We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Holidays in Rome”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel De Petris

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel De Petris
Ranked #474 of 1,290 Hotels in Rome
Nicosia, Cyprus
1 review
“Holidays in Rome”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

Hello. One day while talking with friends who will be traveling for vacation, we decided to take a vacation in Italy. Since all agree about Rome, I looked and I chose including the Hotel de Petris which stood in the center of town and the prices are reasonable. As for the transfer from the airport to the hotel was easy. We took the bus which was a few minutes travel distance. Along with a map in hand, in a few minutes we were at the hotel, it was not hard to find. At the hotel we were greeted pleasantly and with plain English colluded with the reception we went to our rooms. We booked two rooms where we stayed three people in each. The room was medium size but it was a clean room tidy with the necessary materials to a room. After all, would stay in the rooms only to sleep. The room was clean every day, beds and convenient air conditioner worked fine. At the reception that we needed our assistance helped. Even when traveling outside our city sandwiches prepared to spend the morning with us. The main hotel is in an area where you can go anywhere. In stores go walk in the city and generally can be moved around the hotel to go to any attraction you want very easily. Overall we are quite happy and if I go back there or we give advice to any hotel in which to stay this is a very good choice.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PANAGIOTIS S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteldepetrismanager, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel De Petris, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for putting your kind impression.

We hope you will come back visiting us very soon!!

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,349 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    332
    596
    258
    96
    67
See reviews for
332
622
24
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manning, South Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

The Hotel de Petris has a beautiful little courtyard out front with many potted plants and trees on either side, including rees bearing fruit. The staff is friendly, courteous and helpful. The gardens and interior areas are old and classic. There is an old, round marble staircase that runs up through the center of the building, circling the glass elevator. It is a marvelous mixture of antiquity and modern convenience. The stairway is accented with tall arched windows looking out onto the gardens. Our room, as well as our bathroom, was simple, classic and very modern. We upgraded to a superior room and it was a wise choice. From what I have read in reviews of other hotels, our room size was most generous. There was a lovely balcony and the breakfast was excellent. Our dream is to return to Rome; we will stay here again. The location is perfect, in easy walking distance of the Trevi, Spanish Steps and the Pantheon.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PennyJ139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteldepetrismanager, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel De Petris, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Dear Guest,

It was a real pleasure to have you here in our Hotel and we are more than glad you enjoyed your staying.

We really hope you to come back soon.

Best Regards and Happy New Year
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
102 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

The location is great with walking distance to Fontanna Trevi, Barberini Metro and a couple of great restaurants. The breakfast is good and the only annoying part is the elevator to the 5th floor which takes several minutes. The room (situated in the outside building) was small but convinient and equipped with a great shower. Value for money was very good!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Avi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteldepetrismanager, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel De Petris, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind impression!!!!

Hope to see you again in 2013!!

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

The location of this hotel was great. The rooms were very clean and the staff was friendly. The inclusive breakfast had many items to choose from. What was a real asset was that the sites such as the Trevi fountain , Colosseum, Pantheon were all in a short walking distance from this hotel.
The underground Metro station was a short walk away which provided easy access to the Vatican and area.
There were lots of places close by to enjoy a great meal .
This was our first trip to Rome and we were not disappointed .... would highly recommend this hotel

Room Tip: We were on the first floor and our friends had a room that was over a bar so it was somewhat noisy f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barabas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteldepetrismanager, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel De Petris, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for being our guest..we hope you will come back again!!

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

This place is literally 5 minute walk to the Trevi Fountain and 7 minutes to the Spanish Steps. We stayed here in the low season (end of November) and the price was great! You get a buffet breakfast, which is amazing - so you save at least 5 euro per person by not having to eat breakfast elsewhere.
The room was big enough for the two of us - spacious bed, heater, TV, good shower. Staff were very friendly and helpful.
I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who is in Rome for the long weekend or longer.

Room Tip: As for the room not facing the street, since the noise during the weekdays can be a bit much. You ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anton K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteldepetrismanager, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel De Petris, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Client!!!

Thank you so much!!!!!

We are so happy for your satisfaction and we really want you come back very soon!!!!

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

I booked this hotel with Expedia which I do most hotels to find out when I get to the hotel that they are wanting to charge me almost 3x what I booked. Then they try to get this city tax from you and want it in cash such a scam.
Also the rooms are hot and so nosey. Horrible Stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 403bean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteldepetrismanager, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel De Petris, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Client,

We are sorry concerning what happened during your staying. Unfortunatly as we explained many times during your staying and as you well understood (or at least it seemed you did) it was not our fault but it was an error of the reservation channel you chose. And in any case even if it was not our fault we gave you a discount (thing that you omitted to write in your review).
Concerning the city tax it is not our choice to do so but it is a tax imposed by the City of Rome, that is why we require the payment in cash (for which we ALWAYS give a regular receipt, you can read yours and you will find your payment in cash for the city tax).

We hope we have been clear enough in this explanation and we are sorry you were a victim of someone else's error.
Best Regards

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

We made our reservation for superior room for November.The first room did they gave us was not did not meet our expectatitons.Because the room had a only one window and did not have a balcony.And the nexy day we wanted to change to room with a balcony and Mr.Marco provided us a better superior room with a balcony and a better bathroom.
So,especially Mr.Marco was very helpfull concerning the new arrangments and all other stuffs,that we greatly appreciated.
The hotel is in the very center of the city and the very close to metro statiton what we really liked.
The staff were very kind and friendly and the breakfast was very good.

If we come again ,we will definately stay in the same hotel in November.

Zafer & Ekaterina

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zafer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteldepetrismanager, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel De Petris, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for appreciating our Hotel and our efforts to meet your expectation.

We are really glad you enjoyed your holiday and we are sure you will come back again (we hope so).

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trevi
Hotel Fellini
Hotel Fellini
#170 of 1,290 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
Trevi
Hotel Julia
Hotel Julia
#322 of 1,290 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
Trevi
Accademia Hotel
Accademia Hotel
#227 of 1,290 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trevi
Residenza Ki Rome
Residenza Ki Rome
#307 of 1,290 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
Trevi
Tritone Hotel
Tritone Hotel
#349 of 1,290 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
Trevi
Hotel Trevi
Hotel Trevi
#452 of 1,290 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel De Petris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De Petris

Property: Hotel De Petris
Address: Via Rasella 142, 00187 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trevi
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#165 Business Hotel in Rome
#282 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel De Petris 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel De Petris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Petris Hotel
De Petris Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing