We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Hotel des Artistes

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel des Artistes
Ranked #257 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Good value for money. Big rooms, very clean and nicely decorated. Good situation close to Stazione Termini and the Metro Station. Good breakfast and very service minded staff. Nice restaurants in the area if you are travellig with kids and don't want to go to far in the evening.
I would definetely not hesitate to come back.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Louise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,302)
There are newer reviews for Hotel des Artistes
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

384 - 390 of 1,303 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2013

My husband and I stayed there for 2 nights in February. We contacted them some days before and they gave us a great rate for a double room in the dependance with breakfast and internet included, but when we arrived there they upgraded us into a room in the main building (with 1 double and 1 single bed, n. 103) and, even if it was only 10 am, the room was already available.
The room was spacious and clean, decorated with mahogany furniture and lot of nice paintings, wide flat-screen TV, good-size electronic safe; the bathroom was not very large but comfortable enough with usual amenities; the bed was comfortable but pillows were rather thin; plenty of towels which were of good quality as the bed linen were. Wi-fi internet worked well. The room was facing via Villafranca that is a quiet side-street and we couldn’t hear noise from outside maybe also because of the well insulated window.
Breakfast is served at the same floor and there are three little rooms available with plenty of seats; it was really good: cereals, yogurt, milk, coffee, tea, hot chocolate, scramble and boiled eggs, bacon, sausages, sliced cheese, ham, salami, different kinds of bread, different kinds of pastries and cakes, honey, jam, Nutella, fruits.
On the 5th floor there’s a nice terrace where one can smoke a cigarette or relax in the sun.
The location is very good, only minutes away from Termini train Station. We walked to central area like Trevi’s Fountain or Navona’s Square, but sometimes we also took bus or metro from/to Termini Station.
The staff at the reception and at breakfast area was very kind and helpful. They let us leave our luggage in a storage-room at check-out (though they gave us no tag or receipt, as international hotels use to).

We definitely recommend this hotel and we’ll surely go there for our next visit to Rome!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dale63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DES ARTISTES R, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel des Artistes, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2013

Dear Dale63

Thank you for taking the time to post a comment about our hotel. Those were amazing shots of the rooftop garden. And yes, its a terrific place to hang out during the dummer time. When we read your review it made our day and we would like to thank you for that also. It is imperative to us that we know our customers are happy with our service and the best way for us to know is through reviews like your one. We are happy to know that we are performing well and that our guests are more than satisfied. Once again thank you for your comment and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Kinds regads,

Hotel des Artistes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Back home from one week vacation in Italy at the Hotel Des Artistes in Rome. Good rates and I even got a better deal and conditions when contacting then booked with the hotel personnally. Nice staff, clean place and a good breakfast. I will recommend it !!!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KristinaNoru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DES ARTISTES R, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel des Artistes, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2013

Dear kristinaNoru,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Des Artistes during your stay in Rome. We would like to take the oppurtunity as well to thank you for your very kind words on your comment.

We Hopte to see you again real soon!

Kind Regards,
Hotel Des Artistes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

The staffs are friendly and very helpful. The share room is very clean, big and comfortable. The only drawback is the WIFI which can be used only if you paid for it with 2 Euro per night. If you are looking for the cheap and good bed for travelling, this hostel must fit your intention.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CansenJIANG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DES ARTISTES R, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel des Artistes, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2013

Dear CansenJIANG,

Thank you for your wonderful review about our Hotel. Thank you very much and we look forward to having you again in the future.
Kinds regards
Hotel des Artistes Rome Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We had a lovely weekend (Feb 13) in the Hotel des Artistes, we would definitely go back there.

We liked:
- the room design
- the location (very central and near termini station)
- the bed confort
- the very friendly staff
- Mama Angella's restaurant near the hotel

We didn't like:
- The very cheap quality sweet breakfast with powder orange juice
- the bathroom (specially the bath/shower) that needs a serious refurbishement

Room Tip: You have to try Mama Angella's Restaurant located the street above the Hotel !
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sdiesel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

An excellent hotel. Clean, equiped with all the necessary amenities. The receptionists were very kind and helpful. And the location is very good. I only had a problem with the temperature during the night. It was way too hot for my winter pyjamas :p

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We were very happy with our recent stay here. The check-in was smooth (discount if paying with cash). Breakfast was good and plenty of variety. The location was pretty good...there is a Blue Line station about a block and a half away or you can walk to the Main Termini where you can get on either the Red or the Blue Line (about 6 blocks away). The room was clean and decent in size.The bathroom was also a decent size...the shower is small (but this is the case with almost all showers in Italy).

We took the train from the Rome airport to the Main Termini. We got lost walking to the hotel so I thought walking directions would be helpful: When you get off the train, walk towards track number one, then continue to walk out to the street (Via Marsala) and cross it at the light. Take a left and walk one block to Via Vicenza (look for the street signs up on the sides of the buildings in stone). Turn Right. Walk 5 blocks to Via Villafranca. Turn Left. The hotel will be on your Right.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank swishers5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#440 of 1,267 in Rome
294 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Giuliana
Hotel Giuliana
#127 of 1,267 in Rome
1,288 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prati
Colors Hotel
Colors Hotel
#249 of 1,267 in Rome
596 reviews
Hotel Lodi
#271 of 1,267 in Rome
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel des Artistes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Artistes

Address: Via Villafranca 20, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service
Hotel Style:
#244 Family Hotel in Rome
#286 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $66 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel des Artistes 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Des Artistes Hotel, located on a quiet side street in the city center and is perfect for a romantic getaway, a relaxing break or business trip. Is just five minute's elegant stroll from the city's main railway station Termini and a short walk from major monuments, churches, museums and other places of interest. For those of you that want to wander further afield, the Rome underground is just around the corner from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Agoda, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel des Artistes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Artistes Hotel
Des Artistes Rome
Artistes Rome
Hotel Des Artistes Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing