We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Value Friendly Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel des Artistes

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel des Artistes
Ranked #287 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great Value Friendly Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

A five minute walk from the Termini Station and just 2 minutes from the nearest Metro, we found this pleasant hotel to be perfectly located. The reception staff were extremely helpful on check-in providing us with a map of Rome and showing us some of the best places to eat. Our en-suite room (110) was clean however the view from the window included drying Italian underwear meant that we kept the shutters closed most of the time. There were no tea making facilities in the room and the bed was on the hard side. The breakfast was extremely good with plenty of choice on offer. Overall I would say this hotel represents excellent value for money for those visiting Rome on a budget.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oldhammer1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DES ARTISTES R, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel des Artistes, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Dear oldhammer1966,
Thank you for commenting on our hotel. We are very grateful that you chose to stay with us and we are glad that you were happy with your time here. We would like to appologize for the not so pleasant view you had during your stay. Nevertheless, we hope you had an amazing experience with our Hotel. Please remember that you can always ask our helpful staff for whatever you may need and we will always do our very best to see that your desires are met. Once again thank you for your comment and we look forward to seeing you in the near future.
Kind regards,
Joseph
Hotel Des Artistes Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    380
    544
    200
    64
    51
See reviews for
206
472
124
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
West Lafayette, Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

My room was 702 (most prolly.. you go there using another door in the building, not thru the main entrance door). Was traveling with my wife. First time in Rome. Spent 4 nights. Rome was amazing! totally loved it :)

In a nutshell: the hotel was good, but NO INTERNET :'(


Pros:
- Electrical outlets support American plugs, yaay! :)
- Nice high ceiling
- Spacious rooms
- Long towels (quality ok though)
- Nice old fashionable tap
- Bidet! I'm definitely gonna install one after I return back to the US :)
- Close to Termini station (turns out to be a major station in Rome).


Cons:
- Internet is NOT FREE. But even after you pay, you get a HORRIBLE SERVICE! bandwidth was not even 128 kbps; 150 times lower than the average speed you'd get in the US! :'(
- No carpet as described on their website. Traveled in December; the floor was darn cold. They didn't give slippers.
- No reception lounge! the moment you enter, it makes you feel it's like 0.5 stars hotel. The moment you enter the room, you realize that your first impression was wrong because the rooms inside are really nice.
- Breakfast was ok (a bit below average). Smells very horrible in the breakfast rooms..
- Some towels are made in Israel! I wouldn't have chosen that hotel if I knew that. I would not support a country that kills innocent babies and women.


Note: it takes some time for hot water to come (sometimes 5 minutes). I'm ok with that, it's just I feel bad for all the water wasted for nothing..

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hajjat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DES ARTISTES R, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel des Artistes, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Dear Hajjat,

Thank you for your review about our Hotel. We are please to hear that you had a wonderful time in Rome. WE would like to take this opportunity to appologize to the "Cons" you have encounted during your stay. Something just worth mentioning is that the Hotel does not support nor condone violence of any form, even if some towels you mentioned are supposedly in Israel.
Nevertheless, thank you very much for the amazing comments in the "Pros" column. Thank you very much and we look forward to having you again in the future.

Hotel Des Artistes Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2012

Hotel des Artistes lived up to its advertising and most previous reviews. It is, indeed, about five blocks from Termini with a Metro stop two blocks past the hotel. If you are walking from Termini for a first visit, heed their directions.

The room was ready, clean and relatively spacious; larger, though not as lavishly decorated, than the Standard Rooms in either of the two Best Western hotels on the same block. The beds were on the hard side, however.



The public rooms were only so-so.



Our first room was street side. Staying during the last week of November, we could not cool the room below the mid to high 70s f., too warm for us. We found out that the A/C side of the HVAC had been shut down for the season; attempting to use the A/C only activated the heat. Opening the windows to help cool the room was not an option due to both the noise and the near constant rain. Closing the windows did shut out most of the street noise, though. We stuck it out for two nights and then asked if a courtyard room was available.



One was and our request was accommodated, literally, on-the-spot. 



The courtyard room was everything the street side room was not; cooler, quieter and possibly a little larger. The bathrooms were hardly palatial, but more than adequate and with decent showers. The wall mounted flat screen TVs showed 150+ channels, most in Italian. We found a surprising amount of US content, mostly dubbed, but some not. The BBC World News channel was the only one with bad reception.



Previous reviews have mentioned the hotel's reception desk being on the 5th floor. While we were there Reception was relocated to the ground floor entrance. If we understood correctly, the move was temporary before moving to an adjacent ground floor space in keeping, apparently, with the hotel's ongoing program to update and upgrade the facility. 



The hotel's staff edged out the hotel's location for the best thing about the hotel. Uniformly polite, courteous and willing to help, we never hesitated to approach them. While their English language skills varied, and considering that our Italian is rudimentary, at best, we never had any trouble communicating.

Two complimentary internet connected computers were available for guest's use but Wi-Fi connections incurred a charge.



The buffet breakfast, included with our booking, ran from 7:00 to 10:00AM. The same items were served each day but the variety, quality and quantity, were more than adequate. The three breakfast rooms were pleasant and large enough to accommodate the overlapping breakfast crowd.

The elevator/lift worked well, but did have some idiosyncrasies.

Their rooftop patio appeared quite nice, but as it was raining most of the time we were there, we checked it out once and never got back.



Acknowledging Rick Steves' admonition to seek out restaurants on side streets serving lots of locals, we, none-the-less, ate at five different restaurants within only a few blocks of the hotel. With the exception of only one item, the food we ate was good to very good. Our meals, usually consisting of a carafe of house wine, one bottled water, splitting a pizza and an entree & desert apiece ran, at the then existing exchange rate, from $35-50. dollars.



We feel that the Hotel des Artistes succeeds quite well at their accommodation and price point. Comparing the rate we paid with the listed Rack Rates at the two aforementioned Best Western hotels, we found the BWs rates to be two to three times higher. (Rates vary, specials appear, so always check.) For anyone seeking accommodations central to Termini at this price point, Hotel des Artistes should to be on your short list!



Now, if they were to have some soft foam mattress toppers available . . .

Room Tip: Always ask for a courtyard room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jim E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
78 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

Me and my friend stayed in the hostel side of Des Artiste.
Although checking in is at the main hotel, our rooms were five minutes walk away in another building - just behind the Russian Embassy with 24hr military patrol. Felt really safe. And the building is just a stone throw away from Castro Pretorio Metro station - making it very accessible through the blue line.
We had a private double room with shared toilet which were clean and tidy, There was free wi-fi and even a huge LCD TV in the room.
It is worth nothing that the hostel is actually spread among the main hotel building and also the facility which is further away but extremely convenient.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bfbfbfbfbf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

after wandering the streets late one saturday night trying to find a place to stay, this place found us. we stumbled in looking for a cheap room and they directed us to there hostel area a block away. we would have paid the money, that we didn't have, for the hotel, and yet they still directed us to there cheaper hostel, which we greatly appreciated! it was the cleanest hostel ever and basically like a hotel room.

Room Tip: book online, it is cheaper then walking in. it should be only 15 plus tax for hostel room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
150 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel des Artistes for one night only after a cruise. Excellent location as it is walking distance from Termini train station. We wanted a hotel close to the train station, since we were coming back from Civitavecchia and going to the Fiumicino airport the next day with the Leonardo Express train. Close toTermini was our best bet.
We arrived around noon and we first told there was no room ready yet. But the reception Agent checked further and got us a room in the following minutes.

By the way, the reception is not of the 5th floor as I read in other reviews. It is right as you come in. What is on the 5th floor is a computer/vending machine area with a bar.
Also know that there is an elevator from the ground floor with only about 5 steps to go up to get to the elevator.
The hotel is well located in a street that isn't too busy so even if you keep your windows opened, it is not too noisy.
The room we had (403) was big and spacy. There was decent size bathroom, with only one drawback: getting into the bath (bath and shower together) requires a big step up. I am over 6 ft tall and found it pretty high.
The bathroom has a towel rack that is connected to the heating system, great for warming the towels. Everything is Artdeco the sink, the bath, etc.
In the room, there are many paintings, all of them beautiful. They are not serigraphies, they are real paintings. I would say some of them are rather old.
The bed was confortable, even more if you like a firm bed. TV had a wide variety of channels to choose from. There is a computer/coffee room on the 5th floor where there are vending machines. They also served breakfast at a cost, but we had to be out to the airport too early to take advantage of it (and be able to rate it).

Around the hotel we found many restaurants. There is a lot of choice, on the road going to Termini.

Thank you to Giulieta for her excellent service.

Room Tip: Room 403 is very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Montrealeronthemove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

The hubby and I vacationed in Rome for our 5 year anniversary and we booked through European destinations. Because of Hurricane Sandy and transportation issues surrounding it, we has to switch dates and hotels. We were worried about this hotel because we didn't have much time to research it, but it was great! Great location, breakfast was good enough and the people were very helpful! This hotel is very close to the Termini station which makes it so easy to get everywhere and there were even a few nice restaurants in the area. There was a grocery around the corner and great gelato as well. Everything you needed was pretty close which was nice. It was clean, quaint and simple. By no means is it a 5 start hotel, but they took good care of us.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shani G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DES ARTISTES R, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel des Artistes, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Dear Shani G,
Thank you for your wonderful review about our Hotel. We are more than pleased to hear every little detail on your review. It really makes the work of our staff rewarded. :) Our location is one of our main points, we are literally a block from the train station, where all means of transportation is located. If you have specific suggestion or reccomendations, it would be deeply appreciated. We are very pleased to hear that you've enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you very much and we look forward to having you again in the future.
Kinds regards
Hotel des Artistes Rome Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Prati
Colors Hotel
Colors Hotel
#315 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
Hotel Lodi
#259 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Continentale
Hotel Continentale
#374 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Al Viminale Hill Inn & Hotel
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel des Artistes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Artistes

Property: Hotel des Artistes
Address: Via Villafranca 20, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service
Hotel Style:
#243 Family Hotel in Rome
#286 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel des Artistes 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Des Artistes Hotel, located on a quiet side street in the city center and is perfect for a romantic getaway, a relaxing break or business trip. Is just five minute's elegant stroll from the city's main railway station Termini and a short walk from major monuments, churches, museums and other places of interest. For those of you that want to wander further afield, the Rome underground is just around the corner from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel des Artistes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Artistes Hotel
Des Artistes Rome
Artistes Rome
Hotel Des Artistes Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing