We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very reasonable 3 star hotel”
Review of Athena Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Athena Hotel
Ranked #1,001 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Ra'anana, Israel
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very reasonable 3 star hotel”
Reviewed May 9, 2011

Prior to booking this hotel i took a quick llok at the review, and, to be frank, got a little scared, but the price was so much better then all the other options i decided to take my chances-and was not sorry!
Folks, this isnot the ritz or george V, and you must not excpect it tt be! This is a 3 star hotel in a major westren european city. I have been to many such hotels and this one is certainly up to par.
The bedroom (single) was more then reasonable in size (there was even a small balcony), clean, the towell wwere chaned daily (even when i did not ask for it), and the room was also cleaned daily. true, the bath room was small (the only place to put the soap bar or the toilet paper was on top of the toilet;s water rservoir), and the sink was not in the bathroom but in the bedroom. Breakfast was very reasonable.
Given the price I would certainly recommend it to my friends

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rzg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    89
    89
    47
    57
See reviews for
56
111
35
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2011

I've been there for five days, the place is simply unacceptable, I've paid more than 100 Euros per night. I've found ants walking in the toillet, walls so thin that you can hear the whole building talking, it's a kind of splitted apartment where you'll find private apartments and offices(into the hotel...)
I'm not against cheap hotels if you want to save some money, but more than 100 Euros per night is far from being cheap...

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SergioPo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rome hotels

Urbana, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2011

My brother and I stayed in this hotel while I attended an academic meetings at the nearby University of Rome and stayed afterwards for a couple of days of sightseeing. The hotel is in the university district and some of the life on the adjoining streets reflects a vibrant university atmosphere: it is only about 15-20 minutes walk from the central district from Termini and also has convenient metro stops only a few blocks away for those who want to go further afield.

The hotel's furnishings are not fancy: however, the staff was unfailingly courteous and helpful; the breakfasts were plain, but filling; and the price for 8 days' accommodations were more than reasonable.

I enjoyed my time at Hotel Athena and will gladly stay there again, if I ever have the opportunita to return to Rome.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PapaTommaso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longford, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2010

Ok so I picked this hotel after about 2 hours of looking online for something not to cheap and dingy, close to the city centre in Rome and not too expensive. On arrival to termini station we got a cab to the hotel, €8 so not too bad, however the hotel is only 6/7 minutes walk from the bologna blue line metro stop (handy to get downtown/Vatican/coliseum) The taxi driver stopped as he turned around the corner of this one way street, got out of the cab and pointed at the building in front of us,'athena' he says, no more looking like a hotel than a cat looks like a dog! Anyway up we go to the door and it turns out the hotel doubles as an apartment block, we got in up to reception which is on the first floor and got a big hello from the guy behind the desk. He gave us all the info regarding breakfast times, our keys and directions to where we would get a late night feed(it was 10.30 at this stage) The room was big, a double and a single bed, perfectly made, towels and ac, TV and fridge and a decent en suite, spotlessly clean also.

I cannot fault this place, if you are heading to Rome for a 3 day action packed tourist weekend to see all the sights, this place is perfect, I mean it! If you are going for a romantic 2 day getaway you may want to pick somewhere else, it's no 4/5 star in that market.

The staff are friendly and very knowledgeable, they will give all the usual stuff, but then spend a few minutes explaining where and how to get to where you want to go, very helpful indeed

Overall - 3 day tourist break *****
Location - ****
Staff - *****

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BostonBarney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2010

This Was The Worst Hotel I Have Ever stayed in ( Our travel agent booked by ( House of Trave NZ) will never again use Them Either !
It was small, dirty and just plain horrible
However the staff wern't too bad . If I Was Forced to say something positive !
The shower sprayed water all over the roof , then dropped off The entire shower head
It Was and Filthy
The TV did not work , and the Bed was awfull
Outside of building resembled a ghetto and WAS absolutly frightening .
Never Ever Would recommend this to anyone not even my dogs!
Not a 3 star by a long shot a try

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kwasie0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2009

Dirty rooms. Lights that would not turn off. Trapped in malfunctioning elevator for 30min. Broken shower stall that was dangerous getting in & out. Breakfast was day old bread & salami slices. Sheets & towels were just put back wet & dirty day after day. I felt like I was being punished by the meeting organizers who put us there. We kept having to ask that the wireless internet be turned back on all the time--Sure it was free (when it was on that is).

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PTerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
España
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2008

Last minute shows it's a 3 stars hotel,
and the banners inside the hotel shows 2 stars category.
But I would hardly give it ONE star,
Consider this crappy accomodation as a Hostal, not a Hotel.

The people there are nice, but It's a bit ruined.

  • Liked — There was one bed to sleep in
  • Disliked — They charged us twice through lastminute.com and at the hotel. The bathroom horrible
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank benson400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
5.1 mi away
Hotel Jonico
Hotel Jonico
#668 of 1,257 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hotel Giotto
Hotel Giotto
#1,085 of 1,257 in Rome
2.5 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
3.7 mi away
Aurora Garden Hotel
Aurora Garden Hotel
#934 of 1,257 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Scheppers Hotel
Scheppers Hotel
#1,021 of 1,257 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Laura
Hotel Laura
#619 of 1,257 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
4.7 mi away
Alba Hotel Torre Maura
Alba Hotel Torre Maura
#1,048 of 1,257 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Athena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athena Hotel

Property: Athena Hotel
Address: Via Ercole Pasquali n. 3, 00161 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,001 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Athena Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Athena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athena Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing