We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but that's it”
Review of Hotel De Petris

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel De Petris
Ranked #584 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We recently stayed at Hotel De Petris for 5 nights. Upon check in, we were told "you're in the residence." The desk clerk asked us to follow her. We went outside, had to carry our own bags, crossed the street and got to the door of what appeared to be an apartment building with some full time residents. We were handed the key card, told to go to the second floor and enter the first door on the right. And that's where she left us. Once we figured out that we had to put the key card in a slot to get the lights and electricity to work , we found a clean yet very stark, dark depressing room. There was a nice dish of fruit to and note from management to welcome us. There was also a sheet that said if we need this or that to call...unfortunately, there was no phone in the room. The shower was roomy, yet the clogged shower head hanging from the ceiling smack in the center of the shower was a small torture chamber. It was impossible to avoid the sharp drops of water that darted into your eyes.
On our second day, we had a driver come to pick us up for an excursion. When he went to the front desk, they had no idea who we were and told him they hadn't heard of us.
The one morning we went across the street and upstairs for the breakfast, they were still setting up past the time they were supposed to be open.
I would not reccommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteldepetrismanager, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel De Petris, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Dear Guest,

We are very sorry concerning your comment above all beacuse we did not at all you had such a bad time during your staying.
First of all the room you had was a superior renovated room (those shown on our website) so we thought to make a nice thing by giving you that room. In any case if you would mention your problems we would change your room with no problem at all.
Second, sometimes (or better quite often) it happens that guests reserve the Hotel under one name and tour under another one. So probably this is why we did not know you were waiting for a tour. Even if this is not a service reserved with us and which we are liable for, when possible and when clients tell us, we are more than glad to help clients with their excursions and in any case we always ask to drivers to wait for clients as long as possible.
Concerning the fact that you had to take your luggages by yourself we are sorry but we do not have the personnel to bring luggages, we are just a 3 stars Hotel (but also in this case if clients have problems or just ask we have no problem in helping them of course).
Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,426)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

247 - 253 of 1,426 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2013

Hotel de Petris is in the heart of Rome. It is too close to Bernini metro station where you can come easily from Termini. We walked everywhere from the hotel. We stayed in new building of the hotel. Everything is new and clean. The staff is so kind and helpful. First day we had a wifi problem, we said to the reception and it is solved. We tried the breakfast and it was also wonderful.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank IpekKutbayGode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteldepetrismanager, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel De Petris, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Thank you so much for your nice comment!!

We are glad you enjoyed your staying in our Hotel!

Thank you again and Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Very good located, with a very friendly stuff.
Nice breakfast with a lovely location (On the roof)
Basic rooms. At first we had a room with a very very small shower .
We asked to move and the a day after we moved to a a nicer room with a bath.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a bath!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mark d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteldepetrismanager, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel De Petris, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your nice comment!

We really hope you to come back soon

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Great location in the Quirinale sector of Rome with easy walking distance to pretty well all of the main attractions, 2 min to Palazzo Barberini, 5 min to Trevi Fountain, 10 min to Spanish Steps, 20 min to Colosseum and about 30 min to the Vatican. We found it a very nice, safe neighbourhood whether strolling in the early morning or later in the evening. Rome is fairly safe, just be watchful of pickpockets, especially around the crowded main attractions. There is a De Spar mini market 1/2 block down the street. Loved the rooftop breakfast overlooking a bit of the skyline of Rome, it was a great way to start your day. Ample selections and great coffee too. We stayed in Room 201 which was a good size and also had a balcony looking over the courtyard, bathroom was a decent size with a tub. Room had a safe and good air conditioning. The elevator didn't always work when called, times when you had to swipe your card over the button inside and out (other times you didn't). We booked the private car service the hotel provided to pick us up at the airport and would definitely recommend it, only slightly more than a taxi, but much more convenient. Also close to Roma Termini, about 8-9 euros by taxi. All of the staff were excellent, whether front desk, rooftop or housekeeping. My only comment would be although the bed was quite large it was very hard, also the pillows, otherwise I would have given it a full 5 stars.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank georgie773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteldepetrismanager, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel De Petris, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your detailed comment!

We are glad you enjoyed your staying and we hope you will come back soon!

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We stayed 3 nights in hotel de Petris in september 2013. The hotel is very nice with friendly staff and with an excellent location. Having breakfast on a sunny roof terrace in Rome is the best!!
The room was small, as usual in Italy, but with a good bathroom and good beds.
We recommend this hotel to anyone!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Miekenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteldepetrismanager, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel De Petris, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your impression about our Hotel!

It was a great pleasure to have you here and we hope you will come back soon in our Hotel in the very heart of Rome.
Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Our criteria for this hotel was its fantastic location. - easy walking distance to everything we wanted to see. Good price, clean and tidy. The hotel is an easy walk to the train station and to the Hop On Hop Off buses, to take you to the places you can't walk to.
The hotel staff were very pleasant and accomodating, we arrived well before check in and they allowed us to change clothing from a long flight and store our bags until the room was ready. The room was small, but very comfortable, it took us a while to work out the hot water, but all was good in the end. The breakfast was great with a wide variety of food styles to suit all nationalities. The hotel is off the main street, down an alley, but this gives it a quiet atmosphere away from the busy street.
We enjoyed our stay here and would definately stay again

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BruceSheree W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteldepetrismanager, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel De Petris, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2013

Thank you so much for you nice comment!

Thank you also for understanding that some small problems can always happen but we are glad that in the end everything was fine and you came back satisfied. This is the most important thing!!

We really hope you will come back visiting us as it was great to have you in our Hotel!
Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

The location of this hotel is excellent - walking distance to the Trevi Fountain, Spanish Steps etc and there are lots of restaurants nearby. The hotel is on a fairly quiet side street - very important in Rome if you do not want to listen to cars and scooters going by outside the window. Our room was small but certainly adequate. Request a room that is not on the street side and several floors up. The lovely breakfast room is located on the 5th floor and has beautiful views of the city rooftops.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the upper floors and not on the street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2travellers336
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteldepetrismanager, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel De Petris, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2013

Thank you so much for your nice comment!!

We are glad you enjoyed our Hotel in the heart of Rome but, at the same time, in a quite street.

Hope you will come back!
Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trevi
Hotel Fellini
Hotel Fellini
#155 of 1,271 in Rome
798 reviews
Trevi
Hotel Julia
Hotel Julia
#363 of 1,271 in Rome
658 reviews
Trevi
Hotel Trevi
Hotel Trevi
#458 of 1,271 in Rome
1,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trevi
Nuovo Hotel Quattro Fontane
Trevi
Accademia Hotel
Accademia Hotel
#228 of 1,271 in Rome
1,276 reviews
Trevi
Hotel 2000 Roma
Hotel 2000 Roma
#895 of 1,271 in Rome
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel De Petris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De Petris

Address: Via Rasella 142, 00187 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trevi
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#165 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $60 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel De Petris 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel De Petris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Petris Hotel
De Petris Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing