We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Family Room”
Review of Marghera Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Marghera Hotel
Ranked #929 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed January 30, 2013

We stayed here for two nights with two teenage daughters in September 2012. We had the top floor which had two separate large rooms and a newly renovated bathroom which was fantastic but at the time of our stay had no blinds or curtains. The hotel is very close to the train station and an easy 3 minute walk even with bags. The breakfast was OK and pretty typical from what we found at other hotels of the same standard. We would stay there again particularly in that family room.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
Thank Craig H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (149)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 149 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2013

terrible, with a poor breakfast and expensive wifi. the owner is rude and impolite - I've moved to another hotel!! we were distreated in the reception many times and they tried to take more money from us.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BrunaChiappetta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Good Location NEAR Trainsportation QUALITY Rooms VERY GOOD STAFF DONT MIND THE OWNER HE IS GRUMPY BREAFEAST GOOD we had room 412 for 4 but where only two of us room has TWO BALCONies ON TOP FLOOR renovated rooms are very nice A lillte less money than other hotels wicth makes it A BARGAIN

Room Tip: Take the upgrade rooms its a better room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ICADDIMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

While not a 5 star hotel, Marghera Hotel was wonderfully sufficient for my needs! It served my purposes perfectly. The location, the accommodations, the breakfast, and mostly the staff and the owner made my 2 day visit wanting me to return to Rome, and when I do, I will book Marghera Hotel again.

Anything you might need, from a practical standpoint, is just down the block at the train station Termini. One can walk, as I did, to the Vatican, the Colosseum, the Forum, Pantheon, and anywhere else, however, one may prefer the public transportation. The Roma Pass, which can be purchased at the train station is worth every penny. It's sold at kind of a news stand on the main floor on the east side.

Perfecto!

Room Tip: Room 404 did not have a view, but that did not bother me. It was a twin bedded room with private bat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JB1105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierangela, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Marghera Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2012

We appreciate that you dedicated your time sharing your experience in our hotel.
Thank you very much and we hope to have you back in our hotel again during your next visit in Rome.

Best regards,
Eduard G.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012 via mobile

We had a great stay was happy overall, however the owner manager was a grumpy old man who made us all uncomfortable and felt unwelcomed. Constant watching over us. We were visiting our other family members in other room and he got so angry demanding to know why we were there luckily the staff member with him cleared up the situation, but very rude man. The rest of the staff was great. Would stay there again but if under new ownership.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jendez78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 16, 2012

The position of the hotel, next to the Central Station is one of the best in Rome but, on the other hand, the neighborhood to the Station make us very vigilant. We proudly can say that this hotel is not only good but also a very safe family hotel and, in order to maintain it this way, we choose carefully our clients. We feel sorry if you felt followed and unwelcome, it was just a misunderstanding and we apologize. Thank you for appreciating our hotel and we guarantee that you will feel always welcome with us.
Best regards,
Eduard Ghergheluca.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012

The double/twin standard room we were allocated was Very small as was the bathroom. Air conditioning was NOT effective. Not all lights in bathroom were in working order and the net curtain on the window had a lot of mildew. Buffet breakfast was good. Reception staff (with one exception who was sullen) were welcoming and effective. Location is excellent

Room Tip: Do not book Double/twin standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maurice K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierangela, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Marghera Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2012

Dear Mr. & Mrs. K.,

Our hotel has different kind of rooms in order to offer a variety of options to our clients: Standard rooms, Superior rooms, Deluxe rooms and Budget rooms. In this case, initially you booked a Standard Room, after you canceled that reservation and booked a Budget room whit a lower price. The differences between the rooms are not only in the price but also in the size. The rooms with low prices are very convenient and often booked by the clients who want to stay one night only close to Termini Station because they have to take the train or the plane to go somewhere else.As we explained here, for additional 15.00 euro you can upgrade to a Superior Room but you chose not to.

We checked the air-conditioning and the lights and they were all working maybe the switches were not adjusted properly. The curtains are washed every week, they have a slightly gray color because they are fire proof. All our staff is doing everything possible to help you and we are always glad to do it .
Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

This is a really quirky place that you want to like. They've spent considerable money remodeling. Unfortunately it has too many things going against it.  First the neighborhood. The hotel is just a tad too close to the railway station and on two fairly noisy streets. The room was small and dark. The breakfast room was a kick-it consisted of several rooms that had been hacked together to form one big room that looked like several rooms that were thrown together.  Breakfast was adequate but not great. The staff was not rude but not at all helpful. We've stayed in other places near the station that were far better (The Piemonte, for one). I'd pass on this one.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#453 of 1,271 in Rome
299 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#6 of 1,271 in Rome
6,963 reviews
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#112 of 1,271 in Rome
1,234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Domidea Hotel
#223 of 1,271 in Rome
665 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Esquilino
Hotel Continentale
Hotel Continentale
#337 of 1,271 in Rome
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marghera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marghera Hotel

Address: Via Marghera 35, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #929 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: $82 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Marghera Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small, discreet hotel with multilingual staff offers modern facilities; set in the center of the city near Termini Rail Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Marghera Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marghera Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing