We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, clean and comfy”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Exe Domus Aurea

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Exe Domus Aurea
Ranked #221 of 1,290 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good location, clean and comfy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2012

The hotel is a bit hard to find but it's in excellent location to Termini station, which is a transport hub. Also, airport shuttles stop here, so no need for cabs to get to the hotel from the airport.
The room we had was quite small, but for a long weekend it is ample size. The room was clen, plenty of towels provided and toiletries replenished daily. THe hotel is on a busy road, but has good windows, no noise comes in. Tips: there is a pizza place down the road (not towards the station, but the other way) on the other side of the road, perfect for cheap pizza, massive kebabs and coffee. Try to get refreshments etc in the station downstairs there is a cheap supermarket.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bedike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

579 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    289
    115
    27
    15
See reviews for
88
299
21
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2012

My daughter and I stayed at this hotel very recently on the last weekend of January 2012.

This smallish hotel is very well situated to the Roma Termini station; just exit the right side entrance, and turn left and walk along Via Marsala - after the crossing, it's Via Volturno. Less than 10 minute walk.

The moment we stepped into the lobby, we were warmly welcome by the receptionist (Flamina) who spoke excellent English, was courteous, friendly, quick and extremely efficient. We requested to put our passports in the reception safe and store our bag whilst we got back to the station to get on the trambus for a quick orientation of Rome. She gave us a receipt for both items, a brochure and a map and marked the hotel location, without being asked.
She also asked if we wanted twin beds as we had booked a double, so thoughtful!

The room itself was quiet, super clean (great cleaning staff who were also very courteous
), adequate (we did not find it too small, but then we are not big size or overweight), and had a nice shower, bidet, towels and all accessories.

However there was one big drawback - our room was very stuffy, the air conditioner seemed to just be blowing dry air, no matter how we adjusted the controls. Eventually we had to get up from bed and open the windows - immediately the street noise and air pollution got into the room, so we left the windows slightly ajar. My bed also creaked at the slightest movement but not my daughter's - this wasn't a big problem as I am a quiet sleeper.

I would rate the hotel Excellent if not for this.

If there's one thing that the staff themselves can improve on, it would be that they try to be as knowledgeable about other products besides the ones they are promoting, e.g. Open 110 trambus which was great value for money as it was only 25 Euros for 72 hours for both the green country as well as the red city tour buses. It was also the last Sunday of the month the following day which means that the Vatican museums were free which we found out when we got there, if this wast mentioned when I requested for information about visiting the Vatican, it would just be fabulous.

So, great staff who are a credit to the hotel and good, clean facilities.
Overall a good stay - would have been better if air conditioner was pre-checked thoroughly.

Room Tip: Have the staff check the air conditioner in your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank seniorOE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2012

If you want to stay in the Termini area, OK. Unusually good breakfast. Clean rooms. This is Rome, so there is no space.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcel0G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
121 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2011

We spent five days there just last week,December 17-22, and we really enjoyed it! there were four of us: husband and I, and two children. What I liked the most: very friendly and helpful staff, they would answer any question, very patient. Rooms were made every day, we had no shortage of any supplies: bathroom is equipped with all necessary. FYI: there are no tea,coffee facilities in the room, no bathrobe, no slippers. Floors are something like laminate, so not really cold or slippery. In general the room was quite warm, and the windows open fully. Big comfortable bed, side tables, writing desk, some stationery. The downside is- the size of the room! It's really small! Had a good substantial breakfast every morning, a good variety, all freshly made.
Location is great, just a few minutes walk from Termini station: metro, buses, trains- all are there. Plus very close to some major attractions.
Just around the corner a very good Italian restaurant recommended by Antonio.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnham-on-Crouch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2011

My wife and I stayed for 5 days from 14th to 19th December 2011.
The reception were friendly and efficient when we booked in and the Manager gave a personal welcome.
Our room was adequate although a little on the small side.
There was a very comfortable double bed, bedside tables, a wardrobe/drawers, a writing table and 1 chair and a fridge which contained a mini bar.
The window overlooked a side street which seemed quite and certainly there was no disturbance.
The weather was cold and we appreciated the heating system which provided hot air as well as air conditioning.
The bathroom had a shower but no bath.
The shower used a curtain which was difficult to keep in place resulting in a wet bathroom floor after a shower.
The room was cleaned daily and was left in spotless condition.
Breakfast was served from 7.30am to 10.30am and we thought that it was quite good despite several negative comments.
Having said that we normally have toast or cereals at home for breakfast so what was on offer was a treat.
There were three types of bread, two types of roll, 3 types of cereals plus several types of nut and dried fruit, yoghurt, scrambles eggs, bacon and sausages,jam, a variety of cold meats, hot pastries, cakes, gateau,croissants, fresh fruit plus coffee, tea, chocolate.
I don't know what else people who have complained want for breakfast!
The breakfast bar also has a nice view over part of Rome.
The manager seemed very thorough - we saw him checking a room after it had been cleaned and he checked the breakfast area each day ( I actually saw him checking the warming cabinets for cleanliness)
The location is great- It's about 10 minutes walk from the main Termini and about the same to a choice of two metro stations.
Reception will call a taxi if you want.
A great restaurant called Babbo's is across the road
Were it not for the size of the room and the shower I would have rated the hotel 5.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marsh-land
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2011

Me and my husband went to Rome for 3 nights during the first week of November and we stayed at the Eurostar Domus Aurea Hotel. The location of the hotel is great, its about 200m from the Termini Station so it's perfect to get around. All the major attractions of Rome are within a 10/15 mins walk from the hotel. We walked everywhere which is the best way to see Rome, however make sure you take a good pair of walking shoes as your feet will hurt otherwise!

The rooms are quite small but they are very clean and tidy - which is all you need really. Plus if your going to Rome your not going to be spending much time in your room other than sleeping so it doesn't matter if it's small. The beds are very comfy which is great after a long day sightseeing, however the walls are quite thin so you can hear a lot of noise from the other guests. The breakfast is good but make sure you get there early so you can have hot fresh food. They also provided a gluten free breakfast for my husband due to his allergies, which was excellent.

If you have to follow a gluten free diet then you'll be fine in Rome as most restaurants are aware of it and some even provide gluten free pasta. Just make sure you ask.

We visited all the major attractions whilst we were in Rome, and here's a few tips from what we learnt:

1) The Vatican Museums - it will cost about 12 euro each if you do this yourself, but it's well worth it to get a guided tour. This will cost about 40 euro each and you'll need to make sure you get a good tour guide. Also we found out that on the last Sunday of every month it's free to get in. You can also go to the top of St Peters Basilica for an extra 5 euro each.

2) Colussem & Roman Forum - it will cost about 12 euro each if you do it this yourself and about 25 euro each if you get a guided tour. I don't think it's worth having a guided tour here though.

3) All the other attractions are free so you can take your time exploring these.

Overall, Rome is a great place to visit and we will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlutenFreeWife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2011

I actually enjoyed staying here for 4 nights..nice, clean and friendly staff.. Only one complain Breakfast was horrible! Only get a room and you can find bakery or restaurants nearby and much cheaper and better.. wifi is fast and all around hotel! I am not a big fan of location..after 8 pm. Is dead!! I would stay closer to spanish step area.. Lots of things to do and eat:)

Room Tip: Close to metro but farther to attraction area
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PJcoolmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Selene Style Hotel
Selene Style Hotel
#124 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,235 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Camelia
Hotel Camelia
#127 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 811 reviews
Esquilino
Montecarlo Hotel
Montecarlo Hotel
#200 of 1,290 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Lilium Hotel
Lilium Hotel
#225 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Columbia
Hotel Columbia
#97 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
Esquilino
Windrose Hotel
Windrose Hotel
#347 of 1,290 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Exe Domus Aurea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Exe Domus Aurea

Property: Exe Domus Aurea
Address: Via Volturno 34, 00185 Rome, Italy (Formerly Eurostars Domus Aurea)
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#282 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Exe Domus Aurea 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Exe Domus Aurea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eurostars Domus Aurea Rome
Eurostars Domus Aurea Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing