We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed by the condescending desk staff”
Review of Hotel De Petris

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel De Petris
Ranked #597 of 1,272 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed November 6, 2012

My husband and I had such a great trip to Italy with so many great accommodations that the Hotel De Petris was a big disappointment. I loved Rome on my last trip and expected the same friendly welcome. While there were many great aspects to this hotel, the front desk were certainly not on that list. They were condescending, sarcastic and generally unhelpful when asked direct questions. That being said, here are my remaining thoughts.

PROS
Fantastic location! Just a short walk away from the Trevi Fountain and Piazza Barbarini.
Wonderful rates through Booking.com. Booked in January 2012 for an October 2012 stay and got a Superior Double room for an average of €93/night in October.
Breakfast was good and even had an egg breakfast casserole one morning.

CONS
Front desk staff who did their best to ignore us or treat us like we were imbeciles.
Noise on the street for those with windows facing the street.
Room was not very spacious for this upgrade.
Elevator situation a strange setup and often had long waits.
Breakfast area is quite small for a hotel this size. I can imagine it must be quite crowded during the busier season.

Would stay here again for this price, but don't expect any love from the staff.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oklahomagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteldepetrismanager, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel De Petris, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

Dear Client,

We are quite sorry concerning what you wrote about our staff, as we know we do our best in order to accomplish all our clients requires and the most of our clients (as you can read in all the other comments) are more than satisfied about it. We are sure there were some misunaderstandings between you and our staff, as we love our job so as we love our clients.
Concerning the breakfast room it is quite strange you found it small as it is on a huge terrace and clients never have problems to find a seat. The lift is often busy during the morning as clients go to have breakfast, and we think it can be quite normal.
Concerning your next visit, we are more than sure you will love our staff and we are looking forward to welcoming you in order to show you how helpful we can be!

Thank you and Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,438)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

339 - 345 of 1,438 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2012

Photo on web site for standard room looked acceptable, so we opted for this hotel. however, the room we got was not in the main building, but across the street on 5th floor, no one to help with luggage up 10 stairs to the elevator. Room's only window opened on a small balcony belonging to the next room with smokers! There was no place to sit other than one desk chair and the bed. Breakfast included was fine. We travel Europe and do not expect North American standards, but this was not acceptable for two people.Staff told us the room was in"newly renovated" in residence. More likely apartment broken into single rooms.

Room Tip: Make sure you see the room and know where it will be in main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dobie_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteldepetrismanager, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel De Petris, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

Dear Client,

We are really sorry you did not like your room, as we thought to do a nice thing by giving you a superior room instead of a standard one (as per your reservation). The balcony was a plus and if your neighbourgs were smokers we are really sorry about it as all the Hotel is no smoking but outside it, people can do what they want to...but we can understand it could be not so nice. Concerning the luggages, when it is possible we help clients but our Hotel is a 3 stars one so, we do not have a porter. Probably when you arrived the reception was busy and we were unable to help you.
In any case we are sorry you did not mention your unsatisfaction concening your room during your staying as we would change the room with a more comfortable for you immediatly...

Thank you for being our guest and Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Stayed for two nights, great location, easy walking distance to many popular sights and some good restaurants nearby; however, it's all a bit tired, my room was possibly in the middle of plumbing central and what is it with the lack of a proper shower, with all the gorgeous Italian-designed products surely they can get a shower attached to the wall, the hand-held one I used, of course, did a series of 360 degree turns, not great when you want to wash your hair. WiFi was a bit hit/miss. The room was clean, comfy bed, decent breakfast and the Reception staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tazzat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteldepetrismanager, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel De Petris, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Thank you for being our guest.

We are sorry you had a shower which was not proper for you but if you would ask we would change the room with one with a more comfortable shower for you.

We are more than sure next time you won't have any kind of problem and you will have a great staying!!

Thank you and Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

The reception is poor, the sofas are spoiled, the entrance is common with 3 different hotels types, the lift doesnt work properly, the rooms are of bad taste, and the bathroom is old with no proper shower. Overall you really dont have value for your money, i dont understand how this kind of hotel got 3stars? Nevertheless its location is great.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Milou294005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteldepetrismanager, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel De Petris, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Dear Client,

Sorry but your comment makes us smile. Yes because all you write is completely different from our clients so maybe your vision of our Hotel is a little bit wrong (as for example the entrance which is not in common with any other Hotel but it is just of our)...Maybe you are writing about the wrong Hotel...in any case we would be glad to have you as our guest next time you will be in Rome..

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights in October 2012 with another couple. We were pleasantly surprised at the size of our corner room! The price was very reasonable, especially considering the location. We walked everywhere - to the Colosseum and even to the Vatican - and saw many other sights along the way. Breakfast was served on the 5th floor roof top and there was always a great selection of food to choice from. The staff at the hotel and the breakfast area were very professional, but friendly. Even when someone didn't speak English, we were able to communicate with smiles and hand signals. We would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Rome! Karen D, Texas

Room Tip: We booked two Superior rooms with king beds. Our room was a corner room and was much larger than mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteldepetrismanager, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel De Petris, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Thank you soo much!!!!!!

We are glad you enjoyed your staying!!!!!This means we did a great job and we really hope you will come back very very soon!


Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

We found this hotel perfect for our needs. Three couples (55+) had it as base while kriss-crossing Rome for 5 days in October 2012. Clean rooms, hard but comfy beds and a hearty breakfast in the roof-top facilities was enough to give the character "Excellent". And it would be even more excellent if the wifi had been working.

Kjell

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hkjell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteldepetrismanager, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel De Petris, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Thank you so much for putting your impression!!!!
We are glad you enjoyed your staying and we are sorry concerning the wifi problems you had! Next time it won't happen!!

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

The hotel location is ideally,close to everything you need.Only 5 minutes walk from Fontana di Trevi and Spanish steps.A reasonable cost for the location.The room was nice and clean.The staff were so welcoming and helpful .Specially thanks to Marco!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anna d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteldepetrismanager, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel De Petris, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Thank you sooo much!!!!

We are really glad you did appreciate our Hotel and our staff!!1

We hope you will come back soon!!

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trevi
Hotel Fellini
Hotel Fellini
#155 of 1,272 in Rome
815 reviews
Trevi
Hotel Julia
Hotel Julia
#367 of 1,272 in Rome
667 reviews
Trevi
Hotel Trevi
Hotel Trevi
#427 of 1,272 in Rome
1,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trevi
Trevi 41 Hotel
Trevi 41 Hotel
#83 of 1,272 in Rome
699 reviews
Trevi
Nuovo Hotel Quattro Fontane
Trevi
Accademia Hotel
Accademia Hotel
#222 of 1,272 in Rome
1,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel De Petris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De Petris

Address: Via Rasella 142, 00187 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trevi
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#165 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $69 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel De Petris 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel is located 5 minutes walk from the Trevi Fountain and the Spanish Steps from the Piazza di Spagna, in the heart of the city. Beautiful rooms with elegant atmosphere and all modern comforts, contribute to making Hotel De Petris just like home. We like to think of Hotel De Petris as an "exclusive" hotel. Our location is a plus whatever you choose to do in Rome: cultural attractions, religious, shopping, restaurants, opera, business, sport events (rugby). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel De Petris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Petris Hotel
De Petris Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing