We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Anglo Americano
Ranked #745 of 1,261 Hotels in Rome
Beirut
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Location, location”
Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at anglo americano for 3 days as part of our honymoon in rome.
The location is the best quality of this hotel. It is right in the center of rome, close to trevi fountain, spanish steps, pantheon, via sistina, and many others. The metro station is a 2 minute walk from this hotel.
The rooms are very small but that is not a problem as we only used the room to sleep. Rome is a dynamic, vibrant city with lots to see and do.
The 2 discomforts we had were the shower that was so small you can barely move in and the breakfeast buffet which lacked diversity.
Nonetheless i do recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RonySaouda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

888 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    309
    239
    105
    91
See reviews for
292
330
38
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dennis, MA
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed at Hotel Anglo Americano in Rome last week. The location is very good and the hotel is clean. Unfortunately the rude staff behind the desk made for an unpleasant experience.

The breakfast sitting room is adequate, but the breakfast service area was very tight and difficult to maneuver as people tried to choose items for breakfast. When in Italy, you cannot expect an American breakfast. Stick with yogurt, cereal, or pastries, which are good. If you don't like their coffee, try cappachino.

Our room was very small. We could not pass each other. There was no place to open a suitcase except on the floor blocking the door or on the bed. Beds were not comfortable. Our friends had bigger rooms but still found beds uncomfortable. Showers have tiny doors. If you are not a small person, it will be difficult to use.

The hotel was clean and within walking distance to many things, but it was NOT for US!

Room Tip: Not sure about location of rooms, but if you find your room to be VERY small, ask for a change. Desk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BettyCapeCod_MA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rome hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gibraltar
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

A very clean hotel, staff very friendly and helpful.
downside, Breakfast, not enough Cups or teaspoons, have to wait for it!. Not a good selection of local fresh bread.

Our room was clean and confertable, bathroom, you have to sit on the seat slowly as not to bang your head against the basin.

overall i would go back again.

Room Tip: Second floor ,room 2018!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kenneth o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012 via mobile

Nice clean hotel right near the Trevi fountain and some restaurants. We arrived late after a 22 hour flight from Australia, still managed to have a late supper , the room was quite large and bathroom modern.. We also saw a few sites the night we arrived, and had a meal nearby.
Everything was fine!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ellen4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

The hotel is a two minute walk from the subway and a 10 minute walk from Trevi Fountain. With lots of dining options in the area this is a good option. We upgraded to the Superior room (about 30 Euro per night) and the rooms looked exactly as they do on hotel website. They were clean, modern, and the a/c worked well. The front desk guy wasn't the friendliest...but that type of thing doesn't bother me much. The free breakfast buffet was decent and the WiFi worked well (it cost a few Euro for every two hours of time). I would absolutely stay there again.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the Superior.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We were in rome for 2 nights. The hotel is right next to a metro station. Lots of bars and small italian restorants in the streets near by. All the big sites are 20 minutes walking. The location is great. The staff was very nice and kind and helped us immidietlly with anything we wanted. good and clean rooms. Highly recommended if you stay in rome!!!
Asaf

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank asafkobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

Our room was really small! Just enough room to barely walk around the bed. The location was great though. The hotel did have an a.c., but they would not turn on?? We overheard another guest complaining to the front desk. They told him they were not working, but we were pretty sure they had just disabled them. Although it was fairly cool weather, the rain prevented guests from leaving the windows open. So, the rooms were stuffy without the a.c. working. The rooms were clean. Hotel staff were helpful and friendly. They also understood English really well.

Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ashley K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Campo Marzio
Hotel Trevi Collection
Hotel Trevi Collection
#499 of 1,261 in Rome
806 reviews
Trevi
Accademia Hotel
Accademia Hotel
#208 of 1,261 in Rome
1,189 reviews
Trevi
Nuovo Hotel Quattro Fontane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Colonna
Hotel Sistina
Hotel Sistina
#702 of 1,261 in Rome
227 reviews
Trevi
Barberini Hotel
Barberini Hotel
#313 of 1,261 in Rome
671 reviews
Trevi
Boutique Hotel Trevi
Boutique Hotel Trevi
#580 of 1,261 in Rome
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Anglo Americano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Anglo Americano

Property: Hotel Anglo Americano
Address: Via delle Quattro Fontane 12, 00184 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trevi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#318 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Anglo Americano 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern 6-story Hotel located in main shopping area, overlooking Barberini Gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Anglo Americano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anglo Americano Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing