We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Clean Hotel - Close to Amenities”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cristoforo Colombo Hotel
Ranked #491 of 1,270 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed November 30, 2012

We stayed here for a week and really enjoyed our time. The hotel was nice and very clean. The staff were great too...very friendly. The manager was a very sweet person. The breakfasts were good. This hotel is located right next to a large mall which was great for shopping and for a variety of food choices when we wanted to eat something right away. It was also located right near a bus stop (bus #070, 700, & 709) which took us right to the subway where we could connect to all the places we wanted to visit while we were there and dropped us off pretty much right in front of the hotel. We found getting around very easy and never had to take a cab anywhere because the transit system was so easy to navigate. We would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank designergirl0247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gruppoloan, Guest Relations Manager at Cristoforo Colombo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for spending your time to share your experience with us regarding your last stay at the Colombo Htl here in Roma.

We give great value to all our customers feedback as it allows us to do always better, in fact the great standard of service in which we believe and deliver is proven by the many positive reviews of our guests that have allowed us to achieve a high score on review sites online.

We hope to have the chance to accomodate you once again in the next future and please consider us at complete disposal for any further necessity you may have .

Best regards,
Stefania Catozzi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,642)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

184 - 190 of 1,642 reviews

Reviewed November 24, 2012

The cost of this hotel was similar to what we pay for a Travel Inn or similar in the UK but a fantastic breakfast was included, making it exceptionally good value for money. The bed in the room was king sized and the room was very clean, the staff do a brilliant job with the presentation and cleanliness of everything. The bathroom was of a good size with a positively huge shower in comparison with all other budget hotels we have used in Europe, the water pressure was also great when we are used to cheap hotel showers providing little more than a trickle. The staff were friendly and helpful. You can take a bus from the hotel to the metro, which allows you easy access around all of Rome, but we preferred to walk. The metro is only a mile away from the hotel sticking to the same road all the way, so you cant get lost and there are no hills mkaing it an easy walk for anyone. If walking, please be aware that once it gets dark hundreds of parakeets gather in a few of the trees on route (you will know where as you will hear them!), make sure you walk close to the road side of the pavement, so you are not under the tree branches as otherwise you will get poo'd on, a LOT, as we found out, lol. We loved our stay and would recommend this hotel, the only downside at all is that because the corridor floors are hard floors rather than carpets you might hear other guests coming back at a nighttime if you are a light sleeper. We saw this as a small inconvenience and for the price of the stay we didnt mind.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank loveholidays34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

Not far away from Rome....but still away :) Booked this hotel when me and my family decided to go there for Easter. Hotel is new (or it is completely renovated) with big, clean rooms featuring free Wi-Fi. There is one bar and restaurant available on site and food is excellent. Highlight of the restaurant is chief waiter Fernando, gentlemen in mid 60-s, who oversees all activities in restaurant and you can consider him as a friend (he can arrange whatever you want). Really great people and staff in this hotel.

Train station is 300 meters away from hotel and from there train takes you directly to Termini station where you can board on subway,underground and continue to historic centre of Rome.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stipe_Radosevic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

The challenge we faced was finding an affordable and somewhat classy place where we could park the car for free. Well, this hotel certainly meets these criteria.

It's located at the outskirts of Rome and very easy to reach by car.
The hotel still retains some of its former grandeur, despite is age. That is to say, from the outside it looks somewhat decayed though the lobby, restaurant and, to a lesser degree, the rooms are in better shape.

The rooms were good: clean with comfortable beds and good sound insulation.
Note that the TV still stems from the last century, which shouldn't be a problem if you only use it when brushing your teeth before going to bed.

Breakfast was a pleasant surprise since the buffet was more extensive - though befitting the 3-stars - than expected.
The English-speaking hotel reception is efficient and friendly, so service is OK.

There are two things that one needs to take into consideration.
Firstly, the hotel cannot be easily reached by public transport at night. The last bus back to the hotel leaves around 22:30, which means night owls need to walk back from the metro station - this will take an estimated half an hour - or grab a taxi (if there is one).
Secondly, wireless internet costs 6 euro for 24 hours.

Still, approximately 50 euro per room per night (for a single room including taxes) with free parking makes this hotel the best option when visiting Rome by car on a budget.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AtiBo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

My friend and I have just returned from a fabulous 3 night trip to Rome, staying at the cristoforo Colombo hotel
It's set a little outside the city centre, reached by metro and bus.we bought our 3 day ticket at termini station....but beware of very ' helpful' ladies who show you how to use the ticket machine, retrieve the ticket &-reach to get you the change.....keeping a couple of euros for themselves...tired after an early morning flight,, we were conned! However the 3 day metro/ bus ticket was invaluable....and also note you can't buy the tickets on the bus..the hotel is signed 'Colombo hotel' ( not cristoforo Colombo) so could easily be missed. It backs on to a shopping mall, which is really handy to buy fresh fruit, water , etc...but wouldn't advise eating at the mall
The hotel is clean , our room was small but adequate for our needs, but I would consider it a 3 star, rather than 4 star..the breakfast was lovely, choice of cereals, yogurt, cheese, ham, scrambled eggs, and the loveliest pastries and cakes.the staff were lovely , and very friendly.i note from an earlier review, someone asking for a taxi to take them to the airport, and were offered a fixed rate( 50 euros) for a limousine.,.we did enquire about a taxi......apparently from this hotel the taxis charge depending on the traffic, not offering a fixed rate, which could be anything from 40-55 euros,.it was actually easy to just do our usual bus/ metro journey to termini, then get the shuttle bus to the air port( but as we were travelling home on a Saturday, the buses run a little less frequently
We had a wonderful time in Rome , and were very happy with our choice of hotel

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deedee58_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We stayed for 4 nights from 21st oct 2012, upon arrival, the hotel doesn't seem much from the outside but it's lovely inside. Very clean and welcoming and staff were very friendly. HOWEVER, the rooms were paper thin so if someone was up at night you could definitely hear them, which meant you could hear the cleaner every morning at like 7am- now being on holiday we do like a little lay in so being up at 7am every morning with no choice was a slight inconvenience! Breakfast states continental so bare that in mind as there is not a huge choice. Overall our stay in Rome was amazing- there is a bus right outside hotel that takes you to the tubes where you can get to the city centre within 15-20mins!! Like all the other reviews there is a massive shopping centre next door to hotel which was good if you like shopping and want something to eat without travelling too. So if you can sleep through noise this is definitely the place for you but to be fair the hotel itself was lovely. Location wise is good if you don't mind travelling in 20mins away. :-)

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Shab123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

This hotel is quite a little gem! The hotel is located outside of the city centre and requires a 20min walk (or 5min bus ride) to the EUR Fermi station, which takes you into Termini station (mail station) in Rome.
The hotel is clean and comfortable. The staff are friendly and attentive, always ready to offer assistance or advice. Breakfast was a continental buffet. They did serve great coffee! (but order it from room service!).

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CPenhaligon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
0.3 mi away
Novotel Roma Eur
Novotel Roma Eur
#245 of 1,270 in Rome
890 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel American Palace EUR
Hotel American Palace EUR
#1,050 of 1,270 in Rome
1,388 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Eur Parco dei Pini
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Warmthotel
Warmthotel
#205 of 1,270 in Rome
275 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ibis Styles Roma Eur
Ibis Styles Roma Eur
#282 of 1,270 in Rome
845 reviews
3 mi away
All Ways Garden Hotel & Leisure
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cristoforo Colombo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cristoforo Colombo Hotel

Address: Via Cristoforo Colombo 710, 00144 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#257 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $60 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cristoforo Colombo Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 205
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cristoforo Colombo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cristoforo Colombo
Colombo Hotel Rome
Cristoforo Colombo Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing