We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a bad experience”
Review of Hotel Columbia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Columbia
Ranked #95 of 1,272 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Due to security reasons, my bank did not allow this particular hotel attempts to block any amount of money, so prior to arrival Columbia had been sending me several emails related to this situation...that´s why upon arrival they were kind enough to upgrade us to a superior room. Checking in was very slow since they have just one person there and italian law requires them to take a lot of data form guests. For Rome standards the room was huge, bed felt and was extremely clean with really nice pillows, bathroom felt clean at the begining but then I found someone else´s hair in the shower. Very nice bathroom amenities ( including teethbrush ). Room furniture was quite dusty, the black phone looked grey !!! Breakfast was nice and a couple of very friendly ladies made it better. Location is good and felt safe.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank carolaramosv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (857)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

319 - 325 of 857 reviews

Reviewed June 12, 2013

As a former client of the now-defunct Hotel Venezia, I elected to try the Columbia out of loyalty to the Diletti family. Staff at the front desk recognized me and upgraded me to a top floor spacious room, which had murano glass chandelier and nice Old World furnishings. Great service was also one of the reasons I chose this hotel. Noise from the street below was easily blocked by the doublepaned windows and shutters you could easily draw. Breakfast here like the Venezia's is absolutely comprehensive, including fruit, cheeses, yogurt, eggs, ham, pastries, bread, etc etc, though the (orange?) juice tasted a little odd. What I would give for another slice of that polenta-like cake they served every morning! Location is just a few blocks from the main train station - convenient, but not where you would want to wander around late at night on your own very often. Nevertheless there are many restaurants up the road from via Viminale so you have adequate choice in that regard. Metro stations nearby included the Reppublica and Termini stops.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AbeLincoln115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Nice, clean rooms in a convenient area near Termini (go with "superior" for the extra space). The entire staff was very welcoming and helpful for duration of stay. LOVE the breakfast on the sunny terrace!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sugarae23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Even tho our stay was short, we enjoyed it and found the staff to be pleasant and helpful, and our room comfortable. As other reviewers have said, this Hotel is an eclectic mix of old and new. Modern lobby, and elevator (the elevator is very funky, lights on the ceiling change color as you climb floors), oldish room. Very comfortable beds. Breakfast was good. In fact Anke (great receptionist!) offered to call us upstairs in the breakfast room, when our transfer arrived. Most things are in walking distance. Area is busy, with lots of foot and vehicle traffic, so its not like you are in a dicey, secluded area. As two females, we felt comfortable, tho we did not venture out late at night.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Coconutluv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Stayed 3 nights from May 17th through May 19th. Hotel was excellent. The staff are wonderful and it almost felt like home from home. We would recommend this hotel for anyone looking to stay in Rome for a few days, easy walking to all of the sites.

Dave & Robbie

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marytaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Stayed for four nights in February. Location is great, we found all the top attractions within walking distance - We walked for most of our trip. It was clean and tidy, lovely breakfast and friendly staff. Restaurants just up from the hotel were very reasonable and served a range of tasty dishes. This was just what we needed, a small quiet hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jayne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Our 3 night stay from 10th May was very nice. The room was very clean, and the bed comfortable. The staff were very friendly and efficient. The rooftop terrace where breakfast was served was very pleasant. I would like to thank the hotel for surprising us with a nice bottle of complimentary bubbly when they found out it was my wife's birthday. They must have noticed it on her passport.
If you want a clean,reasonably priced hotel with a convenient location, you can't go wrong with this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bulldog49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Selene Style Hotel
Selene Style Hotel
#122 of 1,272 in Rome
1,350 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Cortina
Hotel Cortina
#65 of 1,272 in Rome
745 reviews
Esquilino
Smooth Hotel Rome Termini
Smooth Hotel Rome Termini
#48 of 1,272 in Rome
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Amalfi Hotel
Amalfi Hotel
#88 of 1,272 in Rome
973 reviews
Esquilino
Suite Dreams
Suite Dreams
#115 of 1,272 in Rome
1,517 reviews
Esquilino
Al Viminale Hill Inn & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Columbia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Columbia

Address: Via del Viminale 15, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#70 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $98 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Columbia 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Columbia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columbia Hotel Rome
Hotel Columbia Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing