We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect venue for a gathering of international delegates”
Review of Grand Hotel Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Hotel Plaza
Ranked #706 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed December 17, 2012

The Grand Plaza Hotel was the perfect venue for our scientific conference. The wonderfully central location gave the delegates at the event a chance to enjoy Rome at their leisure by simply stepping out of the front door! The hotel staff were extremely helpful throughout the event and took care of every request efficiently. You have to see this hotel to believe the photographs, but it really is splendid. I highly recommend it to you whether for business or for pleasure.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,393)
There are newer reviews for Grand Hotel Plaza
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

507 - 513 of 1,393 reviews

Reviewed December 7, 2012 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel with two friends in November 2012. First impression of this hotel were amazing, the lobby and ground floor were mind blowing. I felt a little out of place even in chinos and a polo! Check in was very easy and the receptionist spoke very good English. The location of this hotel is brilliant, no more than 3 minute walk to the Spanish steps and very close to the Trevi fountain, many branded shops line the streets around this hotel and a good selection of restaurants can be found down the side streets.

The room was the only thing that let this hotel down, although it was sufficient for a group of 19 year olds, I'm sure other guests that frequently stay in 5 star hotels would have been disappointed. Air conditioning only worked in one of the two bedrooms, not so essential in November but still made sleeping a bit more comfortable. The flusher for the toilet had started to fall off the wall, and the bath was just a little too narrow for a shower.

Breakfast was as expected, selection of cereal, fruit, meats and cheeses, bread, cake and fruit juices. You could also order other breakfast items at your own cost.

There is a doorman, that seems to work about 5 hours a day, wasn't convinced that we stayed at the hotel when we tried to walk through the door. He asked us several questions and then went to ask reception as we continued to our room.

I probably wouldn't stay at this hotel again even though I didn't have too many problem and the location was excellent. I do think however that it maybe hasn't really upgraded in a few years and is not as seamless as it maybe once was and other 5 star hotels are now.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lewis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

This hotel is very nice and in a great location. I loved walking out of the hotel and in the middle of everything! The rooms were great and service was what you expect in a luxury property! I had the staff arranged a private car for my two days, they did such a great job! My driver was so knowledgeable gave me the ins and outs of everyplace . He got me to the front of the line at most of the sites and recommend that I should do a private tour of the Vatican which I'm glad I did because this was on a Wed. And the line was soo long , and I didn't have to wait ! That line was at least 2 hours long and €150 was well worth the tour and skipping that line. Just like every other place folks money talks and suc---- walk or wait on lines in this case! This place was good a bit expensive but worth it.
Tip- folks if you want to get things done and done the way you want no matter what class of hotel you are staying in you need to Tip everyone and I mean everyone . You have my word as an experience traveler , YOU WILL HAVE A GREAT TIME ! One more thing treat people like you would want to be treated just tipping is not enough! Just because you are staying in a 5 star luxury hotel doesn't give you the right to treat the staff like crap or belittle them like you own them . Just remember you are the Guest! I say this because I witnessed this , and these are the same people who wonder why they have a horrible stay!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Knicpo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

If you're looking to stay directly in downtown Rome, this hotel is has wonderful location and a god value for money. We also held a banquet dinner in the main ballroom and the hotel did a fantastic job

Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
Thank ac838
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for 6 nights it just got progressively worse
Shower over bath didn't drain so you were standing in ankle deep water, this stayed until cleaner came next morning.
Telephone we could receive in comming calls but not able to ring out for the first 3 days, then no phone calls either way for last days.
Problems with television sometimes you couldn't turn it on.
Room and utilities dirty.
We complained at front desk, staff said they would fix it straight away, never happened.
Final insult came on last morning when they changed dining rooms for breakfast, no toast available as the toaster was in use in other room, ended up having breakfast in hotel around corner.
There are other hotels around this vicinity so take my advise and give this hotel a miss.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janice f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Let’s be honest: who wouldn’t be impressed by a hotel with a marble lion a couple of meters long, at the foot of a monumental marble staircase? And what about a grand piano in the hall, which was actually played by Mascagni and you are invited to use only if you are up to the task? That’s the Plaza in Rome.
Every time I spend a night there, I find it fascinating: those details (but I may add much more) make one put up with facilities far from state-of-the-art, and a final bill that can be (alas!) impressive. The location is fantastic: within walking distance (however lazy you may be) from Piazza di Spagna, the Pantheon, Piazza di Pietra, Campo di Fiori, you name it.
The venue emanates vibes: it has a flavour of grand tour.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rap2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

The interiors of this old, historic "Palazzo" are spellbinding. The ceiling frescos, the glass panels, the furniture, all remind one of its past glory. But there is something amiss here--the place needs a thorough upgrade.
I was alone and was given a rather small room. There were minor inconveniences such as missing soap bowl in the shower, malfunctioning TV set (with no CNN) and faded rugs. These all speak of sloppy management, unbecoming of such a Dowager. At least those working in the front desk were genuinely helpful.
The location cannot be better.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rami Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHPlaza, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your nice review and for your pleasant positive comments about the beauty of our ancient and glorious “Palazzo”. Moreover, thank you very much to point up the helpfulness of our reception Staff: they were very pleased to hear about that. About the missing soap bowl and the non-inclusion of CNN in the list of TV channels, your note allowed us to check and resolve quickly this inconvenience.

We hope to welcoming you again in the near future!
Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Grand Hotel Palace
Grand Hotel Palace
#291 of 1,267 in Rome
424 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel d'Inghilterra
Hotel d'Inghilterra
#413 of 1,267 in Rome
170 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Grand Hotel Via Veneto
Grand Hotel Via Veneto
#131 of 1,267 in Rome
940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Ambasciatori Palace Hotel
Ambasciatori Palace Hotel
#256 of 1,267 in Rome
945 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Majestic Roma
Hotel Majestic Roma
#107 of 1,267 in Rome
1,119 reviews
Trevi
Sina Bernini Bristol
Sina Bernini Bristol
#309 of 1,267 in Rome
903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Plaza

Address: Via del Corso 126, 00186 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#311 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $222 - $560 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Plaza 5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our Luxury Grand Hotel Plaza Rome. The Grand Hotel Plaza was well renovated and restyled without altering its features and maintaining the fascination of its past history. With more than 150 large rooms with high ceilings, all rooms are elegantly decorated in each detail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Rome
Grand Hotel Plaza Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing