We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not that bad for this budget” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Athena Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Athena Hotel
Ranked #975 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Milano
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not that bad for this budget”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2012

I will join most of the reviewer here: it is minimum comfort, certainly not a 3 stars for my standards, too noisy when you need to get up quickly... Oki... but it is cheap and you are in Rome, with a connection through the Metro to the center (Colosseum, ect), so it depends what you are looking for!

I rate it under average due to the fact it is clearly not a business friendly hotel (you need to park randomly in the street, not the best location from hotel and for highways, ect) but clearly you won't die.

If now you are only looking for a kind of upgrade of a youth hotel, well this is a good place to stay!

Room Tip: If you travel by car, there is no parking... you will have to park in the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AEnzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    87
    85
    45
    55
See reviews for
55
106
34
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2012

As motorbike travellers who had not pre booked accomodation prior to arrival to this famous city we were more than happy to stay at this Hotel which is only 5 stops on the Metro from the famous land marks. The staff were friendly and approachable, the rooms clean and the breakfast was nice. Best to ask for a room that is not located near the Reception as they prepare breakfast from this area. Good for a stop over but may be not long stay. The rate was affordable.

Room Tip: Do not get a room near the reception area
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sequinn1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowthorne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2012

On arrival at the hotel we were unsure where the hotel was as it was on the 2nd floor of a block of flats and no signs to go upstairs.
When we went up to the hotel, we had a cold welcome. We weren't shown to our room or any information about staying in the room other than the time of breakfast.

Every night was noisy, partly from traffic which couldn't be helped, but also alot of noise from the neighbours and hotel staff and their friends, who appear to be on the premise regulary.
The TV in the room had no other channels for foreign users and the air conditioning was only request. The toilet had a "hygenically cleaned" band on it, but on lifting the lid, there was some faeces in the bowl. The toilet broke on the 3rd day, which after being reported to the reception was repaired during the day, but thereafter leaked onto the floor leaving a sticky residue. There is mold around the shower fan (covered), in the shower door cracks and on the bathroom ceiling.

During our first day out, we came back to our room's balcony wide open. We requested coffee at 7.30pm but was told we had to wait til breakfast even though we had heard it 30 minutes earlier. As there is no actual bar, we were left with luke warm water from the machine.

On a positive note, the breakfast had a good selection and was an acceptable quality, although the plates were lightweight plastic. Some staff members on reception spoke good english and were helpful with our requests.

Overall we would not stay in the "hotel" again even if offered free, and disagree with their displayed 3 star rating.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rome hotels

Frankfort, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

Service was great, very friendly staff - understood English quite well. Nice breakfast. Clean rooms. Nice and convenient location.

Room Tip: About 8 blocks from the Termini Train Staion - not a bad walk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bridget a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2012

Hotel better than we thought judging by the very negative reviews on here. Dont expect too much but the bed, toilet and towels were clean. Is a comfortable room as a base. Initially had a room around the corner from the 24 hour reception. Do not accept a room here, really noisy and breakfast prepared from 6am outside the room. Moved next morning to room 303 which was much bigger and nicer and extremely quiet. Breakfast simple but very nice and plentiful. Staff were helpful, nice and could understand enough English. Bologna Station, literally 5 minutes walk away and you need to use the Via Di Provincie exit. Tickets only 1 euro each to be used in 75 minutes but this is enough time to get anywhere as all the sights were only about 3 stops away from Termini, the change for the tourist areas.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room on a higher floor from reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank girlswerealoud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gloucester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2012

Rooms-no sound proof,very noisy. I can even hear the sound of the bed and the lady having sex on the next room.VERY DUSTY underneath the table.Worst of all they gave two single beds put together for me and for my husband. How can we sleep together?
Toilets-TERRIBLE SMELL.UNBEARABLE.
Staff-can't understand/speak English.
Breakfast-all the same everyday, no choices.
Internet access-VERY POOR

Room Tip: Rooms on the first level very noisy. Toilets unbearable smell. Rooms on the higher level creepy. NO...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jay jay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2012

Nice staff, lovely breakfast ,uncomfortable bed .The nearest underground is Bologna but watch your belongings on the metro somebody cut right through my handbag and stole my ipod.It is only 4 euros for a day pass on the metro you can get off and on as many times as you want no good if you have walking difficulties though.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shedevil49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Hotel Jonico
#612 of 1,291 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
Hotel Giotto
#1,091 of 1,291 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
Hotel Laura
#619 of 1,291 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Scheppers Hotel
#1,022 of 1,291 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
Monteverde
Ponte Bianco
Ponte Bianco
#1,083 of 1,291 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Alba Hotel Torre Maura
#1,072 of 1,291 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Athena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athena Hotel

Property: Athena Hotel
Address: Via Ercole Pasquali n. 3, 00161 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #975 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Athena Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Athena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athena Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing