We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not as bad as people say it is” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Giotto

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Giotto
Ranked #1,093 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not as bad as people say it is”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

Me and my 2 sisters stayed here because of the price... We didn't care much for what kind of room it was because we planned on doing a lot of touring, as long as it was clean we were happy and it was... Yes the breakfast was simple but you got it for free so why complain... Rome is a city to explore the hotel was just somewhere to sleep and we were happy enough with it... The restaurant across the road was AMAZING anything that came from the kitchen was delicious :) loved it.... And as for transportation the bus is a short walk from the hotel and was very easy to use.... I have a great trip :)))

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Michelle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    105
    207
    95
    109
See reviews for
97
189
36
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

all necessity that require tourist needs is restful, noiseless, quiet and safe when returned late by night.Clean hotel. Thanks to the staff they bring that family atmosphere.i spend 8 days of my winter vacation in Rome, with my 16 y son for first time,but not last i hope.I had medical problem with stuff help i went to the hospital in 3 min time with taxi.Emergency check up was free.Night taxi tax is so expensive.I noticed that tourists were so polite so humble ,you cant see drunk people noisy kids running around or crowded company's.

Room Tip: winter only
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank selma a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

A clean and pleasant stay here, good for a long day looking around the city. Downsides were the location, with a 20/25 min walk to the nearest metro stop, which could be a bit daunting at night time in a poorly lit area.
Overall though, good service, room and breakfast at a modest price!

Room Tip: Higher floors (and rooms towards the front of the hotel) have better views, and less traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank KateJG_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

This hotel is excellent value especially compared to hotels in the central tourist area. It is15 minute walk to the Metro which is quick and regular, 5-10 mins Vatican,15 mins everywhere else. The walk would be a problem for anyone with mobility issues as the pavements can be uneven or blocked by cars, but if you are reasonably fit you will be fine. Cab to and from central Rome is 15-20 euros so a reasonable alternative to the Metro if there are 4 of you.
For UK readers I would equate this hotel to a UK Travelodge but with small rooms; very clean, plenty of towels, comfortable beds, adequate breakfast and efficient staff with fluent English. Student groups can make it a bit noisy but I always travel with earplugs as even in a top class hotel you can still get a room next to the boiler or facing a busy street!
We were in Rome for the sights not for the hotel - we left by 10 every morning and stayed out until 10 every evening - we had a wonderful time and the amazing price we paid for the hotel enabled us to spend more on tours, meals etc.

Room Tip: Take earplugs if you are a light sleeper & ask for a room that does not front onto the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SueKitson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

A decent priced hotel, good for crashing after a long day's walk.
2 min to bus or 15 min walkning to Cornelia metro; never used car/taxi as metro/bus takes you anywhere around the touristic area in a nick of time.
The breakfast could use some diversity, same food for 5 days.
Our room was on the ground floor, small and somehow noisy because of the poor phonic isolation of walls. Clean hotel and room; staff was friendly, with fluent english, unlike many restaurants around.
Overall, considering the price we payed, a good hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Vlad_002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cochin
Level Contributor
44 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

I stayed here with a group. I was scared because of the review, but instead this hotel is very decent, nice people and not far from the centre. It's only 5 minutes by taxi to Vatican (someone wrote 30 minutes...a bit exaggerate). Breakfast is good. Bus & Metro are close by.

Room Tip: Better stay on 3rd of 4th Floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank biju_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012 via mobile

The smallest single room i ever seen in my life... like a doll room. For 4 nights was not so bad and a good price. Quite far from metro and center, i had to take a bus till the metro. Vatican is the closest touristic place. Breakfast good not so rich but ok. Believe me i met more horrible conditions with a higher price in paris. Although the quarter was quite ok, with specific simple italian people, talkative and funny, it is reccomended to not come too late at the hotel.. i reccomend this hotel more for young tourists not for family with children or business people.

Helpful?
3 Thank ann1777
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Scheppers Hotel
#1,022 of 1,292 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
San Lorenzo
Athena Hotel
Athena Hotel
#971 of 1,292 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Hotel Pineta Palace
#439 of 1,292 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Alba Hotel Torre Maura
#1,072 of 1,292 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
Hotel Jonico
#609 of 1,292 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
Smooth Hotel Rome West
#835 of 1,292 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Giotto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Giotto

Property: Hotel Giotto
Address: Via Cardinal Passionei 35, 00167 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,093 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Giotto 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel offers modern comforts; situated in a very quiet residential area near a park; convenient to public transportation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Giotto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing