We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice italian hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel Hermitage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Grand Hotel Hermitage
Ranked #1,151 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    76
    104
    112
    168
See reviews for
60
123
41
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

Where does one start on commenting about this "1 Star Hotel". Like many European Hotels the Grand Hermitage's lobby is somewhat impressive. That's about where it ends.

The Grand Hermitage rates itself as a "Four star" hotel. I have traveled enough to realize that a four star in Europe is not the same as what one expects in North America. However nothing was close to even a two star rating.

-my first negative experience came when I had to deal with the front desk staff . They were rude and not helpful in any way. They just handed me the key ...and pointed to the elevator. No one asked if I needed help with my bags or informed me where or when the complimentary breakfast would be served.

-when I went to my room I was not surprised to see that it was the size of a closet. But I was definitely disgusted that the bed linens consisted of one thin bottom sheet over a bare mattress that had a twelve inch brown stain. The blanket looked liked it had not been washed in years. There was no side table reading lights...instead there was a small wall sconce three feet above the bed.
The top of the armoire had a layer of thick dust.

-the temperature in Rome was about 30 C during the day and cooler at night. However the A/C was not working and there was no breeze through the window. The second night I asked the front desk person to see if they had a fan...but they had nothing. He came up to my room and by the look on his face I knew he too thought the room was abnormally hot. (We discovered that the heating system was on instead of the A/C...and I was informed that it would not be changed till later in the week.) So after more complaining I was put into another room...a larger room that actually wasn't too bad. Note to single travelers. Book a room as a double...it may be a few dollars more but you will get a nicer room.

-the breakfast room was in a old dirty basement with curtains falling down. The table cloths were dirty and well used. Not once did I see a staff member clear the tables. You had to search for a clean one. As for the breakfast...I won't even start to try and describe it.

-one of the days I went up to the roof garden. It was old, tired and dirty. I think the hotel needs some updated photos....or a major renovation

-as for the good points. There was free Internet....and I enjoyed the location. It was in a residential area, clean streets and I felt very safe. There was a bus stop one hundred meters away. From there you could catch a bus that took only fifteen minutes to Termini Station.

You may ask why I chose this hotel after reading other Tripadvisor reviews. I unfortunately used Hotwire.com to book. They rated it as part of their four star establishments. When I was assigned to this hotel I checked the reviews. I emailed Tripadvisor immediately . They told me that they had just reviewed this hotel and it maintained its "Four Star" rating. I knew all of the reviews could not be unrealistic. I of course emailed them when I looked about my room. They said I had to actually phone them at my expense in the US to discuss the situation. Why I could not communicate with them via email like I had been doing is a mystery. Needless to say I will not use their service again......

So to summarize the Grand Hermitage....don't go if you are expecting a "Four Star" estamblishment.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank YYZKeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

I stayed five nights in this hotel and it was acceptable, but not the best choice one can make for to stay in Rome. It was clean and the staff was friendly. But the room was very small and looked as if the interior hasn't been renewed since a lot of decades. The whole hotel made the impression as if it had gread times, but also as if those days are gone. Degenerated elegance. But all in all it was okay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melanie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

No hot water and help from front desk is the worst I've ever seen, they said it would be fixed in 30min, it has been 24 hrs and they still keep saying 30min. Don't stay here even ifs free. A hostel would have better services

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greatdane85303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rome hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Athens
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

The pros and cons of this hotel are-
Pros: Nice and safe residential area
Clean rooms
Reliable wi fi
Very nice piazza (de muse) very close where you can have a coffee
Cons
Out of date decoration
Small rooms that need re-decorating
Horrible location-only one bus reaches the hotel (number 360) and far away from the metro. Be prepared to pay something from 14 euros to 22 euros from spanish steps. Italian taxis are not reliable with the price.
Breakfast has a good variety of food but not very good quality-horrible coffee.
Staff not very willing to help.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MVAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
94 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

I stayed for three nights at the Grand Hotel Hermitage. At the reception you feel it as a Grand Hotel. By the time you check in and reach your room, it is no longer Grand. Rooms are a bit small, the shower area very small. Not adequate plug facility to charge your batteries. Can plan and make it Grand and restore it's image.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RaviMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caxias Do Sul, RS
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

I confess I was curious about this hotel after reading so many negative reviews here and decided to check it out by myself in the the first week of the year, normally dedicated to my master team fencing training at the nearby Club Scherma Roma. The hotel is in "Quartiere Parioli", a nice residential area in the North of the city. There's a bus stop a few meters away and a easy 15 min ride takes you directly to Termini (central) Station from where you can walk, take the metro everywhere or the train to the airport. Rooms are nice, breakfast above average, wi-fi works all around for free, there's a mini refrigerator available ... so, I found it quite all right and I would never find anything similar in the chaotic city center without paying a fortune. Okay, there are some negative aspects: no free parking in the area in case you need it, one or another member of the staff appeared not to be in a good mood and - most important for me - the walls really should be sound-proof because you can easily listen to every single word or sound your neighbors make ... I mean every ! In the end it's worth the price. For more take a look at the pictures, they have a lot to say.

Room Tip: I will have to walk to find a restaurant at night so bring some snacks to the hotel or pass by the m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ricardo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Hotel San Giusto
#1,106 of 1,292 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Bled
Hotel Bled
#897 of 1,292 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
Smooth Hotel Rome West
#835 of 1,292 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Pineta Palace
#439 of 1,292 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 914 reviews
Parioli
Hotel Regent Roma
Hotel Regent Roma
#929 of 1,292 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
Esquilino
Siviglia Hotel
Siviglia Hotel
#962 of 1,292 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Hermitage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Hermitage

Property: Grand Hotel Hermitage
Address: Via Eugenio Vajna 12-18, 00197 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Parioli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#364 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Hermitage 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mid-rise hotel offering modern accommodations; situated in the quiet Parioli Quarter of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Grand Hotel Hermitage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing