We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fantastic hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Memphis

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Memphis
Ranked #405 of 1,290 Hotels in Rome
Siena
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“fantastic hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

This is one of the best hotels I have ever stayed at. The location is amazing near trevi, the hotel staff were very helpful and the rooms were superb. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who was to have a great experience in Rome.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LucianoOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    187
    64
    28
    15
See reviews for
106
191
31
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
NEWCASTLE UNDER LYME
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

I have stayed at the Memphis last year and was impressed by the hotel and very helpful staff.I have just stayed there for a second time and cant believe how helpful the reception and staff are.My room was immacuetely clean with fresh bed and towel linen changed everyday,the location is extremely good and within walking distance of most places.i look forward to my next visit Michael Hilton.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MICHAEL H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

Great location right near Trevi Fountain. The room was very clean and it was a modern room (great AC). Breakfast was great. The walls were a little thin, but it didn't bother us too much. You need to pay for the WiFi, but once we paid it worked great and the staff helped us with any issues. I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Rome and would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

Like the other reviews yes it was a great location. The room was very clean and modern our room had a balcony (not much of a view) and it did let light in. The walls are thin but it didn't bother us because we were sightseeing most of the time. Breakfast was good same as you would find in a U.S.A. breakfast bar type hotel. Our bags were lost and the front desk tried to help us by making numerous phone calls for us. Thank you very much!! The staff was also very helpful with maps and sightseeing tours as well as transportation to and from. I would recommend this hotel and will return when visiting Rome.

Room Tip: Room 404 had a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beachlover50064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights in August 2012 with my sister. I did a lot of research on hotels and I wanted a good location as well as clean and safe. The reviews were pretty spot on for this hotel so i kind of knew what i was getting into. It definately has pros and cons.

Pros: location is great. Five minutes from trevi fountain and San crispino gelato...the rooms are nice and clean. Probably the best air conditioner I had in Europe. Bathrooms r really nice and modern.

Cons: the staff isn't so great. They're helpful with questions about Rome. The free breakfast was kind of gross...but u can get some yogurt and croissant to start ur day off. The walls are very thin which I had read about but didn't think it'd bother me. The first morning we slept in a little late and were woken up by all the noise of people getting ready and leaving...it was awful. The second night our neighbors banged on our walls saying we were being too loud when we walked into our room talking. It's not the biggest deal but should just be noted. Wouldn't say it's a deal breaker. The biggest con for us was the lack of wifi. They claim u can buy it and I tried each night and the Internet just didn't work. Rome has no free wifi anyway so this was really annoying for us as we couldn't get in touch with our family to let them know we were safe. They did recommend a place called white just up the street where they have wifi but just like the rest of the places, u had to buy something.

All in all, it's ok. It's clean and nice and a good location....but there r definately cons that should be noted. I probably wouldn't come back here

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank 06agallo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

A great location for exploring Rome close to the metro and a stone's throw from the Trevi fountain. Breakfast was excellent and spacious with good service. Rooms were well decorated, modern and clean. However, noise through the hotel does travel and did disturb us through the night.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Remarhotels, Direttore vendite at Hotel Memphis, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback, we are thrilled to know that our hotel was able to accommodate your visit in Rome and we are looking forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kindest regards
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

This was not my kind of hotel but i wouldn't say it was bad.
+ I found the staff friendly and helpful and the hotel was clean and in a good condition. I think it's in a good location, it was in walking distance of the trevi fountin, the vatican, the vatican museum, the colosseum, the villa borghese, the borghese gallery and more tourist areas in Rome.
- I did not like how small the hotel felt. Whilst having breakfast i felt uncomfortable as the staff watch you eat. I also found the walls very thin, you could hear conversations and doors close in the hall and i could also hear the people in the room next door. The rooms were very dark as the windows didn't allow much light in. I didn't feel like i was in Rome because of this.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank molly g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Remarhotels, Direttore vendite at Hotel Memphis, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Dear Molly,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel.
It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay.
Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve our standards.

We are sorry that you didn't fully appreciate our hotel, we hope to have you again as our guest in the future.

Kindest regards
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trevi
Hotel delle Nazioni
Hotel delle Nazioni
#230 of 1,290 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,067 reviews
Trevi
Boutique Hotel Trevi
Boutique Hotel Trevi
#577 of 1,290 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
Colonna
Hotel Siena
Hotel Siena
#357 of 1,290 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trevi
Barberini Hotel
Barberini Hotel
#319 of 1,290 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
Trevi
White Hotel
White Hotel
#151 of 1,290 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 948 reviews
Colonna
Hotel Stendhal
Hotel Stendhal
#154 of 1,290 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Memphis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Memphis

Property: Hotel Memphis
Address: Via Degli Avignonesi 36, 00187 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trevi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#215 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#269 Family Hotel in Rome
#298 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Memphis 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Nozio Netplan srl, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Memphis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Memphis Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing