We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location, Location!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Memphis

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Memphis
Ranked #407 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Location, Location!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

I stayed just for one night there. What can I say:good 3* hotel in the perfect location (just few minutes from metro station Barberini and 10 min walking from Spanish Steps). My single room was very tiny but you have spacious bathroom as a bonus. If you are claustrophobic it might be the problem. I was ok with that. I just slept there and did not spend much time inside anyway. Breakfast was just ok, nothing special ,enough to get you going. Front desk people are nice, spoke good English, friendly. Overall I have no complains.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NewYorkCheburashka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    185
    64
    28
    15
See reviews for
105
190
31
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014

Just back from a recent visit to Rome and stayed at this lovely hotel. The location is perfect (5 mins walk to the Trevi Fountain and about 10 mins walk to the Spanish Steps). Next to the hotel are some lovely restaurants which serve good quality Italian food. The front of house staff are very helpful and interact well with people staying at the hotel. I would most definitely recommend this hotel for someone wishing to sight see in Rome!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lola J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marathon, Florida
Level Contributor
104 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

The staff was friendly and helpful, breakfast good and good setting. Elevator great for heavy luggage. Because of good tourist location it was noisy at night. Would highly recommend. Triple room worked great.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jckeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014 via mobile

My fiancé surprised me with a trip to rome for valentines day and our anniversary. Hotel memphis was in the perfect location. Loads of nice restuarants near by and the trevi fountain was only a 5 min walk. The hotel staff were very friendly. The breakfast was lovely and very tasty. The room itself was a good nice, with a comfy bed and a lovely shower. Such a good price for the location and quality. I would definitely recommend hotel memphis :-D

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Hayley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

Great location. Walking distance to all main attractions and the Metro. Clean rooms, very helpful and friendly staff. Good price, breakfast included, continental, but plenty of it. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Viv C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

My partner and I have just returned from 4 nights at Hotel Memphis and we absolutely loved it. The location was even better than I expected, just a few minutes walk from the Trevi fountain and less than ten to the Spanish steps. We walked back to the hotel from both the Colosseum and the Vatican easily making it just so convinient for exploring the city.
The hotel itself was clean and tidy, could not fault the room as the perfect place to relax after a day of sightseeing. The hotel staff were very friendly and always willing to help, providing wifi codes, directions, recommendations and booking taxis for the airport run. Breakfast was great and the perfect start to the day, easily kept us going until lunch. I wouldnt hesitate in reccommending this hotel to friends and family.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charlybee23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgecrest, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014

First time in Italy and this place/people treated us like we were long lost friends. Arrived at 830 in the morning and after the long flight it was nice to be met with smiles and a hi- we have your rooms ready for you- as if they'd all been just waiting! The breakfast was a typical European faire, but there were a lot of choices to make. They even packed a box for us on the day we went to Pompeii. The employees were friendly and over extended themselves to help us with directions and all the questions we had. I thought the room was great- small but it was only me, plus it had a window ledge that over looked the terrace below. And, I didn,t need my room except for sleeping and showering so that was ok by me. The location can't be beat, as so many others have stated, it's close to everything. I think the longest it took to walk anywhere was 20 minutes. The hotel is nice, but it's the employees who make the stay. I will be back!

Room Tip: I had room 401.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank csmosna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trevi
Hotel delle Nazioni
Hotel delle Nazioni
#229 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,056 reviews
Colonna
Hotel Stendhal
Hotel Stendhal
#151 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 836 reviews
Trevi
White Hotel
White Hotel
#145 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Colonna
Spanish Art Hotel
Spanish Art Hotel
#587 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Colonna
Hotel Siena
Hotel Siena
#376 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
Trevi
Boutique Hotel Trevi
Boutique Hotel Trevi
#572 of 1,291 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Memphis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Memphis

Property: Hotel Memphis
Address: Via Degli Avignonesi 36, 00187 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trevi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#217 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#269 Family Hotel in Rome
#298 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Memphis 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Nozio Netplan srl, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Memphis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Memphis Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing