We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK Hotel.”
Review of Hotel De Petris

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel De Petris
Ranked #556 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed July 3, 2014

Reception staff very friendly but as we arrived an hour early for check-in, our luggage was put in a cupboard. We were a bit miffed they didn't let us into the room. After travelling all day, we really needed to freshen up before venturing out. As mentioned on previous reviews, if you get taken across the road to the "new" block, be prepared for basic accommodation. The rooms are not like the ones on the website! Its all fairly clean and the shower was huge and powerful, a major bonus! but it all felt a little unloved. It reminded me of a youth hostel! The roof terrace is nice and you get a free drink on your first night! But you don't come to Rome to stay in the hotel! The location is FANTASIC!! Amazing city. Had a great time. Hotel - OK.

Room Tip: If a special occasion, try and get in the main hotel in one of the rooms advertised on the website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Southern03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteldepetrismanager, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel De Petris, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you.

We are sorry if you felt miffed before checking in, but check in time (as clearly written everywhere) is 2.00 p.m. When it is possible we give the room earlier, but...when possible. When clients check in we do not know their flight time, and even if we did, we cannot ask clients to leave their rooms before check out time in order to give new guests the rooms before check in time..it would not be fair.

We are sorry you did not like the "new block" of rooms as these are all renovated rooms and most of them are shown on our webiste. In any case we would be more than happy to give you another room in order to satisfy your requests.

We really really hope you to come back visiting us, as we would be more than grateful to have you once more here and to make everything possible in order to make you staying even nicer.

Best Reagrds

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,418)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

212 - 218 of 1,418 reviews

Reviewed June 8, 2014

We were greeted by a very friendly and welcoming staff who worked hard to meet our needs. The room that we had was spacious and very clean. The breakfast was plentiful and served in their rooftop restaurant. We had only one glitch - no hot water on our last day - but even that did not damper our experience. I would gladly stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sadie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteldepetrismanager, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel De Petris, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind comment!!

We are sorry about problems you had the last day but we are glad you understand these kind of things can happen.

We really hope you will come back visiting us!!

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Since last time I had visited the hotel de Petris has built a gorgeous rooftop breakfast and afternoon drinks venue! What a wonderful way to start the day in such a wonderful city and when you need a moment it's a perfect place to relax for your next adventure of either sightseeing or shopping. Just a perfect spot.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sofia951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteldepetrismanager, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel De Petris, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you!

We are glad you appreciated our efforts to get better and better!
We are gald you appreciated, noticed and loved all this!

Thank you for being our guest and.... come back soon!!!!!

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

My friend and I were pleasantly surprised with this hotel. First, they answered all of our emails promptly before our trip. Second, we booked a shuttle to and from the hotel to take advantage of our time since we only had 2.5 days in Rome. The staff looked after this for us and let us lock our luggage in the hotel before and after check in so we could enjoy the city luggage-free. The staff was SO friendly and helpful - always smiling at us when we came in or out. Our room was another pleasant surprise. The room size and shower was perfect, furniture was new looking and everything was clean. We were in room 209 and overlooked the street by the hotel entrance. We kept the window open at night, enjoying the sounds of Rome and sleeping well both evenings. The first night we were starving, and the hotel staff recommended a fantastic place around the corner where we could get affordable authentic Italian pizza and pasta - loved it. We also received a welcome drink upon our arrival and enjoyed breakfast on the roof terrace each morning. There were alot of choices and we left feeling very full. To top it off, this hotel is in an ideal location - perfect to walk all over, which we did!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lori N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteldepetrismanager, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel De Petris, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your beautiful comment!!!!
It was great to have you here and when we read comments like yours we understand we did a good job!!!

Thank you again and we really hope you will come back soon visiting us!
Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2014

Very great location to visit Rome, in a few minutes you can reach Barberini place, Trevi fountain, Spain place, Condotti street and other famous places. The staff speaks a lot of languages, the hotel is little, but rooms are great and clean. Breakfast is served in a beautiful terrace on the last floor; nearby the hotel are some good restaurants.
The hotel was ok.

Room Tip: Higher floors are more silent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claudio N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteldepetrismanager, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel De Petris, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for appreciating our Hotel in the very heart of Rome!!

It was a great pleasure to have you here and we really hope you will come back next time in Rome!!

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2014

Location is good. This hotel has two bldgs. Our first room was OK with a disaster of a bathroom. They voluntarily moved us to their "renovated rooms". Don't book into the "renovated" bldg across the street. It doesn't seem to be a hotel. When it was Renovated could not have been recently. Carpet is absolutely filthy. No English TV. No soap. No cups.
The rooftop terrace for bkft is very nice.

Room Tip: Book only in the main bldg. Ask many questions. Don't let them put you in a handicapped room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WANDERERflorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteldepetrismanager, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel De Petris, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2014

Dear Guest,

We are sorry about your comment. It does not even seem you have been in our Hotel.

We do have English channels, cups and soap. Our goal is to satisfy our clients and we knew you were not we would do our best in order to satisfy your requests, as we do with all our guests.

We hope, in any case you will come back visiting us.
Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Great location, walking distance from the Spanish steps and trevi fountain. The hotel is difficult to find if you don’t have google maps. There are plenty of places to eat near the hotel. We did not take the breakfast and ate breakfast at the local cafes situated near the hotel
The room size is decent and one has place to keep 2 big bags. The shower is good and even the toilet is fairly big. However the walls are paper thin. There was a small baby in the next room, and he kept us awake with all the crying.
The staff is not very friendly, but do help you with the maps and basic details. The hotel is quaint and nice looking.
Would definitely recommend it, as all major sights are within walking distance.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shraddha79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteldepetrismanager, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel De Petris, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment.

We are gald you appreciated our Hotel but we are really sorry you did not like our staff. Our staff is always ready to help our clients in any matter... maybe you did not have occasion to experiment our kindness.

We really hope you to come back visiting us in order to change mind about it and in order to have another occasion to have breakfast on our beautiful roof.

Thank you again and Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trevi
Hotel Fellini
Hotel Fellini
#151 of 1,271 in Rome
795 reviews
Trevi
Hotel Julia
Hotel Julia
#358 of 1,271 in Rome
654 reviews
Trevi
Hotel 2000 Roma
Hotel 2000 Roma
#896 of 1,271 in Rome
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trevi
Hotel Hiberia
Hotel Hiberia
#191 of 1,271 in Rome
1,083 reviews
Trevi
Accademia Hotel
Accademia Hotel
#220 of 1,271 in Rome
1,263 reviews
Trevi
Hotel Azzurra
Hotel Azzurra
#509 of 1,271 in Rome
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel De Petris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De Petris

Address: Via Rasella 142, 00187 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trevi
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#165 Business Hotel in Rome
#282 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $69 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel De Petris 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Splitty, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel De Petris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Petris Hotel
De Petris Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing