We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Marghera Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Marghera Hotel
Ranked #808 of 1,290 Hotels in Rome
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I chose this hotel for its proximity to Roma Termini- and it was wonderful for that. The rest of it, not so good. The room was small, but to be expected of a hotel in Rome. Our shower didn't drain properly, so there was standing water in the shower for hours. When I told the front desk, he said he could not fix it, and would have to wait for the owner the following day.

There were ants on the bathroom floor and climbing by the headboard of the bed. There were water stains on the ceiling at the entrance of the room and in the bathroom, and the main bathroom light did not work.

It was only for 1 night, so I dealt with it, but I felt very "itchy" all night. I'm sure there are better places close to the train station.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    43
    22
    10
    20
See reviews for
32
80
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights with two teenage daughters in September 2012. We had the top floor which had two separate large rooms and a newly renovated bathroom which was fantastic but at the time of our stay had no blinds or curtains. The hotel is very close to the train station and an easy 3 minute walk even with bags. The breakfast was OK and pretty typical from what we found at other hotels of the same standard. We would stay there again particularly in that family room.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Craig H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

terrible, with a poor breakfast and expensive wifi. the owner is rude and impolite - I've moved to another hotel!! we were distreated in the reception many times and they tried to take more money from us.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BrunaChiappetta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rome hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Reading, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

Good Location NEAR Trainsportation QUALITY Rooms VERY GOOD STAFF DONT MIND THE OWNER HE IS GRUMPY BREAFEAST GOOD we had room 412 for 4 but where only two of us room has TWO BALCONies ON TOP FLOOR renovated rooms are very nice A lillte less money than other hotels wicth makes it A BARGAIN

Room Tip: Take the upgrade rooms its a better room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ICADDIMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seal Beach, CA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

While not a 5 star hotel, Marghera Hotel was wonderfully sufficient for my needs! It served my purposes perfectly. The location, the accommodations, the breakfast, and mostly the staff and the owner made my 2 day visit wanting me to return to Rome, and when I do, I will book Marghera Hotel again.

Anything you might need, from a practical standpoint, is just down the block at the train station Termini. One can walk, as I did, to the Vatican, the Colosseum, the Forum, Pantheon, and anywhere else, however, one may prefer the public transportation. The Roma Pass, which can be purchased at the train station is worth every penny. It's sold at kind of a news stand on the main floor on the east side.

Perfecto!

Room Tip: Room 404 did not have a view, but that did not bother me. It was a twin bedded room with private bat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JB1105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierangela, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Marghera Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
We appreciate that you dedicated your time sharing your experience in our hotel.
Thank you very much and we hope to have you back in our hotel again during your next visit in Rome.

Best regards,
Eduard G.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012 via mobile

We had a great stay was happy overall, however the owner manager was a grumpy old man who made us all uncomfortable and felt unwelcomed. Constant watching over us. We were visiting our other family members in other room and he got so angry demanding to know why we were there luckily the staff member with him cleared up the situation, but very rude man. The rest of the staff was great. Would stay there again but if under new ownership.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jendez78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Marghera Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
The position of the hotel, next to the Central Station is one of the best in Rome but, on the other hand, the neighborhood to the Station make us very vigilant. We proudly can say that this hotel is not only good but also a very safe family hotel and, in order to maintain it this way, we choose carefully our clients. We feel sorry if you felt followed and unwelcome, it was just a misunderstanding and we apologize. Thank you for appreciating our hotel and we guarantee that you will feel always welcome with us.
Best regards,
Eduard Ghergheluca.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
69 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012

The double/twin standard room we were allocated was Very small as was the bathroom. Air conditioning was NOT effective. Not all lights in bathroom were in working order and the net curtain on the window had a lot of mildew. Buffet breakfast was good. Reception staff (with one exception who was sullen) were welcoming and effective. Location is excellent

Room Tip: Do not book Double/twin standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maurice K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierangela, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Marghera Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2012
Dear Mr. & Mrs. K.,

Our hotel has different kind of rooms in order to offer a variety of options to our clients: Standard rooms, Superior rooms, Deluxe rooms and Budget rooms. In this case, initially you booked a Standard Room, after you canceled that reservation and booked a Budget room whit a lower price. The differences between the rooms are not only in the price but also in the size. The rooms with low prices are very convenient and often booked by the clients who want to stay one night only close to Termini Station because they have to take the train or the plane to go somewhere else.As we explained here, for additional 15.00 euro you can upgrade to a Superior Room but you chose not to.

We checked the air-conditioning and the lights and they were all working maybe the switches were not adjusted properly. The curtains are washed every week, they have a slightly gray color because they are fire proof. All our staff is doing everything possible to help you and we are always glad to do it .
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Termini Accommodation
Termini Accommodation
#838 of 1,290 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Tito
Hotel Tito
#601 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Corot
Hotel Corot
#581 of 1,290 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Bruna
Hotel Bruna
#677 of 1,290 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Monti
Tirreno Hotel
Tirreno Hotel
#360 of 1,290 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
Ostiense
Hotel Derby
Hotel Derby
#575 of 1,290 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marghera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marghera Hotel

Property: Marghera Hotel
Address: Via Marghera 35, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #808 of 1,290 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Marghera Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small, discreet hotel with multilingual staff offers modern facilities; set in the center of the city near Termini Rail Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld and Hotel.de so you can book your Marghera Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marghera Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing