excuse.

Having arrived at the hotel around 2pm on the 30th December, 2012 – we then spent the next 10 hrs moving to 4 different rooms. The first room was dark, dank and smelled of damp and the skirting in the bathroom was rotten. The second room was much better, brighter in décor (we had also asked to be moved to a room with a bath – but we were informed that there were no baths)…however the shower did not work…. And we were told we would have to change rooms again… By the third room, I began to film and take pictures and paid more attention to the general demeanour of the rooms. To my surprise, the third room had a bath…even though we were previously advised that there weren’t any baths in the rooms available. The third room was passable…just about – we proceeded to get ready to celebrate my girlfriend’s birthday (hence this short Rome trip) to find the drainage leaky and the entire floor of the bathroom resemble a mini swamp after taking a shower, due to another non functioning bathroom room we had no choice but to change rooms for a fourth time. We wasted much of our first day, moving rooms rather than enjoying and celebrating my girlfriend’s birthday…the fourth room was, finally, in working order – though the overall quality of the room is still not 5 *. I had not booked this trip on any discounted deal or sale, indeed I paid the premium for a 5* facility which I did not get.

The location of the Grand Plaza is, indeed, 5* agreeing with all the other reviewers on this - very central, 3mins from the Spanish steps, Trevi Fountain, Trajan’s column. The communal/public areas of the hotel was 5* (see pictures of the other reviewers). The service of the staff when informed about the issues we had with the rooms were 5*. So, it stands to reason that the bedrooms, too, should be 5*…after all 5* price was asked and paid for. We are utterly disappointed by the quality of the rooms and it put a dampener (no pun intended) on what should have been a fantastic birthday for my girlfriend. I just like to reiterate that the staff and the service provided by the staff was as expected of a 5* service – patient and attentive. They cannot be blamed – it is the case of the fiddler being outstanding but been given a bargain basement fiddle instead of a Stradivarius.

Upon returning to the UK, we complained to Lastminute, whom we booked our stay at the Plaza through. After all, Lastminute posted appetising pictures of the product to entice the punters to book, so it stands to reason they should be responsible for the quality of the products they post on their website; and after 6 weeks, that’s right – 6 weeks! Lastminute replied with a standard company issued apology (I like that personal touch, makes me feel a really valued customer!), agreeing with what we had been saying all along. They even extended the apologies of the Plaza management but when it comes to reparation…it was a paltry and insulting. Talk, indeed, was cheap! For 2 nights, we had paid over £1,000 and all Lastminute could offer in way of recompense was a £40 voucher of the next booking…through Lastminute. So, Lastminute…that was poor on your part!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHPlaza, Direttore at Grand Hotel Plaza, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Customer,

We regret to note the issues you reported. Thanks for your photographic documentation, we were able to understand the inconvenience you have complained.
Actually we found the tub leaked water and unfortunately the hydraulic alarm did not work.
Therefore, we will take appropriate action about what happen and we invite you to make direct contact with our management board to have a refund for this uncomfortable situation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Campo Marzio
Hotel d'Inghilterra
Hotel d'Inghilterra
#433 of 1,290 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Grand Hotel Palace
Grand Hotel Palace
#224 of 1,290 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Ambasciatori Palace Hotel
Ambasciatori Palace Hotel
#296 of 1,290 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Grand Hotel de la Minerve
Trevi
Sina Bernini Bristol
Sina Bernini Bristol
#280 of 1,290 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 845 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Grand Hotel Via Veneto
Grand Hotel Via Veneto
#137 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Plaza

Property: Grand Hotel Plaza
Address: Via del Corso 126, 00186 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#287 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Plaza 5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our Luxury Grand Hotel Plaza Rome. The Grand Hotel Plaza was well renovated and restyled without altering its features and maintaining the fascination of its past history. With more than 150 large rooms with high ceilings, all rooms are elegantly decorated in each detail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, TravelUp and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Rome
Grand Hotel Plaza Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing